We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A brill cafe with no tourist prices!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bilbo's Cafe

Bilbo's Cafe
Ranked #48 of 116 Restaurants in Ambleside
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout
Morecambe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A brill cafe with no tourist prices!!!!!”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I always come to bilbo`s when visiting ambleside, I think it`s the best cafe in the lake district.
The staff are chatty and friendly, a nice family atmosphere, my son likes to play on the computer there and its free! it`s good to see a buisness getting it right where family`s are concerned with a fantastic play area. We always have a fry up here it`s the best around!! Well done bilbo`s. x

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judycheeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    53
    19
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A proper cafe in Ambleside - a rarity now!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great food, service spot on and friendly, good atmosphere. The food arrived quickly, lots of banter and chat with other customers. Oh and Dale the bear liked it too. The only thing I'd like to improve on here is the strength of the coffee. Maybe an espresso machine?

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Caff”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I've always steered away from the 'Costa's & other chain foord emporiums and well I guess "Old hobbits die hard".
The worlds a better place for places like this. really great food, nice ambience, really chilled out & dog friendly. Me & wor lass both had the food from the specials menu, give it a go.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MacFarlane666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Bilbo's review”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Called at Bilbo's recently for a full english brekkie as our usual cafe was closed. The food was reasonable, we were disappointed to find that they had run out of sausages, but were told this would be replaced by extra bacon. The bacon was very salty, the mushrooms were only just cooked, and the hash brown was really greasy. The pint mug of tea was good though!

The staff were friendly, and the cafe had a nice cosy feel, although the tables weren't cleaned whilst we were there, and our table needed a good wipe down.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mollymaid1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Langdale, United Kingdom
1 review
“the BEST cafe ever”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The best cafe ever !!We came in after a long day climbing, we were etreamly satisfied with the surice after a few minets we came out of our hunger crises and happly chatting away to the staff that are all extreamly fredly (and dont bite) !!! thank allot billbose :D ps sorry for the spelling

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank will b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bilbo's Cafe also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Bilbo's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing