We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“we love this cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bagabeach...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“we love this cottage”
Reviewed October 30, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

we stayed for a week in october with our little dog we also stayed here in june,lovely cottage
handy for everything shops,pubs,walks,the cottage has everything you need the last review
said it was a bit smelly of dogs,but this is a dog friendly cottage so is excpected,as there is no
outside space,lovely bathroom big bath,kitchen is fab loved dishwasher,I would have liked
a bit more mood lighting in the livingroom ie another large lamp although there is plenty of
lighting I would haved liked cosy lighting but overall lovely cottage will be back again,

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Juniper Cottage, Ambleside.

We are delighted to learn you wish to return to Juniper Cottage!

Lakes Cottage Holidays are pleased you enjoyed the location of the cottage and used it as a base to explore the surrounding area.

We have passed on your comments regarding the lighting to the owner of the property to bring this to their attention.

Lakes Cottage Holidays look forward to welcome you back to Juniper Cottage in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen F
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable well-equipped cottage but smelling of dog!”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A well- equipped cottage ideally situated in Ambleside. It was handy for walking & for eating out & the parking space was a real benefit. The downside was that the downstairs room was very gloomy & unwelcoming & unfortunately smelt strongly of dog. The carpet & furniture need shampooing as the smell didn't go after spraying air-freshener. Also, there wasn't anywhere pleasant to sit outside to escape the doggy smell!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Downstairs room
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to inform Lakes Cottage Holidays of your feedback for your stay at Juniper Cottage.

We are pleased you found the cottage to be well- equipped for your stay and in an ideal location within Ambleside where you were able to take advantage of the near by restaurants and shops during your stay.

We are sorry that you found the property smelt of dogs. As Juniper Cottage is a dog friendly property this may be the cause. However, according to our records we were not contacted by yourselves where we could of tried to rectify this during your stay.

Lakes Cottage Holidays hope that the smell of dog did not detract you too much from your stay at Juniper Cottage and we hope to welcome you to another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicola201...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage”
Reviewed March 21, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What a great little find this was. This cottage is in the perfect location,right in the centre but far enough away from the noise of ambleside , the cottage itself has everything you would need, small little drying room for your soggy walking gear washing machine wifi and a perfectly stocked kitchen . The cottage has a large bedroom with different mood lighting and a good bathroom with large bath and overhead shower ,with the added benefit of on site parking and closeness to the bus stop this is a little gem of a cottage perfect for that walking weekend in the lakes

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 20, 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay at Juniper Cottage, Ambleside.

We are pleased you enjoyed the location of the property and you found the cottage to be well-equipped for your stay.

Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Juniper Cottage soon!

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmoor
Reviewed September 3, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding Juniper Cottage.

We are delighted that you had a lovely time at the property.

Thank you for notifying us of these issues. If we had been informed at the time we could have resolved any issues as soon as possible.

I have passed on your comments regarding the lighting, towels and bedding to our Windermere office who will check this on their next visit.

We hope to welcome you back to Juniper Cottage or any other of our properties with Lakes Cottage Holidays in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stockport
Reviewed August 19, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
scarborough
Reviewed July 25, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Knebworth
Reviewed June 21, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing