We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from Home”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Johnbork
Tweed Heads, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This delightful cottage was most welcoming with well thought inclusions. It was very comfortably furnished and ideal for self catering. It was very well located just a few minutes walk from the centre of the charming village.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trand55
Dalgety Bay, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice homely cottage, shame about the bed.”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We found the cottage to be a comfortable size, warm, clean and nicely decorated with a nice 'feel' about the place. Very useful off street parking space, plenty of storage space and bathroom is a good size. Downside is first no towels supplied which we couldn't understand, seems like a strange austerity move by the owner. Second, you have to get used to the traffic noise right outside the bedroom window. Third, we found the bed to be hard, with noisy springs on one side and overall past it's best. Really hope the owner takes a look at this and invests in a new, more comfortable model.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marph
Liverpool, England
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice cosy cottage”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We booked the cottage for Xmas week, having been before we knew the lay out inside and where it was regards shops, pubs, restaurants. It is a comfy cosy warm place and we spent a nice week there, we were inside more than planned due to wet weather and able to enjoy the TV and the radio and warmth. The bathroom has a lovely big shower and a deep bath. One minus side was the traffic noise as on main road but one does get use to it.
Ambleside is a good base for walks, busses, car trips with a good variety of pubs, restaurants, shops, Picture houses etcs

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm and cosy
Liked least: traffic noise
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murjen
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“hoping improvements done with furnishings”
Reviewed July 22, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Above was given a 4 1/2 star hence our booking. The parking and proximity to the town etc are wonderful ,the decor is fine but the furnishings were not up to the standard of the 14 other selfcatering we have used but the bones are there for improvement greatly.In todays modern society with phones,readers and netbooks,ipads etc found this was only place we stayed at didnt have wifi on tap but top marks to the owner she did let us into her site. Also no towels???How many people carry towels on holiday.Never came across no towels before but top marks to the owner-she did lend us a couple.A bit reluctant to recommend till we know furnishings have been upgraded and more comfortable and cleaner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The site
Liked least: bed/couch/dirty cushions,stale smell,dirty tiles in kitchen
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Reviewed January 11, 2012 for a stay in November 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tcgGlasgo...
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellant - well recommended”
Reviewed June 10, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

We stayed at Two Tweenways in June 2011. This is a very nice, we equipped little cottage that makes and ideal base to explore Ambleside and Lake Windemere. There is nothing this cottage lacks, it has a huge bathroom with a separate bath and power shower (ideal after a long walk). The Kitchen is very well equiped and even had brandy glasses (you cant even get them in some Pubs!). If there is one downside, it is situated on a busy road (like most hotels/cottages in the lakes) but after a while you get used to the noise of the traffice.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range I prefer not to answer
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewed December 3, 2009 for a stay in August 2009

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: It's character and location
Liked least: Nothing really
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing