We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sub-standard cottage in an amazing setting”
Review of Pullwood Bay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pullwood Bay
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sub-standard cottage in an amazing setting”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We've just returned from a week's stay at Deer Corner in the Pullwood Estate. The Estate itself is absolutely stunning, no-one can dispute that. However, the accommodation itself was very disappointing. My husband and I have stayed in numerous holiday cottages over the years, which have been marketed at the same high standard. All of which have pretty much always met our expectations. Now our expectations for this cottage were pretty high, because of the way it was marketed. The pictures of the cottage made you feel like you would be positioned closer to the Lake itself, when in actual fact, you were half a mile away.

We would describe the cottage as 'shabby' in places, wonky light fittings, a shower that was knackered (for want of a better phrase). There was a TV remote with no backing so the batteries kept falling out, storage heating that could not be turned down (in one of the hottest weeks of the year). Sleepless nights abound.

This is not to mention the lack of home comforts and 'finish'. There were no cushions on sofas, not much in the way of pictures around, particularly downstairs, to make it feel remotely homely. The kitchen floor was shabby and the carpets were well soiled in places with marks on the decor up the stairs.

There was no washing machine in the cottage (laundry facilities on site) but that was very inconvenient. All cottages we've stayed at previously of supposedly the same standard had this facility. Same goes for wi-fi (available in reception half a mile away but not in the cottage). Yes, in hindsight, these are both things I will look out for in future.

There was also a registration form that we needed to fill in on arrival asking for £100 housekeeping deposit which we found pretty disgusting since you should be informed of all costs up front when you are booking your holiday.

There are a number of things I have mentioned here that we could have possibly got fixed during our stay. But we were on holiday, we weren't acting as project managers for the Estate maintenance staff!

We also found two chunks of what looked like chorizo sausage (albeit hairy) under one of the sofas, so it was clear that the place hadn't been thoroughly cleaned during changeovers. Oh and the staff also expect you to remove your own bedding at the end of the holiday, ready for washing, which again, we've never had to do before.

Despite all of the above, we enjoyed our stay in this wonderful part of the world. Perhaps if the Estate just spend a few hundred pounds on improving the finish in Deer cottage then we wouldn't have had any cause for disappointment).

Room Tip: Look to book accommodation with a Lake view...it is certainly a view to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eeebyeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullwoodBay, Manager at Pullwood Bay, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Pullwood Bay.

May I just address some of the points that you have made.

Our website clearly states that our cottges are located in woodland and are located half a mile from the lake.
Again the fact that there are coin operated washing facilities is stated on our website as well as the fact that wifi is only available in the main house.

I feel that the cost of Deer Corner does reflect these issues. I would be interested to know the cost of the cottages that you have stayed in that have included wifi etc.

The registration form that you are asked to complete on arrival is standard practice for all self catering accomodation that I know of. Point five on the form states that the £100 good housekeeping deposit will be held against your card details and only used if there is a problem with the property after you have left, and that no charges will be made without your knowledge.
You are not asked to pay £100 on your arrival.

I am wondering as you have raised this point if you booked the property directly with us or through Lake Lovers, as I know that they do not point out the housekeeping deposit in their information. But we certainly do not charge you anything unless there is a problem, we use the registration form to make you aware of the procedure.

Pullwood Bay does not expect you to remove bedding, this is information that you recieved from Lake Lovers. They send this information to everyone who books a property through them. Lake Lovers are agents for hundreds of self catering cottages in the lake District and this is standard practice for them to inform their guests to strip bedding on departure.
The staff of Pullwood Bay do not expect you to do this it is not in any of our literature that we do.

You are able to turn the stoarge heaters off completely, but not turn them down. The temperatures in the Lakes were high enough I feel for the staorage heaters to be turned off completley and we would have explained this to you and also replaced the tv remote control.
We could also have looked at the shower for you and the lights. as far as I
am aware you did not report any of these issues to the office during your stay.

I apologise for the floor underneath the sofa not being cleaned properly and I will speak to housekeeping regarding this.

As you point out the lake view properties are exceptional with fantastic views.
A lake view property, all of which are five star gold standard, for a week in May costs on average around £1000 whereas Deer Corner cottage is £525.

Standards of cleanliness should be the same in our cottages as in our lakeside apartments, and for this I again apologise.

I wish that you had raised these issues with me personally during your stay and I would have been more than happy to address them for you,

Lisa Thomson
Pullwood Bay Estate Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    8
    5
    1
    7
See reviews for
51
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Stayed with my partner and a group of friends at the end of March. We have stayed a number of times and each time have been more than impressed. The apartments (we stayed in Great Gables, Loughrigg and Blencathra this time) are stunning. Spacious, modern and equipped to a very high standard. The lake views are amazing and the jetty and grounds are beautiful. Coming for a long weekend from London, Pullwood has always proved to be a perfect place to relax and feel totally spoilt.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nixp73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Visited Pullwood Bay with my other half's family this past weekend, our second trip here in as many years. We stayed in the same apartment as last time, (Wetherlam I think...the six sleeper on the corner, ground floor).

This place is amazing, if you can't enjoy yourself here then there's no hope for you! The aprtments really are five star, as are the views from the windows. It's picture postcard, exactly what you'd want from this kind of break.

Not much for kids in terms of specific activities, but the littlest member of our party, (she's only one!) loved the jetty and feeding the ducks and just being outside in the fresh air.

Yes it's a bit on the pricey side but good value once you're there and experiencing it. You'll leave realaxed and refreshed, so if you're on the fence about booking, don't be. Get yourself there, you'll not be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Les1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

This place is simply fantastic! We have stayed here a number of times and this place just gets better.

The manager (Lisa) and her staff are the best you will find anywhere. Nothing is too much trouble and their help and advice is second to none.

The luxury apartments are of an extremely high standard and they even leave you milk and the every day equipment you have at home e.g. kitchen roll, bacofoil, cling film, toilet rolls, tea towels etc. I know these items may seem trivial, but you don't always remember to pack them and you are lost without them.

The Drunken Duck is a good 30 minute walk from Pullwood, but well worth the climb and all down hill after the lovely meal. Very friendly pub. Don't forget the Barbours - only joking. They welcome you whatever your dress.

We hired bikes, went swimming to the Langdale (you need to reserve a pass - only £15 for the week) and walked to various places. Ambleside is around an hours walk and lots of lovely coffee/tea rooms to enjoy.

Thanks to Lisa and her fantastic team at pullwood bay - we will be back!

Room Tip: They are all fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmzyAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroomed apartment which is part of the "big house" on the estate. The kitchen and lounge are open planned, large and very well equipped. Bedrooms were spacious, the master having an en suite. The views are just stunning, every window an absolute treat. Huge thanks to Lisa in the office who couldnt be more helpful. We will be back in the summer.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jayduvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We had booked, paid in full, and received confirmation of booking for one of the cottages on the Pullwood Bay estate. However, five days after booking we've been told our booking is invalid as the cottage was double-booked - we're now in the position of having to find another cottage for our holiday in just 6 weeks time. We booked via Lakelovers who had been updated of availability by Pullwoods only to find that Pullwoods had taken a 'reservation' as well. Even though we had booked and paid upfront we were bumped in favour of the in-house reservation. It seems that Pullwoods needs to get it's act together to stop seriously inconveniencing potential guests both in terms of time and money (it will take 10-14 days to receive our refund). We're regular visitors to the Lakes (2-3 times per year) but I think it's fair to say we won't be booking with Pullwood Bay in the future. Nor have we received an apology from the company.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sosso3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullwoodBay, Manager at Pullwood Bay, responded to this review, January 28, 2012
I can only apologise on behalf of Pullwood Bay for any inconvenience.

I think, though, that there has been some misunderstanding as to the way our booking systen works.
Lake Lovers had been sent a fax from us informing them of our booking before they accepted a booking from yourself. It is Lake Lovers responsibility to make sure that all bookings recieved from us are updated immediately onto their system.
The way that we update our availability with them is to send a fax informing them that we have taken a booking on a property for a certain week, which was the case on this occasion, so I am unsure as to what you mean when you say that we had updated our availability with them saying that the property that you booked was available prior to your booking.
We did not take an additional booking for the property you had booked with them, our booking was taken with us ( and Lake Lovers informed of this), prior to them accepting your booking. This is why our booking was honoured.

I believe that Lake Lovers were informed to tell you that we could upgrade your stay to a larger property for the same cost, in an attempt to avoid any dissapointment. We did not have to do this, but it was a gesture of good will.

I do not accept that Pullwood Bay is at fault and our reservation and booking system is maintained excellently by our staff. This is the only problem of this type I have experienced in over four years. I have spoken to Lake Lovers regrding this to ensue that it does not happen again.

As far as refunding your payment, Lake Lovers will have processed and receieved your payment directly, not us. Lake Lovers act as a booking agent and take payments for bookings as they are made, we then receive this money from them in arrears every month. We do not receive immediate payment for individual bookings. It is therefore Lake Lovers responsibility to refund your money. The timescale that it takes for you to receive your refund is purely down to them. Therefore , I feel that it is unfair of you to imply that Pullwood Bay are at fault or are in some way holding onto your money, this is quite simply not the case.

We at Pullwood have not recieved any contact information from Lake Lovers that would enable us to get in touch with you in regards to an apology. I still do not feel that the inconvienience that you have suffered is the fault of Pullwood Bay, but apologise none the less.

I wish that if you had felt as strongly about this issue as to post your comments on Trip Advisor, that you would have taken the time to telephone Pullwood Bay directly, where I would have been happy to explain the situation fully to you, giving us an opportunity to resolve it.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level Contributor
158 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

One of the best holidays I've been on, we stayed in Deer Corner in March 2011. Deer Corner is near the entrance but there was no road noise from the main road. Ideal for going out for a walk. The grounds itself was absolutely stunning that you could just take a lovely walk or site by the lake for a relaxing evening. Access to the leisure facilities and spa near by for a very little amount was an added bonus. The log fire was also a very welcome extra. Will definitely look into going every year!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adaajoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
2.8 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
2.6 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
5.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullwood Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullwood Bay

Property: Pullwood Bay
Address: Pull Woods, Ambleside LA22 0HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pullwood Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullwood Bay ... superb self-catering accommodation to suit everyone, whether you are looking for a fabulous lakeside family hideaway, luxury 5-star lakeside apartments , or picturesque woodland cottages. Once you have experienced the delights that we have to offer, you will want to return again and again. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pullwood Bay Hotel Ambleside
Pullwood Bay Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing