We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Beautiful hotel. Rooms very modern, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Lovely and warm. Great views of the lake from the window. Breakfast was lovely, great choice and made fresh when ordered. Staff very polite and helpful. Nice touch that the manager helped with breakfast. Will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Lovely views of the lake, we stayed in Room 6 which was at the end, perfect if you are worried about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jule C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,318
    279
    52
    4
    10
See reviews for
225
1,111
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
kincraig
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed at the Waterhead on the 14th March. The room was stunning. Fabulous super king sized bed, luxurious bathroom with fluffy bathrobes and excellent supply of quality toiletries with which to pamper yourself. Loved the choices on the beverage tray complete with locally sourced Gingerbread.
Would definitely recommend this hotel as a relaxed luxury destination for couples.
Thanks to the staff for their attentive service. We had a wonderful time and would love to visit again soon.

Room Tip: Room 21 has a fabulous view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suiecrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

It's hard to add anything new to the rave reviews already on this site. We have just returned from our second visit, accompanied by friends who were on their fourth visit. We were all, once again, delighted with our experience of this wonderful hotel. Even though on this occasion we were on a 'deal' and didn't have a lake view room, the rooms we had were still lovely and the public areas are so welcoming that it didn't matter that the room wasn't lake front, we could still relax and enjoy the views from the lounge/bar areas. Also, and in my opinion, this is the mark of a really good hotel, regardless of what sort of deal you are on, your are treated as very valued guests by all the staff, which goes some way to account for the high number of return visitors to this lovely hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sindy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed at the Waterhead for two nights in January 2013. Once again our booking package consisted of two nights bed and breakfast, with evening meal on the first night - such good value for money. When making the reservation I asked for a specific room we have stayed in previously and, although special requests cannot be guaranteed, the hotel was able to accommodate our request.

On arrival we received a welcome letter recognising our return visit and offering an upgrade if we were to book again within a specified timescale. Albeit this is a nice gesture, a suprise upgrade on arrival (which has happened only once before) would be nicer!

Staff were, as always, very friendly and helpful; rooms and communal areas clean and presentable; DVDs still available in reception to choose and take to your room; breakfast substantial; restaurant menu and food great. Finally the toiletries provided in the en-suite bathroom have been changed to a new brand with a more pleasant smell! Grasmere
gingerbread still provided in room with the tea and coffee facilities.

Ate in the bar on the second evening due to the atrocious weather and not wanting to walk into town. Last orders for food in the bar is 7pm, which was adequate but would be nicer if it ran a little later. We also ate in the bar on our arrival the first day, grabbing a sandwich and fries. Staff pleasant, friendly and food good.

Always a relaxed atmosphere at the Waterhead.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBj05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed at The Waterhead Sunday 10/Monday 11 March. We cannot fault this hotel in anyway. It sits perfectly alongside the Windermere, the views from our window were beautiful. We stayed in a double, the beds were huge with the most comfiest of duvet & pillows I have had the pleasure of sleeping in! The extra touches made such a difference such as chocolates on our pillows, an ice bucket and the most gorgous Grasmere Gingerbread left for us each morning. We loved this so much we then made a stunning hike over the Fell into Grasmere to buy some of our own. This is a must for anyone visiting the area! The breakfast choices were varied and quality of the food was excellent. Hotel staff could not do enough and were not intrusive at all. The hotel is a 10 minute or so stroll into Ambleside. We would recommend Dodd's Italian for evening food, awesome!

Room Tip: Not sure if all rooms have lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed here night of 8th March and have no complaints. There was everything you could possibly need in your room and any request was/would be made welcome. If you want a more relaxed visit to the spa avoid peak times as it is used by children / families. Food in the Bar and grill and the hotel was above expectations and choice was fantastic, I would come here to eat again!! Breakfast - plenty of choice great start to the day. Location is great with great views. Lovely touches in the room. Overall very relaxing. Check out packages they offer as great value!!

Room Tip: Be aware the hotel is set back from the water by the road - if you want a view ask and be prepared t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Restorative break on the the 7/ 8th March 2013. Friendly yet courteous, efficient staff, Nothing is too much trouble and you really feel that they care about your time in the hotel. The room was spotlessly clean and incredibly comfortable. Could not fault the food, breakfast was beautiful. The setting is perfect, on the edge of the lake and a short flat walk to the centre of Ambleside. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and cant wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,188 reviews
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,370 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing