We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Getaway”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed an overnight stay at the Waterhead on Sat 12th Jan 2013. The hotel has a fabulous setting and our room had a stunning view over the lake. The overall ambience of the hotel was calming and relaxing, nothing was too much trouble for staff who were very professional and the food was sensational.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,731)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,106 - 1,112 of 1,731 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed at the Waterhead Sep 2012 for two nights with my wife and 13 year old son. The hotel is very well located and with walking distance to shops, restaurants and bars of Ambleside. The bus to Windermere and Kendal stops outside and the ferry to Windermere is across the road. There is ample parking.

The hotel itself has lovely views of the lake and in good weather you can sit outside and have our lunch or a drink. Overall the hotel is modern, spotless and well appointed having been renovated a couple of year back. The rooms are very good, beds really comfortable and bathrooms really modern. The rooms have flat panel TV, Tea and Coffee with Grasmere Shortbread too. Most don't have a lake view but you can upgrade for that if needed. We had a larger room with a double and a single for our son. The tariff allows you to add a child for £15 per night and if you booked a half board option you can just pay for what they eat which is good. The half board option is good and does save you money since you can pretty much have anything you want without supplement (with a few exceptions like fillet steak).

Overall the food was very good. The breakfast was the usual fayre, you help yourself to cereal, juices, pastries etc and then order whatever hot food you like. They did mess up my sons preferences one morning, but when it came the food was hot and good quality. The evening meals were good too, we had lamb one night and steaks the next. They were very good at accomodating my son at evening meal varying the menu and even changing the style of chips from chunky to french fries. They do burgers and fish & chips but equally top notch cuisine for the adults.

The bar was the let down, it lacked atmosphere a bit and was very quite. Assume most people went into town. Needs a bit of music and ambience.

We used the leisure facilities at the lowood which is about a mile down the road. overall I thought the Waterhead was a better hotel but it lacks the onsite leisure facilities. The pool at the lowood was good and he outdoor hot tub served a purpose. The gym was really good too.

Would I go back? Yes, but it can be expensive if you book at short notice or at popular times such as Easter, look out for deals online and sign up with englishlakes.co.uk for offers. That is the company which run the hotel and indeed there are four or five others under the same ownership, all look pretty good but vary in style and size.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveFussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights at the beginning of January. It was our second visit and once again we thoroughly enjoyed it. The bedroom was spacious and comfortable and the food and service fabulous. The 'Trio of Herdwick Lamb' was our favourite with The 'Vegetarian Sharing Platter' a close second. The location is fantastic, the dining room has great views across Lake Windermere which is just across the road. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a special break with very special food.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Located overlooking the lake, our stay in this small boutique hotel for a 4 day break was an absolutely delightful experience. The imaginative events were suitable for a wide age range, and excellent menus/meals, served either in the comfortable bar area, or the beautifully decorated elegant dining room were first class. The comfortable rooms were well equipped, quiet and very clean. Staff were warm and welcoming, but executed their duties in a very professional manner.

Anyone looking for a quality break should give this venue serious consideration.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband, daughter and I stayed for just one night for my husband's birthday. Card, balloons and ice left in room which was a lovely surprise. Staff fantastic. Food fab, had dinner and breakfast and couldn't fault a thing. I especially loved the extra hot curry sauce, yum. We will definitely return and highly recommend this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileencraughwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was our 7th visit at new year as usual the whole experience was exceptional, the staff fantastic anf the food out of this world choice quality and service excellent. we can not praise the Hotel enough it was the best out of all our visits. pre booked for 2013 before we left, highly recomended

Room Tip: No bad rooms here, the standard rooms are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glynjaneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We find it difficult to believe that any hotel can have better staff than the Waterhead. They all take delight in going the extra mile to make your stay special. We have been to the New Year celebrations for a number of years and this year was one of the best for food and entertainment. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,241 reviews
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,427 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
621 reviews
0.9 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: $179 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing