We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice pub shame about the food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Unicorn Inn

The Unicorn Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Unicorn Inn
Ranked #62 of 105 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“nice pub shame about the food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

lovely character pub with really friendly bar staff.if it weren't for the young girl that served us last tuesday evening this review would be worse. could be so much better if the food on offer wasn't such a lazy cop out. £15 for frozen chips, tinned veg and a tasteless steak with some horrible boil in the bag pepper sauce thrown over the top is not on when other pubs can manage freshly cooked for half the price. Won't bother again!

Room Tip: didn't stay there just went in for a meal
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davemanchester1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    34
    16
    8
    8
See reviews for
12
62
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Wide range of beers, seemed reasonably priced to my southerner's eyes. Not kept to perfection, though drinkable. Really friendly atmosphere, though that is down to the locals rather than the bar staff. Pretty much everybody here has a dog, so I would not recommend if you are allergic or phobic, but it adds to the atmosphere for everybody else.

Food is rather unexciting pub grub. Large portions but frozen veg etc. Good for building up calories for a long walk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank collideorscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
168 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Nice pub with plenty of room compared to some in the Lakes. The ales are pretty much standard for the Lakes Robinsons & Jennings no smaller breweries. Hit and miss on the quality of the pulled ale pints, the lager was £5.50 for a pint an half of cheap Carling or Carlsberg I forget which I thought expensive.

We didn't eat here but I still want one of them Jumbo mixed grills, the food did look nice if not limited menu.

We were attracted to the place on a Saturday for the live music left by some of the reviews, not really our thing as we thought it might have been more towards folk music so popped to the Rule for a quite one.

We noticed it isn't open during the day through the week, we tried to pop in post fell walking. Overall pretty much an average Lakeland pub.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Duderoo1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds. Suffolk. England
Level Contributor
435 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is how a pub should be. Full of happy walkers n dogs.
It has a really good feel to it,,with a mix of people. The beer is fab, we have stopped in here several times on our way down from the cottage, we sort of get drawn in. Cosy atmosphere, staff are friendly, serving good pub grub.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YogaGirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great place on the edge of town - avoid the crowds but a easy walk or short drive up the struggle to the "real lake district"
Nice room
great service
good companny
Great food & accommodation
Great beer
Great night !
Would recommend to everyone as the real taste of the lake district

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Unicorn delivers what is expected from an old traditional English pub. It gets our repeated custom while staying in Ambleside because of the good beers, wine and food and our dogs are always welcome.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank djw1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I had a meal in the bar a couple of nights ago. We asked if we could bring our dog into the bar, which was not a problem at all. Infact one of the bar staff asked if our dog wanted some water and brought a bowl over for her.
We both had the steak and ale pie which was beautiful and very filling, the steak was very tender.
This is a lovely cosy place to visit for a drink and good food. We will definately return when we visit Ambleside again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#12 of 12 in Ambleside
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.2 mi away
3 Cambridge Villas
3 Cambridge Villas
#60 of 105 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#43 of 105 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#16 of 105 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
0.2 mi away
Melrose Guesthouse
Melrose Guesthouse
#9 of 105 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Unicorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn Inn

Property: The Unicorn Inn
Address: North Road, Ambleside LA22 9DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Unicorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Unicorn Hotel Ambleside
The Unicorn Inn Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing