We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed environment, good food ...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Drunken Duck Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Drunken Duck Inn
Ranked #24 of 105 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Relaxed environment, good food ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is a great place to visit for lunch, and probably an evening meal.

The selection is good, keenly priced, and the environment is warm and inviting. Great selection of beers, and a lovely mix of the traditional and the contemporary for the menu.

Each time we visit the lakes we have this as a place to visit. Slightly off the beaten track, but all the better for it.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kp1nw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    207
    87
    57
    47
See reviews for
104
591
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Everything about the place is welcoming. All of the staff (not just customer-facing ones) were helpful and friendly.

Room very comfy (and our en-suite happened to have a bath too).

Really nice dinner and breakfast. Plus, home-made scones, jam and tea was a rather nice way to end our day walking.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Absolutely stunning meal at the Drunken Duck - beautiful surroundings and great atmosphere inside. Amouse bouche - mushroom and chicken foam was spot on, followed by crusty bread and salty butter. Starter was soup - very hot but the soft onions and garlic were again spot on. Beef shin and fillet special main possibly the best I've ever eaten - garlic, onions, jus and water cress too. Dessert - chocolate and caramel bar with peanut ice cream - a marathon of a dessert which really was delicious.... Thanks for making my Birthday really special!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jclemhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed here at the end of a trip to the lakes, and it was absolutely lovely. Service was fabulous, friendly, helpful and attentive. The afternoon scone cream tea is perfect after a day of wandering about the beautiful surrounding countryside. They have a selection of walks planned out from the hotel, with routes available from the reception. The atmosphere is cosy and welcoming, the food is great too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Excellentboberoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Ok, we got lucky with the weather - which must be rare in these parts; but pretty much everything about this inn is real quality. Staff service, accommodation, food & drink... all top notch. Breakfast is superb, and the dinner menu is even better. To seal the deal, they have some excellent beers, brewed on the premises - all good, but my favourite was the Red Bull Terrier. Will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

I was really disappointed when we stayed here. We have stayed before in an ordinary room, but this time as a special treat we opted for a one night stay in the most expensive rooms. BIG Mistake.

Billed in the brochure as a garden room, it included a feature log burning stove for that romantic touch. What they don't tell you is it's Electric! Not so romantic! And like a previous reviewer found it wasn't working. We weren't told this when we checked!

Little things make all the difference when you are spending top dollar for a room. It is the little things that you are paying extra for. So in no particular order, here are my gripes.

1) TV small and dated compared with other hotels we have stayed at.
2) There was no dressing table or mirror and no socket for a hair dryer.
3) There was a lovely terrace with a table and chairs, but the rambling roses were taking over, even coming up through the floor
4) No iPod dock
5) Bathroom was bare and dingy, needed pictures or something on the walls.
6) Roll top bath which is lovely, had no where to put your soap - dish would be useful.
7) Double glazing failed in patio doors to balcony.
8) Room decor generally looking tired and in need of a refurb.
9) Filled in comment form and have heard nothing from the DD by way of apology.

Overall considering we spent the best part of £500 in one night, we were let down. I stayed here about 10 years ago and it was a very different story. I can only assume that success has gone to their heads and they have lost sight of where they are.

The food is absolutely superb and we loved the meal, which in fairness is the reason that we went. The accommodation is boxing above its weight and lacks the finesse to pull off the prices it charges.

My advice, absolutely go for the food, and fine selection of beer, but for accommodation either go for a cheap room so you won't be disappointed or stay at a B& B and get a taxi.

With acknowledgment to previous reviewer who had a similar experience and we could copy their review.

Room Tip: Go for a cheaper room, especially one in the main Hotel, you don't have to go outside to get to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RRSTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

We have stayed here for three years running and have booked again for next year. Room five has been revamped and is beautiful with a massive bed. Food is delicious and caters for vegetarians. The breakfasts are also excellent. The yoghurt and granola with fruit is particularly good and freshly squeezed juice is a must. It's not cheap but it is rather special. Staff in the restaurant are always polite and courteous and nothing is too much trouble.

Room Tip: Room five is lovely although we haven't stayed in any of the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
2.8 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
2.0 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
1.4 mi away
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
#8 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nanny Brow
Nanny Brow
#11 of 105 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drunken Duck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drunken Duck Inn

Property: The Drunken Duck Inn
Address: Barngates | Off B5286, Ambleside LA22 0NG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
The Drunken Duck Hotel Ambleside
Drunken Duck Inn
Drunken Duck Hotel
Ambleside Drunken Duck
Drunken Duck Ambleside
The Drunken Duck Inn Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing