We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent stay”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Another excellent stay”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just returned from our second stay and were not disappointed. The hotel is in an ideal location, the staff go that extra mile including the manager and all are all very friendly and very accommodating to all your needs. Rooms lovely everything you need even binoculars for that extra view of the lake are provided. Restaurant very nice, food and service excellent. Could not fault the hotel will definitely return.

Room Tip: Lake views are extra but are worth it if can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,302
    276
    52
    4
    10
See reviews for
224
1,094
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dewsbury
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were given a warm welcome by a very friendly staff who attended to our every need in a most pleasant and efficient manner. We were very pleased to have so much consideration shown to my wife who has limited mobility. The view of the lake from the hotel is very pleasant, the food and restaurant service were first class, our room was very comfortable . We enjoyed our stay and hope to return.

Room Tip: Travellers with limited mobility should request a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We came to the Waterhead as a mini-moon and absolutely loved it. We were greeted by balloons and a lovely card in our room. We had a balcony over looking the lake which was beautiful. The food in the restaurant was amazing and we treated ourselves to the fillet steak. YUM. The food was expensive, but was also delicious and the service was great. The staff were all really friendly. I would definitely recommend staying here, the only downside was having to come home and go back to work. Having said that we were really lucky and booked well in advance and managed to get a good discount or it would have been rather pricey.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bioelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Didn't stay at hotel, but enjoyed afternoon tea for 6 outside on the grass. Lovely tea, great quality sandwiches, scones and pastries. Would highly recommend. Very friendly and attentive staff. Full up afterwards...would definitely go back. Can't comment on rest of hotel though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmaglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed as a family party of 7 with two very young children. The accommodation and food were excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful with the childrens requirements. All this with the wonderful scenic lake just across the road.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is a high standard hotel in beautiful surroundings. The room I had looked out on to the lake and it was lovely to sit and watch. The hotel rooms were well presented with some extra touches e.g. Local gingerbread. These touches just made it feel like a special place. Staff were very helpful and attentive. The food was of a high quality with a wide choice to choose from albeit portions were not huge. This did not matter to me as it was really well presented and all the food I had was fresh and tasty. My only reason for not awarding this excellent was the parking arrangements; parking spaces are very limited and small. I was therefore concerned about where to leave my car. Having said this I would not hesitate to go back as it was an enjoyable stay in a very useful location for getting around.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TKCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

W were booked here as part of a tour of the Lakes District and found it comfortable, quiet and with a lovely view. The room was bright and clean, although the furniture surfaces were a bit worn. The hotel offered a nice breakfast and our group dinner was good

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johannewillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
3.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing