We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Butty Shop” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Apple Pie

The Apple Pie
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: Soups, Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are independent craft bakers with a cafe and rooms. Established in 1975 we are a family business situated in the heart of Ambleside serving hearty breakfasts, delicious espresso based coffees, wholesome lunches and indulgent afternoon teas as well as all the esentials for a packed lunch on the fells or by the lake. Everything baked on site daily. We use locally sourced ingredients where possible - local butcher & milkman and free range eggs as well as flour from a Cumbrian miller and tea from Farrers in Kendal. Our best sellers are Apple Pie (spiced or plain) and bath buns.'Baking at its best in Lakeland'
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Butty Shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is a great little find. Sandwiches in little box cartons so pack brilliantly in pack for walkers.
Friendly staff, great choice, we only used the takeaway option. Lovely cakes too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kyla157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleamble, Owner at The Apple Pie, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for your great review! Yes our filled rolls do get about on the fells and hopefully remain relatively edible when they emerge from the rucksack. Glad you enjoyed yours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    873
    544
    153
    65
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Didcot, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Takeaway bath buns and hot x buns...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Divine. Just divine. So good that we took a detour on the way home to stock up on both. These will now be another export to head south with us after our annual trip, along with grasmere gingerbread.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrsPreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleamble, Owner at The Apple Pie, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Wow!! Thank you for your review - what an accolade - worth a detour!! We are particularly proud of our hot X buns so its good to have them recognised!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous HUGE eclairs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Lovely cafe with very good choice of cakes & light bites! We always have to wait for a seat but it's well worth it! Nice staff, clean, bustling atmosphere, nothing more to say except we will be back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thefunkys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleamble, Owner at The Apple Pie, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you thank you for your lovely words. We can't wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

We called here on a rainy Saturday and we were very impressed.

Despite a long queue (always a good sign!) we were soon seated as Martin was an excellent waiter/manager(?) - he was constantly scouring for empty tables, clearing tables, waiting on - just about everything really! and asking along the queue how many the table was for so that he could seat people quickly. We had to sit upstairs and although it was a bit cramped the food made up for it. Homemade leek and potato soup was just that, thick and very tasty. Ross brought our food and told us that he was a chef there really but because they were so busy he had been called in to help out in the café. It was a very efficient operation but at no time were we made to feel that we had to hurry to vacate our table.

When we left there was still a long queue and the takeaway looked busy too. We will certainly visit again when, hopefully, the weather is better and we can maybe eat outside on the patio.

I wouldn't say that it was cheap, but where is these days? As long as it is good quality I am prepared to pay and this most certainly was.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnneChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleamble, Owner at The Apple Pie, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thanks you for your fabulous review! So pleased you enjoyed your visit. Martin and Ross will bedelighted to get a special mention in dispatches.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Husband is addicted!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Hi, I think my husband might be addicted, he just loves the food, my little boy well he loves the huge fluffy white rolls dipped in sauce. I always enjoy a wee salad or a soup too. Thanks, it is now a tradition when we visit that we stop by......breakfast being our absolute favourite!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleamble, Owner at The Apple Pie, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Ha ha that's a first 'Apple Pie addiction! - we can do mail order if your husband is in need of a fix - but I'm not sure we could manage breakfast!! Thanks for taking time to write such a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Apple Pie also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to The Apple Pie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing