We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really pleasant stay that has left us wanting more!”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We used this hotel as a short honeymoon stay between our Civil Service in Scotland and Religious Blessing in Liverpool and we could not of asked for a better experience throughout our time here.
The hotel is set in a picture postcard setting and is surrounded with beautiful scenery which helps create a relaxing environment. The staff offer a professional and exceptional level of customer service paying attention to the finer details to ensure everything is perfect, the standard of cleanliness in our room and the entire hotel are a credit to the housekeeping staff, and the restaurant and bar offer a good range of exceptional quality using locally sourced products.
All in all, we could not of asked for a more enjoyable experience from a hotel of higher grading or pricing and would definately recommend a stay at the Waterhead.

Room Tip: the lake view rooms offer a superb morning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilHislop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2011

Dear PhilHislop,

Many thanks for the great review and for choosing the Waterhead for your honeymoon. It was great to read you both had a great time. I hope we can welcome you back soon, maybe for your first anniversary?

Best regards

Mark Needham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,737)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,378 - 1,384 of 1,737 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2011

Second stay in this Hotel - this time as a couple. Great Hotel, great service and in fantastic location right on the edge of the Lake.
Breakfast is first rate and package including dinner is a good value upgrade.
Take the Windermere Lake Cruise (we purchased a ticket valid for 24 hours with 10% discount if you show hotel booking paperwork) and explore the area leaving the car behind.

Room Tip: Opted for the luxury lakeview room and would do so again as room was large with high ceiling and vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TandSLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2011

Dear TandSLeeds,

Thanks for the great review and for choosing to stay with us again. I hope we can welcome you back soon for your third visit.

Best regards

Mark Needham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Staff were friendly and extremely professional, assisting us in every way possible as my husband was suffering with a bad back. The hotel was in a great location; walking distance to Ambleside town centre and just across the road from the ferries. Room was a generous size and extremely clean with a homely ambiance. We loved the hotel and area so much we stayed an additional night. Hotel provided free parking - didn't need to use the car whilst we were there. Free Internet. Great breakfast with great restaurant service. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieFerrara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2011

Dear Cara313,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay, i hope your husband's back is feeling better.
I look forward to welcome you back to the Waterhead soon.

Best regards

Mark Needham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We were lucky enough to stay at the Waterhead hotel as someone bought us a Dinner,Bed and Breakfast package. From the moment we entered the hotel, we knew we were in for a treat. The reception area is bright and modern and the recepionists were lovely and very professional.

We had a Luxury lake view room (Room 8) which was huge with a super king size bed, high ceiling and fantastic bay windows. I normally would never go for a lake view room not being a person to sit in a hotel room and look at a lake, but wow, this has changed my mind.

Dinner was a lovely experience. three courses from the menu, i chose things i had never tried before and the dishes were cooked beautifully.

I felt well and truly spoilt so any hotel i stay in next has 'big shoes to fill'

Room Tip: A Lake View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Withouthekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2011

Dear Withouthekids,

Many thanks for the review, it was great to read you felt spoilt during your stay and enjoyed all aspects of the hotel, including the special views from your room.
I look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards

Mark Needham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed here in June as part of a birthday celebration tour around Southern Scotland and the Lake District. We were pleased with most aspects of our stay. The staff were mostly friendly and helpful. We ate in the hotel restaurant but were slightly disappointed with some aspects. The service was good but sometimes indifferent and the food was good but not great. We had a good sized, premium room. It was warm, comfortable and had a feshly replenished ice bucket each day. The view from the window across to Windermere was nice. The bed was very comfortable. The bar and restaurant is on the lower ground floor, down one flight of stairs. The immediate area is quite busy but all the main lake based activities and services are literally just across the road. You can hire row boats or board the various lake ferry services. Reception will give you a "staying locally" ticket that gets a 10% discount on most ferry servcies. There are nice walks to be had beside the lake. This hotel is part of a small chain. Spa facilities are available for use at a sister hotel about a mile away. There is a huge choice of places to stay all around the lake to suit all budgets. Our stay here was OK with no major niggles but there are small issues that if dealt with, could turn this hotel from good to very good. We would probably look at alternatives when staying in the area again but wouldn't baulk at staying here again.

Room Tip: Premium rooms are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 60agogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2011

Dear 60agogo,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I was dissapointed to read that your dining experience was not upto our usual high standards. It is only through guest feedback that we can assess all of our products and services for the benefit of future guests, should you wish to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact myself. I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is a lovely hotel and great location away from the crowds at Bowness , the bar and the restaurant staff are extremly friendly and the quality of the food was superb !!
Our room was clean ,large and well equiped slight noise early morning from the road ..
We would definatly recommed this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cath196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2011

Dear Cath196,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Great to read you loved the hotel and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Mark Needham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Our stay at Waterhead was great, immaculate room with everything that you could possibly want. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was really good too.

All this together with the beautiful surroundings made the perfect break away from "normal life" We will definitley be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy46_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2011

Dear Andy46_11,

Thanks for the great review, its pleasing to now it was an enjoyable break from normal life and i hope we can welcome you back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,248 reviews
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
627 reviews
0.9 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: $180 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing