We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We decided to have a leisure break, just the two of us and we made a great choice at the waterhead. Recommended by a friend we weren't disappointed. We had a lake view room and although it also overlooked the main road we were not disturbed by noise. The beds are amazing, huge and extremely comfortable. The bedroom furniture was tasteful and of good quality. There was a fruit bowl and ice in the room, filter coffee and a great selection of tea and hot chocolate. The bathroom was modern and had an array of quality toiletries. Above all the room was very very clean. The linen crisp and fresh, changed daily. I couldn't find a speck of dirt or dust and I'm very fussy in this area! Breakfast was delicious with a wide choice to suit every taste and dietary requirement. Dinner was lovely too and of a very high standard. I asked for options to be replaced such as no cream, sauce on the side, a different choice of potato and again nothing was too much trouble. Fabulous. My only gripe and its not much if one was the bar prices. One large white wine and a pint of perroni came to £11.00, ouch. However, perfectly chilled and tasting great in very retro comfortable surroundings and an amazing view, I shouldn't complain! We're on holiday after all! Don't be out off when you enter via the rear car park (which can be a bit tricky to negotiate), we felt the decor in the corridors seemed a bit dated, don't be out off, it's not representative if the overall hotel. Nice stay and family friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mon1ca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,262
    271
    52
    4
    9
See reviews for
218
1,059
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed one night at the Waterhead , we stayed in a classic room which was of a really good standard. We loved the contemporary feel of the hotel. Its stylish and modern in a great location across the road from the lake.
Its about a ten minute walk into central Ambleside if you want to visit there.
We are fairly local and our nearest English lakes hotel is the Midland in Morecambe which is also a great hotel but a different style.
We ate in the Waterhead restaurant and the food was excellent as was the service.
It is good value for money with a very reasonable wine list.
We cannot fault the Waterhead and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: If you want a lake view it will cost you an extra £25
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deadstocksports D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
346 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Good location at the top of the lake with lovely views over the water. The staff were fine and the food reasonably good. We were fortunate enough to have a couple of really hot days. Unfortunately, this meant our room was stiflingly hot and there was too much traffic noise to be able to sleep very well. Apart from that, the room was OK though.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulofPleshey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a stay here with my husband. We were spoilt with fabulous views from our suite and food and staff were absolutely amazing. This was our fourth visit to the hotel and I can safely say each time its been better and better. The staff are super friendly especially Jose on the bar who is so jolly and willing to go the extra mile. Its well worth spending the extra on a suite to make for an even more magical stay. Well done Waterhead

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaffronSefton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night with our dog, were given a fantastic ground floor room with lake view and even a complimentary bonio for the dog! Evening meal and breakfast exceptional, friendly staff, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ohharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife and I have just spent 4 nights in this excellent hotel, returning after an equally pleasant short stay in April. We had dinner in the restaurant on the first evening and we also had lunch in the bar on two days. The food was good in both. The breakfast menu offers a wide choice and is also ample enough for those with large appetites. The staff are universally helpful and courteous. Our room was large, well appointed and offered a good view of the lake. Although the hotel is situated on a fork in the main road from Windermere to Ambleside were never bothered by traffic noise and enjoyed 4 nights excellent sleep in a lovely big bed. We will be returning here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickhorseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here again and had a more modest room as we were on a special price but even so the room was excellent with a beautiful view of the lake. The things which make this hotel special are the courteous staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. Cannot see how the negative reviewers find them rude. The breakfast is extensive and the bar food excellent. We liked the special cocktails too. One of the best things is the relaxed atmosphere despite its boutique status. We feel very comfortable coming and going in our walking gear and when we returned the other night drenched we were greeted warmly and there are no requests to remove footwear. Please do not hesitate to book. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
21.2 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing