We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Service Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Waterhead Hotel to your Saves list
Waterhead Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 Night Summer Saver £299
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Service Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Having stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels in London ,Rome France and Spain ,we have found none that compared to the Waterhead for service and attention to detail.
The Staff were invariably and constantly cheerful .
The charming man serving at the bar ,recognised us,smiled and said hello when spotting us in Ableside ,after just ONE visit to the Waterhead bar .
The room was immaculately clean ,and the ice bucket seemed to be re-filled as if by magic every time we came back in.
Turn-down service ,a joy and a cafetier with real coffee in the room (as well as the usual Nescafe and Galxy hot chocolate ) .
TV has a repeater speaker in the bathroom which is a bit strange ,but ideal for those who like to sing along in the shower with the TV tuned to radio ( Reception can have it turned down or off ,for the non-musical )
Phone reception pretty terrible ..BUT this is the Lake District ,and we WERE away to relax ..not to answer the phone /tex/emails etc.
We actually made a point of thanking the Service Manager personally on our way out for the way her Staff had looked after us (and for the obvious hard work that must have gone into their training .

Many Thanks again.

Patty and Les Caffrey .Belmont .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,126
    240
    46
    4
    9
See reviews for
183
941
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

the room comfort - pillows and bed were second to none, bathroom toiletries super and refreshed every day, there was even a turndown service when tea coffee etc was replenished; we had a lake view for a special occasion. the food, service and friendliness of the staff was superb and Jose's G&T are to die for he uses aromatics as well as citrus to bring out the flavour of the gin....a must try!! Breakfast was a lovely experience they even have whisky near the porrige and you can help yourself!! lots of choice from the breakfast buffett and the cooked b'fast was really good quality. overall a fantastic team front of house and in the background. we will be back thanks for everything.

Room Tip: as this is a boutique hotel all rooms are different, we had a classic room which was great rooms 7-1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ramblerWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Yes, it is all true, this is a really lovely hotel in a fantastic setting at the top of Windermere. It really does live up to all the excellent reviews it gets on TA and you certainly won't be disappointed. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saintscully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at the beginning of May at the Waterhead on a KGB deal of 2 nights with breakfast and a evening meal on the first night and what a wonderful deal this was. The Hotel is in an ideal position for exploring the lakes. On the main road through to Keswick, but we were not troubled by traffic noise, parking is quite limited but if you stay in the large car park to the side I think the hotel will reimburse your parking fee. The room was everything we wanted after a wet walk round Grizdale Forest. Large very comfortable bed, great bathroom, extras such as the ice bucket being filled with ice, real coffee and cafetiere, great selection of teas, fresh milk if required, local biscuits, dvd player (large selection to borrow in the reception), iron, ironing board and turn down service leaving chocolate on the pillow. The restaurant and bar area had lovely views of the lake and the food was outstanding. Even though we were on a meal deal we had a choice from the full menu and the food was outstanding. You can eat in the bar area or just have a cocktail. Breakfast was brilliant, very wide selection and must cater for everyone. There is an outside seating area but the weather wasn't good enough for us. The hotel is just over the road to the ferry and we took advantage of a Friday deal to travel around the lake hopping on and off all day. Its a lovely 10 minute walk into Ambleside. All the staff were extremely professional, helpful and friendly. We will be looking at going again and have already recommended this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GorgeousGwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

As a treat for my birthday, my partner and I went to spend 3 nights at the Waterhead. We had a spacious and beautiful room looking over lake Windemere. The bed was gigantic and extremely comfortable. Every night when we returned to our bedroom our bed had been prepared for the night and and a little chocolate left on each pillow. This is one of many delicate attentions that we appreciated over our stay. The whole place is bright,lovely and spotless. Every member of staff whether being at the reception, restaurant or cleaning, were extremely polite, friendly and professional. Breakfast was everything we hoped for (fresh fruits, various cereal, breads, pastries, porridge, various cooked dishes...) and more. I would personally go back even to just eat those amazing eggs Benedict! Apart from all that, Ambleside is a gorgeous little town. We walked to the waterfall, shopped, visited the ruins of the Roman fort, took the walkers cruise which takes you to the other side of the lake where you can walk along the shore for 4 miles to the ferry house- stunning scenery!- in clear, a FANTASTIC weekend!!!

Room Tip: The road that passes in front of the hotel is very busy so if you can afford a room looking over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeleneT72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 1 night in the Easter holidays. We have 2 children , 9 and 7 and 2 boxer dogs. We were in room 17 and it was like a suite, king size bed, double bed and 2 dog baskets . It was lovely and clean, spacious and had lots of mod cons. When we arrived. At the hotel we thought we had the wrong hotel and wouldn't be able to take the dogs in as it was so plush, but we were welcomed. You can only eat in the bar area with dogs but that doesn't matter as the bar is lovely and they serve the same food as the restaurant. We have booked to stay for another night in the next holidays. It's central to everything in Ambleside and I can't wait to return.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights on kgb deal which included breakfast on both mornings and evening meal on 1st night. Really impressed by this hotel, excellent standards. Room has a massive 6ft wide bed and is spacious. Very clean and every member of staff very helpful. Food was excellent and restaurant manager very friendly and helpful. Also used leisure facilities at sister hotel Lowood with lovely swimming pool and outdoor hot tub. Would definately return to this hotel as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janbWirralUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 stars 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 1,085 reviews
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
5.1 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#1 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, ETB, Booking.com, Cancelon, LateRooms, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Waterhead
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing