We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and efficient. Parking get there first. Great central location.”
Review of The Churchill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Churchill Inn
Ranked #79 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Ideal central location. Rooms clean well serviced. Breakfast good.Bar meal very average. Car park - find another if you can.
Price about average for the area ring for off peak late prices to see if cheaper than online. I would go again. Friday and Saturday nights loud music until midnight.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1H1H1H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
There are newer reviews for The Churchill Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 329 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just came back from a 2 day new year break to this hotel, overall was very pleased with the accommodation and the friendliness of the staff. We stayed in room 43 which was on the top floor, bit of a hike to get there but the room itself was a good size with a good size ensuite. From a negative point of view we did not have a shower but a bath, there was a hose to wash your hair with but nowhere to hang it on the wall, our friends stayed in room 41 which had a shower but no bath. Breakfast was excellent, well cooked and plenty. The pub itself serves excellent food at a reasonable price and the people who frequent the pub all seem to be decent people. Cant understand the negative reviews on this property, it was really pleasant as were the staff. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms will mean you do not hear any noise from the bar.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimStocktonontees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Second trip here just as good as the first, although the rooms have undergone refurb since our last trip
Greeted by friendly bar staff (Yes its a bar dont expect a dedicated receptionist)
Stayed in room 21 which is a good sized room with an excellent bathroom with powerful shower
Conveniently it has no neighbouring rooms so no noise from next door!
The only slight issue was that the TV didnt work but we were immediatley offered a different room
Churchills is in a central location and handy for Ambleside as a whole
they also sometimes have deals on....so ask!
Lively bar with music and sports on large TVs and a good beer selection (Kingstone press cider yum)
High standard of cleanliness and service

Room Tip: Room 21 on its own no neighbours and away from the bar
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rainyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went past Churchills one night and noticed the 'breakfast bar' advertised. Went the next day for breakfast with the sign still outside, flyer on the door and breakfast menus on all the tables only to be told that they "weren't doing breakfast today" - We have been for a drink a few times before and the place always seems to smell of disinfectant and the service and beer are poor. This incident means that this was our last ever visit

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank BradfordLadBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

How this venue has a four star rating is beyond comprehension. The website does not in any way portray the type of place it is which is a very lively pub!! Whilst our room was pleasantly furnished and clean other than the filth under the radiator grill and the carpet that hadn't been hoovered properly, the bed was uncomfortable, the curtains were for show only and did not draw across the window,only a blind which did not obliterate the light, the noise from the road due to the windows not being double glazed was appalling, particularly eary in the morning. From the bathrom you could hear everthing that was happening inn the bathroom next door. You had to run the showe for five minutes before it reached an adequate temperature, and the step into the shower was ridiculously high. Nowhere to put shampoo ec. within the shower area and as he towel rail was at the other end of the bathroom this caused a problem. The room was serviced whilst we were at breakfast - wash basin not cleaned and bath mat not replaced. Breakfast was reasonably good although not particularly friendly staff. Also, highly object to being served tea with chipped cups and teapots. The first night we had a meal in the bar -not to be repeated. Not even up to the standard of 'pub food' I have eaten in the past.Having to ask for a hairdryer at reception I consider to be unacceptable. The stairs could well be a problem for some people which proved to be the case for an elderly couple who were there at the same time as us. Parking - well what can I say. The website indicated that parking was available and that there was no need to book a place so we took that at face value. The first night we managed to park, although the access is appalling and so narrow we has to fold in our wing mirrors. The second night we couldn't park and had to leave our car on the street about five minutes walk away about which we were nt happy. We would definitely not return or reccomend here, and are quite concerned at the way in which this accommodation is perceived from the information given on the website.

Room Tip: If staying here ask for a room away from the front of the premises as it overlooks the main street a...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Nice hotel centrally located, however the car park was very scary! The lane into it was very narrow we drive a Honda Jazz and it terrified us I dread to think how anyone with a bigger car managed! The room was clean and had everything we would need however on occasion there was a smell of urine which wasn't nice. The breakfast was adequate and Montys Bar downstairs was very good! All the staff (James in particular) were very welcoming and happy to help!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

On 12th September we booked a superior double room at Churchills for 2 nights from 6th October. On 15th September I e mailed Churchills to enquire if they had a room with a bath available. I received a reply on the same day stating the following "At the moment we carn't fulfil your request as they have been taken, but if one becomes available you will be moved to a room with a bath . we look forward to your arrival regards churchills."
Two days before our trip a couple of friends decided to accompany us and also booked a superior double room. When we arrived we found that we had a small room on the top floor and they had a large room, with a bath, on the floor below. When questioned the receptionist could not offer an explanation except for "did you book with Booking.com" How ridiculous!!!
Not only was the room small... the en-suite was tiny. The sink was fit only for a cloakroom. It was that small we had to fill cups of water to pour into the kettle because the kettle was almost as big as the sink!!!!

Room Tip: Before confirming booking decide what is important, i.e. lower floor (no lift), larger room (superio...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haldensnin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#12 of 12 in Ambleside
328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#10 of 103 in Ambleside
631 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wanslea Guesthouse
Wanslea Guesthouse
#20 of 103 in Ambleside
440 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Cambridge Villas
3 Cambridge Villas
#60 of 103 in Ambleside
115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambleside Central
Ambleside Central
#102 of 103 in Ambleside
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Churchill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Inn

Address: 33 Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: $93 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Churchill Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Churchill's accommodation consists of 16 double rooms, all recently refurbished to a high standard and many with wonderful, scenic views of the local fells. We welcome all visitors equally, however, we do not accept bookings from Hen or Stag parties. All of our rooms have the following facilities to help make your stay as comfortable as possible: En-Suite Bathroom Tea/Coffee Making Facilities LCD Television with multiple channels Free Wi-Fi. PARKING IN AMBLESIDE OR ANY TOWN CENTRE IS OF A PREMIUM , AND THE CHURCHILL INN IS UNIQUE IN THAT REGARDS BY HAVING ITS OWN CAR PARK, THE ENTRANCE IS QUIET NARROW BUT ACCESSIBLE , IF YOU WOULD PREFER TO PARK OFF SITE THERE ARE NUMEROUS CAR PARKS WITHIN A FIVE MINUTE WALK FROM THE INN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Churchill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Churchill Inn Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing