We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay and food were excellent...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Drunken Duck Inn
Ranked #23 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Stay and food were excellent...”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at the Drunken Duck and had a great time. The rooms are very cosy and the service was very good. The breakfast options are good, Kippers, Haddock, Full English, Pancakes and Bacon, etc. The afternoon tea with fresh scones, cream and jam is a nice touch. The dinner was also excellent... and the atmosphere in the bar with the roaring fire and friendly staff makes for an excellent choice for dinner, drinks, or a longer stay!

Room Tip: Courtyard view room was excellent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gcmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    212
    91
    57
    48
See reviews for
108
608
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Only visit The Drunken if you expect pub grub which is not typical "pub grub".
This "pub" is exceptional, the food is the best we have ever tasted; there is not a vast amount of food on the plate, but when the quality is that good you clearly do not expect a plateful. The key is to enjoy the flavours and how well the food has been cooked. If you want a lot of food visit somewhere else, I cannot fault out meal.
Well done "Drunken Duck" truly worth the awards you have won.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Fi0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I found a great deal on the drunken duck website £200 for lunch, afternoon tea 4 course dinner, breakfast and packed lunch. When I rang there were no standard rooms left but I was more than happy to pay an extra £65 for a superior room (room 14). The room was beautiful, spotless and had a great view from the floor to ceiling window. The food was some of the best I have ever had especially the roast beef. The service was second to none. I wish I took the young lady on receptions name as she was so helpful and polite, nothing was any trouble. I can't wait to go back to the duck with all my friends. Fine dining food and service with a relaxed and unstuffy atmosphere. Its perfectly acceptable to ware jeans for dinner PERFECT

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Smyth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Food = outstanding
Rooms = homely and room service top class
Staff = friendliest most lovely people I've ever experienced at a hotel or bar!
Overall experience 10/10
I wouldn't change a thing the decor and feel of the duck was perfect!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stemac84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorks
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the drunken duck on the Sunday lakes escape this included Sunday lunch, afternoon tea, three course meal, breakfast and a lunch box all for £200! We arrived and had roast beef which is the best roast beef lunch I have ever eaten! We then checked in to our room it was lovely and the little duck shortbread biscuits were a really nice touch. There were no tea and coffee making facilities but the lady on reception said whenever we wanted a tea or coffee we could call down and it would be fetched up to our room! Dinner in the evening was great and the tarte tartin was well worth the wait! In the morning tea and a newspaper was delivered to our room before breakfast! We then went down to breakfast which once again was outstanding! When checking out we were given our packed lunch for the day another lovely touch! I can't wait to go back to the duck one of the nicest places I have ever stayed! Great service, food and atmosphere, I still can't believe it was only £200!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We were a family of five adults and two toddlers who had lunch in the bar. I don t think they were used with catering for children , no child's meals on offer. However the food was delicious , beautifully presented . Could have done with a special lunch menu. Wine starts from £23 , bit expensive for lunch time.
Great welcoming ambience , busy bar area . Outside seating as superb views to the fells .
Excellent lunch , although on the expensive side.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We went hear after my partner researched it for what seemed like ages and she was right to do so - it was excellent.

We went at lunch and the atmosphere was brilliant; perfect for the cold weather with the red-hot weather.

I would caution it looks a little expensive on an evening, but had no problems or complaints with the lunch menu - the sandwiches were the best we have had.

A brilliant little spot I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barneystinson10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
2.8 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
3.1 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
2.0 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nanny Brow
Nanny Brow
#11 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
2.0 mi away
Queen's Head Hotel
Queen's Head Hotel
#5 of 23 in Hawkshead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drunken Duck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drunken Duck Inn

Property: The Drunken Duck Inn
Address: Barngates | Off B5286, Ambleside LA22 0NG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
The Drunken Duck Hotel Ambleside
Drunken Duck Inn
Drunken Duck Hotel
Ambleside Drunken Duck
Drunken Duck Ambleside
The Drunken Duck Inn Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing