We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waterhead Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fisherbeck(Ambleside)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Samling Hotel(Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Hotel(Ambleside)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,791)
Filter reviews
1,791 results
Traveler rating
1,417
300
57
6
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,417
300
57
6
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake view roomgrasmere gingerbreadlocal gingerbreadjelly beansdog bedlow woodlovely hotelice bucketturn down servicegin and tonicluxury roomsister hotelunderfloor heatingdvd playerlake districtbreakfast and dinnerwould highly recommend this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
891 - 896 of 1,791 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We got married at the Waterhead on December 23rd and friends and family stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights. The days were the best ever made so perfect by everyone associated with the hotel, the staff couldn't have been more helpful and not one of our guests came away with anything other than praise for their personal experience as well as the experience of our wedding day, every detail was carefully considered by the hotel staff and the day went by without a glitch. We couldn't have asked for a more wonderful day. Any budding bride and groom would be foolish to overlook the hotel as a wedding venue, the team will really look after you and make you feel special. A great example of this was staff taking time out from a busy breakfast service to entertain 2 young nieces (including remembering their names) bringing some enjoyment to an otherwise stressful morning for the bride! Another example is the staff moved all the luggage and belongings of the bride and her family and friends, which were left in a chaotic mess prior to the ceremony and neatly unpacked everything into its correct place in everyone's individual rooms. We couldn't have asked for more. This was truly the greatest time of our lives and it was made extra special by the Waterhead Hotel and specifically Lindsay Price who we reserve a special thank you to for all her efforts - Lindsay, you took the time to get to know both the bride and groom on an individual level and really did make all of our wishes come true. Thanks for the memories. Sorry for the tears. We will be back. Ben and Jo

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanned1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Joanned1984

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your big day! It really was a pleasure to get to know you both and then to host your lovely wedding, and I am so pleased that you and your guests had a great day. We all wish you best for the future and hope that you will come and see us regularly.

Kind regards

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My wife and I spent two wonderful days at the Waterhead in Ambleside in January 2014 to celebrate our "significant" birthdays. The room, the staff and the food were all excellent and helped make our celebration perfect. We were totally surprised to receive our desserts on the first night on plates with happy birthday written in chocolate, candles and the staff singing "Happy Birthday" to us!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Christopher D

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay with us to celebrate your birthdays. We always do what we can to recognise occasions, and I'm so pleased to read that you enjoyed these small touches, especially the singing! We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Returning home from the south, we booked a mid-week package of dinner bed and breakfast in the normal (no lake view) room. Arrived early and were checked in and upgraded to a lake view room as they were quiet.

Room was small but very comfortable, large bed, plenty of tea, coffee etc, fruit, nice bathroom.

The dinner didn't disappoint - Nouvelle cuisine - my husband's dish of three types of pork was especially good. Despite having a deal you could pick most things on the menu which was very straight forward - service excellent as it was again at breakfast.

Can recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freddielola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear freddielola,

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay with us. It was rewarding to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, hopefully we can tempt you back for a longer stay in the near future.

Kind regards

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed 3/01/14 for only the one night but did have the evening meal and breakfast, both of excellent and plentiful quantity. A very nice hotel in a perfect setting with exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Neil S

Many thanks for your great review of your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read you found our staff exceptionally friendly, we are very proud of our staff and I will ensure your comments are passed on.

Kind regards

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

First time staying here as we usually stay elsewhere in Lakes but we will definitely be returning !
Perfect location overlooking the lake and only a ten minute walk into Ambleside town centre. Excellent courteous service from the moment we arrived, from all members of staff throughout the hotel. Room was spacious and immaculately clean, with a very comfortable bed. The food was excellent, good quality and plenty of choice.
We will be returning again soon for another perfect break at Waterhead !

Room Tip: lake view was worth the upgrade !
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penjayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterheadmanager, Deputy General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear penjayd,

Many thanks for your fantastic review of your recent stay with us. It is always great to read when a first time guest enjoys all aspects of the hotel, location, food, service, and bedroom standards. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Lindsay Price
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews