We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel inthe Lakes”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 8, 2008

Chose this hotel after having stayed at the Lakeside (self-proclaimed ' Best 4 star hotel in the Lake District') late last year and being totally underwhelmed (strangely pretentious for a mediocre hotel). I was understandably slightly apprehensive following this previous stay in the Lakes, but needn't have worried.
This place is fantastic.
I have been to too many hotels that promise much and deliver little, but the first thing that strikes you when entering the hotel is that, despite the modern glam surroundings, the staff are exceptional. From the welcome at the desk (no formal 'Reception Lobby' here) to the genuinely friendly and professional service in the restaurant, all the staff were great.
The surroundings are not what you would neccesarily expect from a hotel on the banks of Windermere - all traditional stone and slate on the exterior, but modern and stylish inside, and the little extras make all the difference - local gingerbread and fresh cafetiere coffee in the bedrooms and underfloor heating and great toiletries in the bathroom.
Having eaten in the restaurant on our first evening, we cancelled our plans to 'eat out' on our second and final night - this food is honestly some of the best I have tasted for some considerable time. I am unsure as to what awards the restaurant currently has, but the menu appears to be locally sourced, reasonably priced and fanntastic quality comapred to the local 'competition' we had initailly considered.
The weather, unfortunately, wasn't so kind - but I suppose you take your chances in late March!
Regardless of this though, I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone. It's certainly not the cheapest but, in this case, you get more than you pay for!

Stayed: March 2008
3  Thank Bertiebluenose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,766)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,666 - 1,672 of 1,766 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2008

Fantastic room, friendly staff, had organised Flowers and Champagne for my wife (birthday trip) and it was all in the room.
Well decorated - all very stylish in a modern fashion, which we happen to love.
Food was great, well presented.
It's a short walk to Ambleside proper, and right opposite the jettys for cruises up and down the lake, so very handy.
On the negative side, there were a few small children there on the Friday evening, which detracted from the dining experience a little, but not too much!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jt0475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2008

My wife and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at The Waterhead and let me say that the reviews you read on Trip Advisor about this hotel are true - it is a fantastic place. After having experienced a hellish 10 hour journey from Cambridge due to nightmare weather conditions shutting the M6, it was a joy to be welcomed by an efficient smiling receptionist and then check into a room that you didn't want to leave!. We weren't expecting a lake view (we had a house double room) but got one anyway. Although not the cheapest hotel it is still nice that bottled spring water, the ice bucket, gingerbread supplies and tea and filter coffee are replenished every day, along with maid service every day - and we didn't get interrupted once. (They must even know when you are out!).
The underfloor heating in the bathroom is great, along with wall mounted plasma screen, huge double bed and the general quality of the place that runs throughout the hotel.
Staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the views over the lake at breakfast are superb (especially if you get there early and you'll get a nice bay window table). The food is freshly cooked rather than buffet style and the service was faultless.
For dinner, I'm not usually a fan of eating at your hotel, but we had one of the nicest meals we have had in a long time, along with relaxed atmosphere, good lighting and a table for 2 that was for 2, i.e. not on top of someone else.
As for the location, you can't get better - it is a 10-15 minute stroll into Ambleside, which is much bigger than we thought it was going to be and is a perfect starting point for walks so consequently we only used the car a couple of times in 4 days which is a bonus. And from outside the hotel you can catch a cruise down Lake Windermere, or there is a pub across the road which offers great views of the lake while enjoying a couple of drinks.
A visit to the Lake District is a must anyway, but taken together with this hotel, it makes the experience that much better with a touch of luxury thrown in.
Quite simply, we could not fault this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan1Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2008

We booked the hotel for a short break before it became too busy at Easter. We booked on line as a result of the other positive reviews on this site and were not disappointed. It is not cheap but is worth it when we looked at booking flights to Europe for the same dates.
The hotel is very easy to find. It is almost on the side of the lake with a road at the front and the back. I was initially concerned about this but we had a room with a lake view and were not disturbed by traffic. We did stay in March and I am not sure if this could be an issue in the summer. There is plenty of parking at the front and back of the hotel, however if you park at the back there are a lot of stairs to navigate to get to reception. The front is best, especially for unloading cases. The hotel is about a mile, by road, from Ambleside and is near the jetty for boat trips and there are several other hotels nearby.
The room was excellent with a large bed and plenty of room, a flat screen telly, DVD etc. It was decorated in a modern style which we liked and was very well maintained, clean and comfortable. The food was excellent and the serving staff attentive and knowledgeable. We had breakfast and dinner in the hotel twice and the meals could not be faulted. They were presented well and the portion size was sufficient for both of us. Overall it was a pleasant stay which we both enjoyed and would return to this hotel or others in the group if we go back to the lakes.
Ambleside is an ideal base for a stay in the lakes, the town has plenty of shops and it is easy to drive to the other lakes and towns in the area. The weather prevented us from doing much walking but, as my friends say, the lakes need plenty of water to keep full.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorkshireman abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2008

Stayed here for my husband's 50th birthday. Everything was as it was described on the website. We had a suite, which was large and luxurious. Service was excellent, and food in the restaurant fantastic. DVD player in the room was a good idea, as it meant we could listen to our own CDs and watch a movie. Good location. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Family-reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2008

I've just returned from a 2 night break at The Waterhead Hotel in Ambleside and have to say that it was fantastic.

We had a luxury lake view room which had absolutely brilliant views over Lake Windemere. The room itself was great with it's fire, flatscreen tv, tea & coffee making facilities, etc. The bathroom was great, especially the big bath.

The hotel is ideally located, only a 10 minute walk from the centre of Ambleside, where there are plenty of shops, restaurants and cafes - special mention to 'Lucy's on a plate' cafe for it's fantastic array of scones, cakes, etc! The Clock Tower in Ambleside is also the starting place of many walks which I can highly recommend.

The restaurant at Waterhead Hotel is out of this world. Ordinarily I would tend to try different restaurants in the area, but the food was so good that I felt I'd be missing out if I went anywhere else.

My only regret was that we only stayed for two nights and not more!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Frosty79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2008

My wife and made our first ever visit to the Lakes for my birthday treat. Weather was mixed but did enjoy two fine days out of three.
Hotel was very good indeed with friendly staff.
Stayed in room 8 overlooking the lake and the view was superb even when raining. Room was just about 4 star with some nice touches.
Meals were first class although the restaurant was a little lacking in atmosphere.
Very nice hotel for a short break and we would certainly stay there again as access to all lakes is quite good

Stayed: February 2008
1  Thank kevin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,272 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,869 reviews
21.2 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: $165 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Waterhead
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing