We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cosy cottage in great location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John W of...
1 review
“Nice cottage but”
Reviewed August 28, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The cottage was good and in a good location less than 5 minutes walk from the centre of Ambleside. However, after a day or so, the children and I noticed some bites on our legs. By the middle of the week we were getting lots and we realised the house was full of fleas. Not pleasant at all. As there was no alternative accommodation we stayed put and kept out of the cottage as much as possible. The company were very apologetic and gave some compensation and it clearly wasn't their fault and only slightly spoiled an otherwise great holiday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2016
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Heather Cottage, Ambleside. We were very sorry that your holiday was slightly spoiled by the discovery of fleas at the property. As it was the very busy school holiday period it was unfortunate that we had no other available property for you to move to. The fleas were swiftly eradicated from the property by a professional company on your departure. Despite this issue we are delighted that you had an otherwise great holiday and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna B
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage in great location”
Reviewed May 25, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

great cottage with everything you need plenty big enough for 2 adults and little ones but a tad small for 4 adults. Great having off street parking but was disappointed by no garden for the dog so had to walk the streets at 4am!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2015
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Heather Cottage.

We are pleased you found the cottage to be well equipped for your stay and benefited from the private car parking space for one car.

I am sorry to hear you were disappointed of the lack of garden at Heather Cottage. However, please be aware Lakes Cottage Holidays do not advertise there to be a garden at Heather Cottage.

We hope that you enjoyed your stay at Heather Cottage and hope to welcome you to another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCP1970
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Just got back from a week spent in this lovely cottage. We stayed in Juniper cottage 2 doors down last year and loved the cottage and location so booked Heather cottage as it's bigger and we brought our 2 teenage boys with us this year. They were in the smaller room with bunk beds but were very comfortable. Our double room was equally as nice. Good bathroom, nice shower and like having a heated towel rail. Nice homely touches of flowers and ornaments, sometimes holiday cottages can feel a bit bare. This one feels like a home. Downstairs is a tiny bit more cramped for 4, especially getting in round the table for meals, but perfectly manageable and the kitchen was well equipped. Particularly like just how much storage space there is; from the boot racks and space for rucksacks in the lobby area, to the large utility cupboard off the kitchen. We didn't end up with bags and kit being tripped over, it could all be put neatly away at the end of each day. A real bonus. Even the dog was comfy on the dog mat provided. We used the washer/drier a few times but then noticed a leak so stopped. Contacted the office and they dealt with it all brilliantly and were very helpful. Always feel it's not if there's a problem (after all nothing in life is perfect) but how that problem is dealt with that matters and we couldn't fault how it was dealt with. Parking right outside the door. Easy almost level access into town with a good variety of shops for general essentials. Loads of brilliant walks possible right from the door to suit most abilities and a reasonably short drive to higher fells. Nights were cold so we were grateful for the heaters. Instructions for EVERY appliance and gadget were in the handy folder so no problems getting anything to work. Handy notes on things too, like location of shower isolation switch etc. Recommend the crispy duck from the Chinese round the corner too. Nicest we've ever had. Overall a great week, even the weather behaved itself!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2014
Thank you for your review of Heather Cottage, Ambleside.

We are delighted to hear you have chosen to return to Ambleside for your holiday with your family and we are pleased to learn you found Heather Cottage homely and enjoyed the surrounding walks available.

Thank you for your comments regarding our staff members when you contacted us with a maintenance issue.

Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Heather Cottage or another Lakes Cottage Holidays property soon.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Reviewed April 10, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay at Heather Cottage, Ambleside.

We are pleased you enjoyed the location of the cottage, found it well equipped for your stay and took advantage of the private car parking space for 1 car.

Regarding the electric storage heaters, we have informed the Windermere office of this to bring this to their attention.

Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Heather Cottage or another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sunderland
Reviewed January 17, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 17, 2014
Thank you for your review of Heather Cottage, Ambleside.

We are pleased you enjoyed the location of the property and found the accommodation to be clean, tidy and well presented.

Lakes Cottage Holidays advertised Heather Cottage to have electric storage heaters and a colour TV.

According to our records, Lakes Cottage Holidays were not contacted during your stay. If we were contacted we would of tried to help you understand the working of the electric storage heaters.

Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Heather Cottage or another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Waltham cross herts
Reviewed July 26, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
East Ayrshire
Reviewed July 5, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing