We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best way to recharge your soul!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Full Circle Lake District Luxury Yurts
Cumbria UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The best way to recharge your soul!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We only live an hour away from Ambleside but we could have been anywhere. This site is brilliant for cutting yourself off from the stresses of modern life and really getting back to nature.

We were in yurt 3 - which was the furthest & highest up, which had its merits & its drawbacks but was overall amazing. Its really difficult to get over how unbelievably cosy these things are. On our last day/night the weather was torrential & the wind was howling but we still had the doors open so we cold sit and watch it all from the comfort of the yurt. The rain sounds amazing on the roof when you're tucked up in bed.

Ben was a very friendly host and knows the area really well so if you're after good places to walk to & stuff to do then he can help you out no probs.

I wont witter on too much because I imagine that experiencing living in a yurt is different for everyone, but I will say that we cant wait to go back. Even planning a middle of winter trip to really get the benefit of the cosiness.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper take an eye mask & earplugs coz once its daylight there's no w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KelCumbriaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    9
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had a three night break in Yurt number 2 spoilt by mice crawling inside the Yurt roof and wall insulation all night. We noticed one inside the Yurt on each occasion, running around for hours. One even ate a hole in our rucksack at 2am on the seconf night. We caught one and threw it out half-way down the hill only for it to be back inside within 30 minutes.

I'm sorry, but I wouldn't accept mice inside my *tent*, never mind paying hundreds of pounds for a fixed building only to have mice inside the room. This *will* spoil some peoples holiday break if the Yurts are not better maintained to a standard that keeps mice out in the field.

When we told the owner of the problem we were told that it's "to be expected" on this type of holiday. I'm sorry, it's not "to be expected" with a fixed building that should be better maintained to keep animals out. I'd have been happier in a much cheaper tent than paying hundreds of pounds only to have animals scampering around in the middle of the night chewing holes in our luggage and running around the walls and roof space.

We were told on the website FAQ that there were sonic repellents "in and around the Yurts", which turned out to be false. They are not used now as they were deemed not to work. In that case then, the Yurts need overhauling to ensure better physical protection for the occupants. With modern materials and sealants there can be no excuse for allowing mice into a fixed building.

I defy anyone to have a good nights sleep with mice scratching around in the roof and wall insulation all night and running around inside the room. This needs looking at if the owner considers the high price he charges to be worthwhile. It'll be a tent next time I stay at Rydal, and I shall not recommend the Yurts to anyone I know due to this specific issue.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Martin_C123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bareroots, Owner at Full Circle Lake District Luxury Yurts, responded to this review, July 14, 2015
The yurts are located in a meadow. Usually guests are not bothered by mice. Occaisionally when guests leave food and reffuge out and not in the mouse proof containers they are attracted in. Particularly in autumn when these guests stayed and the mice are looking for warm winter nest site.

The yurts are cleaned and maintained to high standard. Guests need accept they are coming to the country to stay in a tent. It is a warm cosy and beautifully appointed tent but a tent none the less and you have a responsibilty for leaving food out despite being instructed not to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornhollio_21
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Yurt but we were pre-warned about this on website.
Great view from Yurt - VERY spacious inside - comfortable.
Woodburning stove kept us warm at night.
Double bed was very comfortable.
Can cook on gas inside yurt !!
Bit of a trek to toilet/showers but facilities were very good and you can charge phones in the block too :-)
Pub down the road too !!
HIGHLY RECOMMEND - will be back . . .

Room Tip: Honeymoon yurt is at top of field - furthest from toilet and car part (good view though)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cornhollio_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findhorn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Just back from a family trip, three nights, first time in a Yurt. We are seasoned campers (usually fairly basic camping style), at this really did feel like luxury to us!! The weather was very very hot so the Yurt did get extremely warm during the day and took a while to cool down, but it did cool eventually.

Yurt well kitted out: Double bed, single bed, pull-out bed, bookshelf with books and games, couple of arm chairs, big mirror, cooking area with two gas-burning rings, washing up stuff etc, really big cool box (blocks available to borrow but availability depends on how reasonable other campers are - some are not!!). Lots of rugs and cushions add to comfort.

Outside there is a picnic bench and a decking area with a wood burner on it - we cooked on this all weekend BBQ style as was way too hot to use wood burning stove inside. Also kept midges at bay and kicked out decent heat too. Way better than a poncy chimenia!!

Ben is very helpful - points out places worth visiting (in our case as it was so hot, areas for a spot of wild swimming).

The four Yurts in the grounds are really well spaced out, interspersed with camping areas, but again, you are not on top of each other. Water taps are distributed around and not far from each area.

You do need to be aware it's quite a hike up and down to the toilet block - all very doable, but you do know about it!!

We managed to park our car on the Friday and not move it again until we left on the Monday, what with walking straight from the door, either low level, or high level routes up into Helvellyn, tea shop on site, Rydal Hall itself etc.

We would absolutely return here again - I'd love to try a Yurt in the autumn/winter. Equally would happily camp here too. It is such a relaxing place and the kids were happy running around exploring on their own.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden of England
Level Contributor
114 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We spent a very enjoyable 4 nights here despite not normally being part of the camping fraternity.

For me this camp site is everything you would want from a back to nature camping experience without the downsides you may normally expect.

The yurts are:
Spacious - You can easily stand up and walk around sinde
Warm - The log burner easily gives out enough heat to keep the yurt toasty all night long
Well equipped - there is a proper bed, comfy chair & small 2 hob stove
Clean - dont worry about it being an unpleasant place to go into.

The toilet block is even very nice & sparkly new with lovely facilities to wash yourself & also your crockery

And best of all the campsite is very well spaced out so that you can not hear another person from inside your yurt and the view you look out on is just of trees & lakes rather than other peoples tents. This is often a concern I have of camping in that yes you may be in the countryside but actually your near view is full of other tents & cars. This is not the case at all here and is definitely all the better for it.
You even get to walk around the grounds of Rydal Hall every day and enjoy the beautiful gardens, bluebell woods & river.
Make sure you go and see the 400yr old chestnut tree - its trunk is massive!

You can even get your freezer packs re-frozen each day in the main house and keep your things cool in the cool box which is provided.

So basically pretty much everything you would except from a self-catering cottage in a yurt. In fact the whole experience is just like self-catering but out in the wild - which is a great combination in my mind.

Just a few things you should be aware of:
The toilet block isnt that near the yurt - maybe 150m ish - so if its raining you could get wet going there & back!
The candle light provided isnt much to read things by so bring your own torch if you want to do things once it gets dark
The log burner will make it very warm inside with the doors closed so be careful when you use it for cooking!

Overall though it was a fantastic place to stay and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fell-O_TravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We arrived without having booked, and our host succeded in providing us a very nice place with a great smile despite the campsite was full.
Our host was a really nice, nice person (amaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaazing!) and we thank her very much for welcoming us. she incated us what to do to discover the area and what wonderfull to visit.
La camping était vraiment super et les sanitaires étaient très propres et chauds, malgré la température extérieure.
Le cadre est magnifique avec moutons et sa cascade. So a wonderfull place !!!
4 french people from Paris visiting with their "Sacs à dos".

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eng2605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was my second visit to the Yurts, my previous visit was in Nov 2012 with friends.
The yurts are a magical place I don't have anything negative to stay about the trip.

I used the toilet block this time; it was always clean and warm and its a good spot to do the washing up. Only bumped into one of the other yurt guests the whole weekend, It was quiet and peaceful.

We spent a lot of time just relaxing in the yurt. It was pretty cold out but the yurt was sooooo hot. We baked bread in the oven of the log burner. We spent a lot of time playing backgammon and cards. The yurts have a book shelf with random books and games and jigsaws. We cooked in the yurts for breakfast and tea each day.

The site is great, each yurt has 2 crates of wood round the back and is stacked with kindling underneath. The yurts are spread out and there are some lovely old trees around.

We walked to rydal cave, round rydal water and grasmere which was lovely (alltho the walk round grasmere involves the road a lot)

Take a gas lantern for a nicer light than the white light that the solar power lights give off.

On the sunday it was windy and snowing and very cold outside but in the yurt we were still so warm the log burner is great and it never stopped from friday eve till we left on sunday eve.

I can't even think of any suggestions. Ben really has covered everything. In some ways it would be nice to visit in the summer but i think during the cold winter days you really can make the most of the log burner and relaxing without the stress of the outside world.

If your thinking of going, definitely do it. You will have an awesome time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
1.6 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
5.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
7.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Full Circle Lake District Luxury Yurts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Full Circle Lake District Luxury Yurts

Property: Full Circle Lake District Luxury Yurts
Address: The Hermitage | Rydal, Ambleside LA22 9LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A yurt is a nomadic dwelling with a wooden frame,felt, canvas, raised wooden floors and a wood burning stove. Ours are situated at the top of a camping field in the luxurious grounds of the stately home Rydal Hall. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Full Circle Lake District Luxury Yurts Hotel Ambleside
Full Circle Lake District Luxury Yurts Ambleside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing