We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here because some friends booked us a weekend as a wedding gift. Our room had a lake view and a king sized bed with all the facilities you would expect and modern, high spec decor- the grassmere ginger bread bread was delicious! The hotel is ideally located for walking into Ambleside or the bus stops just outside for Windermere etc if you didn't want to drive. We were exceptionally lucky with the weather and got to enjoy the sunshine sitting outside in the beer garden over looking the lake. The staff were friendly and the food was lovely. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FeebieCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,708)
There are newer reviews for Waterhead Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

955 - 961 of 1,708 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

Lovely setting, with fantastic views over Lake Windermere. Within easy walking of the pier where you can catch a boat to various destinations on Lake Windermere.
Rooms are full of character and comfortable, no complaints. I would offer a word of warning though that because it is such an old building if you have a room in the main building there may be a few stairs and corridors to negotiate along with low beams, perhaps if necessary request one of the newer rooms in the extension.
Food is excellent cannot fault it, however if you stay there for a few nights you may struggle with choice.
Staff all very friendly and helpful.
The only thing it misses is a residents lounge area, but despite that we would recommend it and definitely use it again if in the area.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a lake view, and for those who find stairs difficult request a new room
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PippaJPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed on a Sunday Night Saver Deal and we were more than impressed with what we found. The hotel is in a perfect location, overlooking Windermere. The staff were all really friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. The locally-sourced food was very tasty, at both dinner and breakfast. Drinks were reasonably priced, too, which was a pleasant surprise. The hotel itself was immaculately maintained and we were really pleased with our room. The cafetiere and filter coffee (including decaf!) were lovely touches, as was the fact that house-keeping came in while were were at dinner and washed our cups, replenished our coffee, left chocolates on our bed, closed the curtains and switched on the lamps. It was very cosy when we returned. Little touches like this are what make this hotel a cut above the rest. The management team really do consider the comfort of their guests.We will definitely return to this gem of a hotel. First-class service all round!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnthered54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just returned from our second stay and were not disappointed. The hotel is in an ideal location, the staff go that extra mile including the manager and all are all very friendly and very accommodating to all your needs. Rooms lovely everything you need even binoculars for that extra view of the lake are provided. Restaurant very nice, food and service excellent. Could not fault the hotel will definitely return.

Room Tip: Lake views are extra but are worth it if can afford.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were given a warm welcome by a very friendly staff who attended to our every need in a most pleasant and efficient manner. We were very pleased to have so much consideration shown to my wife who has limited mobility. The view of the lake from the hotel is very pleasant, the food and restaurant service were first class, our room was very comfortable . We enjoyed our stay and hope to return.

Room Tip: Travellers with limited mobility should request a ground floor room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We came to the Waterhead as a mini-moon and absolutely loved it. We were greeted by balloons and a lovely card in our room. We had a balcony over looking the lake which was beautiful. The food in the restaurant was amazing and we treated ourselves to the fillet steak. YUM. The food was expensive, but was also delicious and the service was great. The staff were all really friendly. I would definitely recommend staying here, the only downside was having to come home and go back to work. Having said that we were really lucky and booked well in advance and managed to get a good discount or it would have been rather pricey.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bioelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Didn't stay at hotel, but enjoyed afternoon tea for 6 outside on the grass. Lovely tea, great quality sandwiches, scones and pastries. Would highly recommend. Very friendly and attentive staff. Full up afterwards...would definitely go back. Can't comment on rest of hotel though.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmaglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,219 reviews
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,402 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
5.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: $182 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing