We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holme Lea Guest House
Ranked #97 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay...”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

we stayed at HL in Oct 2011, room was great, breakfast was smashing and Pam the landlady happily made us a flask to keep us warm out on the fells... Parking is a pain, but that's Ambleside for you, it's the same for most of the b&b's not just HL.
I would recommend this guest house for it's proximity to the town centre & the fells, and the friendly welcome....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
11
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed at Holme Lea in September 2011. Our room was absolutely beautiful and very large. It was spotlessly clean and appeared recently refurbished. The breakfast was good and the location was right in the centre of town close to everything. This B & B made our stay very enjoyable. The only issue could be the parking as there is only street parking available which appears to be the case for all the other B & B's in town. We had no problems getting a park. We would absolutely stay at Holme Lea again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Very clean and tidy, with an excellent breakfast and a friendly hostess. Very centrally and conveniently located in Ambleside, with plenty of nearby on-street parking. All in all, highly recommendable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Stayed here over a May weekend. The location simply could not be better - right in the heart of Ambleside and a few minutes from many restaurants, pubs and shops. The room we had was clean, although the cheap looking fake pine furniture did let it down. The breakfast was nice, but beware, if you're staying for more than one night you'll be served up whatever you ordered on your first morning for the rest of your stay! Main gripes were no parking, very very hard bed (hardly slept the first night) and completely flat pillows. Our hosts were pleasant enough, but for reasons including the very uncomfortable bed, I would not choose to stay here again. Ambleside however is a complete delight and there's no shortage of lovely places to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank superwrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolmeLea, Owner at Holme Lea Guest House, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to learn that some aspects of your stay did not live up to your expectations and would have been hapy to address your issues at the time of your stay had you told me and given me the opportunity to do so.

In reponse to your comments:
Firstly, we do not advertise as having parking. We clearly state that there is on street parking on the road outside, alternatively there is a pay & display car park around the corner.
2. I am very surprised that you consider our bedroom furniture to be fake pine. It is most definitely genuine pine and was purchased from Lakeland Pine.
3. Most of our beds have benefited from new mattresses over the past 18 months, so we are sorry that the bed did not suit you personally.
4. We offer a selection of cereals, yoghurts and juices followed by a full English breakfast. If you had wished to have an alternative to a full breakfast you only needed to ask and we would have been happy to oblige.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

I stayed here a while back while doing my first bout of walking in the Lake District. I travelled with a group of friends however they all stayed in an apartment down the road while i was in the B&B on my own.
Pam, the land lady, was very friendly, easy to talk to and extended a good level of hospitality to me. I found the room (the single room but with a big bed) to be very comfortable and very warm which is a big plus in the Lakes.. The B&B is well within walking distance to all things ambleside and is a nice spot to start various walks such as Lough Rigg.
The only down side to the B&B was that the single room does not have a bathroom ATTACHED. You have to cross the landing for the toilet and shower room (no bath, but very clean) which can be a bit daunting when you're in your PJs and need a wee in the night - hoping noone is around.

All in all i would stay here again seeing the rates are good. I never tried the cooked breakfast because there was a nice range of cereals etc!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank imabadpixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.0 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#5 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
0.0 mi away
3 Cambridge Villas
3 Cambridge Villas
#60 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lacet House
Lacet House
#40 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Lakes B and B
The Lakes B and B
#2 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Norwood House
Norwood House
#45 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park House Guest House
Park House Guest House
#61 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holme Lea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holme Lea Guest House

Property: Holme Lea Guest House
Address: Church Street, Ambleside LA22 0BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holme Lea Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional guest house, in the centre of Ambleside. Comfortable, en-suite, double, single and family rooms available. Non smoking. Perfect base for a break in the Lake District. Whether you wish to enjoy a sightseeing visit, a walking holiday or a relaxing break, Holme Lea offers a friendly and welcoming atmosphere in which to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holme Lea Guest House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing