We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Have just visited for the first time and the hotel was faultless. Rooms were modern, clean and some of the smaller touches were really nice like the gingerbread and fresh fruit. Location is superb. Didn't eat in resturant however we did eat over the road in the watersedge inn which was very good. Overall a fantastic place to say and we will def be back.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellabella25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Dear Ellabella25,

Many thanks for the great review and your feedback from your recent stay. Be sure to try our restaurant on your next visit I am sure you wont be disappointed. I look forward to welcome you back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,318
    279
    52
    4
    10
See reviews for
225
1,111
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

I would definitely stay at this hotel again if visiting the Ambleside area. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the centre of the village. The rooms were very spacious and the bed comfortable. The breakfast was very tasty and plentiful. Generally a great place to relax after a hard days walking! Also I should comment that service was excellent, from the warm welcome at reception to the helpful staff in the dining room.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomd25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Dear Tomd25,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It was great to read you enjoyed your stay and i look forward to welcome you back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2011

This was a last minute choice as the previous night's hotel was poor but this hotel was excellent, and we'll stay again. The receptionist and manager couldn't have been more professional and helpful as were the restaurant staff later on. There was only one room left which I'm guessing was the smallest but it was absolutely fine; clean and modern with everything one could need like a hairdryer, ironing board and iron, cafetiere and coffee, even some local gingerbread! The restaurant was excellent for both dinner and breakfast. If I had to find fault it would be the not-so-soft foam pillows; but sadly virtually all hotels skimp on the pillows.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonH42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Dear JasonH42,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. Its pleasing to read your positive feedback and i will share this with the team. Be sure to ask for some different pillows on your next visit as we have a variety available from memory foam to feather. I look forward to welcome you back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night on a weekend break in the Lake District.
Excellent location in Ambleside with views over Lake Windermere from our room.
Room was good size with flat screen TV, hairdryer, coffee&tea, modern bathroom with large bath and plenty of free toiletries.
Can only recommend the restaurant, great food and excellent service (ask to be seated at table overlooking the lake).
Free parking, free DVD rentals, breakfast was very good. Have also been to another English Lakes Hotel so can only recommend the chain.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicoleKwiatkowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Dear NicoleKwiatkowski,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. You can be sure i will pass your comments onto the team and hope we can welcome you back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Stayed here last year and was very disappointed. I wrote a review and was contacted by the management and offered a luxury room, dinner and breakfast for one night as compensation. I took the offer up a few weeks ago and was pleasantly surprised- I went with my son, so we compromised on a house room with twin beds instead and added 2 nights at a good rate. The room (No 40) was superb, spacious (compared to the Lake view room the previous year) and quiet. Tea, coffee etc. in the room and a piece of yummy gingerbread from Grasmere!!
They still haven't quite got around the speed of service in the restaurant, it's still too fast and you could be in and out in 25 minutes if you're not careful! The food is very good indeed and I couldn't fault it.
All in all, very enjoyable, especially the Beatrix Potter stories in the washroom by the restaurants, which automatically play when you enter the room! The only downside is the slightly snotty dark haired receptionist, but one can't have everything....
I shall certainly be going back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minimad_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Dear Minimad_11,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for giving us the opportunity to restore your faith in the products and services at the Waterhead. It was pleasing to read you enjoyed most aspects of your stay. I will pass your comments on regarding the speed of service and you can be sure it is something we will look into as it is only through feedback we can constantly improve our overall offering.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed at the Waterhead with a group of friends last weekend, and had a wonderful time. This is a small but beautiful hotel with a very intimate, yet cosy feel. The location is perfect, the bedrooms spacious and tastefully decorated with some really special finishing touches - and the beds are so comfortable, you will never want to leave them!. The overall ambience is perfect from the reception areas through to the bar and restaurant. Its location is perfect, food, drinks and snacks amazing, always beautifully presented.. The staff were all extremely polite and helpful yet incredibly efficient, and after just one night we were treated like old friends What makes this hotel special, is its attention to detail and we cannot recommend itl highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladywigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Dear Ladywigan,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It was great to read you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and i look forward to welcome you back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

This was our second visit in 12 months to the Waterhead and both visits turned into really pleasurable weekends. The hotel is right on the edge of the lake, the views from the room fantastic. This time we had a room close by reception and the main road, so thought we might be troubled by noise, but not at all. The room was very quiet and comfortable, as-is the hotel generally. The hotel staff are exceptional and add to the experience. The restaurant is very good and the wine list features some old favourites like "Cloudy Bay".

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sloan_Chace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Dear Sloan_chace,

Thanks for the great review and thank you for choosing to stay with us again. Its great to read that you had another enjoyable stay with us, keep a look out for up coming summer offers. I look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,190 reviews
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,372 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
535 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing