We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You cant beat it!!”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
West Lothian
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“You cant beat it!!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We just returned from a two night stay at the Waterhead. It is a great hotel, the food was great, the staff are great and the area is great. It is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. The breakfast was superb and the dinner was second to none. I think you get the drift!!

Room Tip: A lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpsc05580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,326
    281
    52
    4
    10
See reviews for
226
1,119
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Lovely lake view room. Massive, comfy bed and delicious Grasmere gingerbread to have with coffee. Nice touch having binoculars to better enjoy the magnificent view. Bar and reception staff were friendly and professional. All in all, a pretty perfect week end. .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fayuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just back from a two night stay at the Waterhead hotel. Weather could have been better but the hotel made up for that. I would describe this hotel as being the perfect hotel for a relaxing break. Facilities were great and location perfect for those looking for beautiful surroundings, excellent food and within easy walking distance of the local pubs and town centre.

Staff were very friendly and attentive and I would definately recommend this to a friend. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elzo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here in October on a voucher deal and enjoyed it so much booked to come back this month. We paid extra for a lake view and it was worth it. Can't say any different than previous reviews. Friendy, helpful staff. Lovely room. Fantastic breakfast. All areas clean and tidy. We are now planning how soon we can return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I've just returned from a two night stay to celebrate my wife's birthday - it's become an annual pilgrimage that we always look forward to with great anticipation - why? Because the warmth, friendliness and service of each staff member is a delight, the comfort and cleanliness of the room (luxury, lake view, see photo) excellent and the restaurant a delight. We book with confidence because the standard is consistently high and we know we won't be disappointed - and we weren't - thanks to all the staff - keep doing what you're doing and we'll keep coming back!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 with a lake view, spacious, comfortable, flame effect fire etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffG123x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed at the Waterhead Hotel in the Lake District for our wedding anniversary. This is a four star boutique hotel on the edge of the lake. It is one of our favorite areas in the lake district. This is the first time for many years we have stayed at the Waterhead, which has undergone significant refurbishement since our last stay.. We can't wait for our next visit. The service, food and location are fantastic. We had upgraded to a lake view room, as we thought we may be spending a lot of time in the hotel as it was January. i could have sat at the window all day. We didn't but it was worth the upgrade. We didn't go to the spa, which is in a sister hotel, although we have stayed in that hotel before, and it is very good. However, I haven't rated it as it has been some time since we visited.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a lake view room if you can, well worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great hotel, quality food, very attentive staff, superb location
Due to the weather, difficult getting in and out of carpark unless you have a 4x4 but there was a member of staff there to clear the access etc and was very helpfull.
Deffinately come back

Room Tip: Room 5 was excellent, lake view with ample space for a long weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 758BillB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,203 reviews
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,383 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing