We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Thorneyfield

Thorneyfield
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thorneyfield
Ranked #59 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We visited Thorneyfield for two nights mid July 2013.
There was a warm welcome from both Alison and Alan, we were shown to our spacious, very clean room at the back of the house overlooking a great view.
The breakfast was more than adequate and we were happy to oblige by filling in our breakfast requests the evening before.
Both Alan and Alison were friendly and approachable and had a good knowledge of their surroundings.
We will definitely be making a return visit!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    36
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
25
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stopped at Thorneyfield in a group of 9, using 5 rooms.
The rooms were of various sizes, configurations and levels of decoration.
We stayed in room 5 on the top floor which was a small double room with a very small en suite but was the best decorated of the rooms.
Despite facing the main road we had no problems with traffic noise.
A comfy bed, LCD TV and DVD library added to the experience but the highlight was the very high quality breakfast with both comprehensive continental and full English options.
Parking was free with use of a parking permit.
There is a lot of competition for B&Bs in Ambleside but we would definitely stay here again if we could get the same room.

Room Tip: We thought room 5 on the top floor was best for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisGUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COVENTRY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We arrived a bit early but alison was understanding, the room wasnt cleaned but she showed us where we would be staying and gave us a car parking pass, we didn't have any of our things with us so went and got everything. By the time we got there again the room was done. The rooms were tidy and clean with plenty of space! The en-suite is small but not needed any bigger for the stay.
If you do stay in the front rooms it can be a bit noisy.
The breakfasts were excellent value and alison is flexible with what you want. On the form you can opt for a full English or continental breakfast, if you put the full English you can still help your self to the continental option in the morning-my boyfriend took advantage of this!!
Alison was helpful if you needed anything.
Definitely go back again and recommend!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki_1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed here with a group of friends following a walk up Scafell Pike. Upon arrival we were given a parking permit so that we could park round the back of the B&B for free. The rooms were well sized, although the bathrooms were on the small side (not that it's particularly important the size of the bathroom!)

The beds were comfortable and the breakfast the next morning was excellent. When you get into your room then you'll find a form with the options for breakfast the next day and any special requests are dealt with.

We had a great stay and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdg1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Booked this at the last minute for a business journey through to Scotland. Alison was really friendly, had a large family room, lovely and clean with a great view of the church and the fells. The room had wifi, freeview, fridge, tea coffee biscuits etc. The breakfast fruit selection was brilliant, cooked breakfast very tasty. All in all great value for a overnight or longer stay

Room Tip: The back rooms will have a view of the church and the fells
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly&Hannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Thorneyfield Guest House was a brilliant place to stay. Seven of us visited as a family and had a wonderful time. Nothing was too much trouble for Alison, and she made us feel extremely welcome. The rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were amazing: plenty of choice for the continental style, and generous portions of the usual fare for a full English. The photos do not do the place justice - it's even lovelier in the flesh!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linthwaite, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Had a short break with a view to doing some walking.
Very friendly and helpful hosts, couldn't do enough for you.
Rooms good, breakfast awesome and great location in middle of town.
Will definately come again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
3 Cambridge Villas
3 Cambridge Villas
#63 of 103 in Ambleside
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#48 of 103 in Ambleside
206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wanslea Guesthouse
Wanslea Guesthouse
#20 of 103 in Ambleside
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ambleside Central
Ambleside Central
#102 of 103 in Ambleside
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#11 of 103 in Ambleside
608 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lacet House
Lacet House
#40 of 103 in Ambleside
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorneyfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorneyfield

Property: Thorneyfield
Address: Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thorneyfield 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thorneyfield is a charming 4 star Victorian property set in the heart of Ambleside and the beautiful English Lake District and close to all of its many facilities. Thorneyfield sets a very high standard for its rooms, breakfasts and service. We also offer our guests free parking.Our aim is to give you a happy stay and our guests have said we "offer a warm comfortable welcoming stay... generous delicious breakfasts and an excellent experience." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thorneyfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorneyfield Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing