We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waterhead Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Brathay Lodge(Ambleside)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Wateredge Inn(Ambleside)
$167
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
$135
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake House(Ambleside)
$147
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$193
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Hawkshead(Hawkshead)(Great Value!)
$44
$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast(Hawkshead)(Great Value!)
$118
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,808)
Filter reviews
1,808 results
Traveler rating
1,430
304
57
6
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,430
304
57
6
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake view roomgrasmere gingerbreadlocal gingerbreadjelly beansdog bedlow woodlovely hotelice bucketturn down servicegin and tonicluxury roomsister hotelunderfloor heatingdvd playerlake districtbreakfast and dinnerwould highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,399 - 1,404 of 1,808 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2011

My wife and I stayed here 18/19th November and were very impressed with the overall quality of the hotel and staff,nothing we could find disappointed us, the room number 22 was excellent.
Complimentary binoculars to view the lake views and wildlife,ice bucket in room filled for evening tipple,cafetiere standard in room with ground coffeee and fresh milk if wanted as standard and fresh fruit basket.
Breakfast was yummie with extensive choice and my favourite which you don,t normally find ...eggs benedict...lush!...we also used the restaurant for Saturday evening dinner dining on the steak choices.....again beautifully presented and gorgeous food.We will return and have told all our friends to try it too.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a lake view,you won,t be disappointed.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C7MWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2011

Dear C7MWW,

Many thanks for choosing the Waterhead to celebrate your birthday. It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope we can welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Mark Needham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel several times now and we have yet to find fault with it. The rooms are very comfortable and the service is great. The staff are always willing to help whatever the request. The restaurant also produces fantastic food and they are happy to provide for special requests. Overall this is one of the best hotels we have stayed in in the lake district and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Lovely hotel in a great location and lovely views over Lake Windermere. The room was very well equipped and quiet and comfortable. Well stocked with teas, coffees and Sarah Nelson's gingerbread from nearby Grasmere Village. Nice little touches and very friendly service. The food was lovely too. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukrebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We have just returned from a lovely weekend at the Waterhead Hotel. We ate there on the Friday night and the food was absolutely top notch, definitely on a par with London restaurants. Great atmosphere and really friendly staff. We were in a lake view room and would definitely recommend paying extra as those rooms looked much nicer than the ones at the back of the hotel. Great location, about 15 minutes walk from Ambleside where we enjoyed afternoon tea one day. Loads of great walks from the hotel too - so a perfect venue for getting away from it all. Access to the siter hotel's swimming pool was an added bonus.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms were lovely - worth paying extra
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajw26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We celebrated our anniversary with a two night break at the Waterhead. Room was excellent, food was superb and staff very friendly. One of the best breaks we have ever had. Terrific value for such a fantastic boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Our room had a lake view across the road but it was not at all noisy.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smoggy_chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews