We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just superb and in a stunning position for maximum relaxation.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Just superb and in a stunning position for maximum relaxation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have stayed here before three years ago, it was great then, but even better now.
The last time was our first wedding anniversary, and this time was my 60th birthday.
Lovely staff upgraded our room and left me a "happy birthday" card which was really sweet.
We had the best table with a view for dinner, and moments away from lovely boat trips on the lake.
The food is first class, the rooms very well appointed and clean.
Will stay again very soon.

Room Tip: In the summer a lake room is wonderful room 34 had lake views and woodland too. Bed was the most com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alisonmaynard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,264
    271
    52
    4
    9
See reviews for
218
1,061
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Superb for a bar lunch; made even better by efficient, friendly and competent staff. I was very impressed. Although they were busy, they allowed us to stay four hours, drinking pot after pot of coffee, before lunch while we waited for everyone to gather for a small family reunion, and again afterwards. Full marks to the Waterhead Hotel for making an informal special occasion memorable by their thoughtfulness and attention to detail. We shall definitely be back in the future!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank janieGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here because some friends booked us a weekend as a wedding gift. Our room had a lake view and a king sized bed with all the facilities you would expect and modern, high spec decor- the grassmere ginger bread bread was delicious! The hotel is ideally located for walking into Ambleside or the bus stops just outside for Windermere etc if you didn't want to drive. We were exceptionally lucky with the weather and got to enjoy the sunshine sitting outside in the beer garden over looking the lake. The staff were friendly and the food was lovely. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FeebieCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Lovely setting, with fantastic views over Lake Windermere. Within easy walking of the pier where you can catch a boat to various destinations on Lake Windermere.
Rooms are full of character and comfortable, no complaints. I would offer a word of warning though that because it is such an old building if you have a room in the main building there may be a few stairs and corridors to negotiate along with low beams, perhaps if necessary request one of the newer rooms in the extension.
Food is excellent cannot fault it, however if you stay there for a few nights you may struggle with choice.
Staff all very friendly and helpful.
The only thing it misses is a residents lounge area, but despite that we would recommend it and definitely use it again if in the area.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a lake view, and for those who find stairs difficult request a new room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PippaJPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed on a Sunday Night Saver Deal and we were more than impressed with what we found. The hotel is in a perfect location, overlooking Windermere. The staff were all really friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. The locally-sourced food was very tasty, at both dinner and breakfast. Drinks were reasonably priced, too, which was a pleasant surprise. The hotel itself was immaculately maintained and we were really pleased with our room. The cafetiere and filter coffee (including decaf!) were lovely touches, as was the fact that house-keeping came in while were were at dinner and washed our cups, replenished our coffee, left chocolates on our bed, closed the curtains and switched on the lamps. It was very cosy when we returned. Little touches like this are what make this hotel a cut above the rest. The management team really do consider the comfort of their guests.We will definitely return to this gem of a hotel. First-class service all round!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnthered54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just returned from our second stay and were not disappointed. The hotel is in an ideal location, the staff go that extra mile including the manager and all are all very friendly and very accommodating to all your needs. Rooms lovely everything you need even binoculars for that extra view of the lake are provided. Restaurant very nice, food and service excellent. Could not fault the hotel will definitely return.

Room Tip: Lake views are extra but are worth it if can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were given a warm welcome by a very friendly staff who attended to our every need in a most pleasant and efficient manner. We were very pleased to have so much consideration shown to my wife who has limited mobility. The view of the lake from the hotel is very pleasant, the food and restaurant service were first class, our room was very comfortable . We enjoyed our stay and hope to return.

Room Tip: Travellers with limited mobility should request a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
21.2 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing