We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lakeside Luxury”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Our lake view room was on the ground floor (No 5.). It was of a good size with windows to front and side, which made it light and airy. It had ample modern facilities with a reasonable-sized bathroom, down to a teapot and cafetiere. The cleaning staff were unobtrusive but kept the room spotlessly clean and well-replenished with fruit, tea and coffee and ice - and a chocolate on the pillow following the turn-down service. The bathroom toiletries were rather special as they were not the miniature size provided in many hotels, but were full-size pump dispensers of harir and body wash, hand wash and moisturiser. We are continuing to enjoy them at home!
Our meals in the restaurant were outstandingly delicious and served by attentive, friendly and courteous waiting staff. Indeed, all the hotel staff were quick to help and offered a high level of service. The breakfast menu was varied and plentiful and special requests appeared to be no problem.
We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at this hotel and would not hesitate to stay again when we are in the Lake District and would thoroughly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Room five is light and airy because of its two windows. Also, it has neighbours only on one side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ireneark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,737)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

979 - 985 of 1,737 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

I took my dad to The Waterhead Hotel for a light lunch and glass of bubbly in the sunshine, loved it! Pleasantly surprised by the menu, reasonably priced for the Lake District and in such a beautiful location. Nice to see some local produce on the menu, lovely artisan bread served with the meat platter (highly recommend!) and the burger was fantastic. Staff were all really attentive and friendly and my little sister loved the Beatrix Potter stories in the toilets, however dad wasn't sure if the Tale of Miss Tiggy Winkle was appropriate when using the men's facilities!

Looking forward to visiting again to sample the dinner menu!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foodie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Overall this is a good hotel and should be considering the room price. This is the second time I have stayed here and found the room sizes to be small by modern hotel standards - although they are very well appointed. The restaurant food is good but could be a wee bit better - wines very reasonably priced. There are some good tables with lake views and it appears to be your luck where you are seated as some table locations are a bit dismal
Location of hotel excellent although the main road is between the hotel and the lake
Overall they need to "dot the eyes and cross the t`s"

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GordonYates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have stayed here before three years ago, it was great then, but even better now.
The last time was our first wedding anniversary, and this time was my 60th birthday.
Lovely staff upgraded our room and left me a "happy birthday" card which was really sweet.
We had the best table with a view for dinner, and moments away from lovely boat trips on the lake.
The food is first class, the rooms very well appointed and clean.
Will stay again very soon.

Room Tip: In the summer a lake room is wonderful room 34 had lake views and woodland too. Bed was the most com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisonmaynard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Superb for a bar lunch; made even better by efficient, friendly and competent staff. I was very impressed. Although they were busy, they allowed us to stay four hours, drinking pot after pot of coffee, before lunch while we waited for everyone to gather for a small family reunion, and again afterwards. Full marks to the Waterhead Hotel for making an informal special occasion memorable by their thoughtfulness and attention to detail. We shall definitely be back in the future!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank janieGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here because some friends booked us a weekend as a wedding gift. Our room had a lake view and a king sized bed with all the facilities you would expect and modern, high spec decor- the grassmere ginger bread bread was delicious! The hotel is ideally located for walking into Ambleside or the bus stops just outside for Windermere etc if you didn't want to drive. We were exceptionally lucky with the weather and got to enjoy the sunshine sitting outside in the beer garden over looking the lake. The staff were friendly and the food was lovely. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FeebieCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Lovely setting, with fantastic views over Lake Windermere. Within easy walking of the pier where you can catch a boat to various destinations on Lake Windermere.
Rooms are full of character and comfortable, no complaints. I would offer a word of warning though that because it is such an old building if you have a room in the main building there may be a few stairs and corridors to negotiate along with low beams, perhaps if necessary request one of the newer rooms in the extension.
Food is excellent cannot fault it, however if you stay there for a few nights you may struggle with choice.
Staff all very friendly and helpful.
The only thing it misses is a residents lounge area, but despite that we would recommend it and definitely use it again if in the area.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a lake view, and for those who find stairs difficult request a new room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PippaJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,249 reviews
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
628 reviews
0.9 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: $179 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing