We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant guest house with welcoming hosts”
Review of Barnes Fell

Barnes Fell
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barnes Fell
Ranked #50 of 102 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 31, 2009

We stayed here for two nights in December 2009. The guest house is very clean. The rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable. The hosts were very friendly and wanted to ensure that guests had a good stay. There was a varied menu fo breakfasts. We liked the location. It was minutes walk from the centre of Ambleside. If you have poor mobilty and without transport it might pose a problem because it is situted at the top of a steep hill. We were able to explore he local area from this central point.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank razBd23rx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 148 of 148 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2009

We stayed for two nights in Wansfell which is the room at the back overlooking the garden. The room and bathroom are about the right size for a weekend stay and includes all the standard amenities such as tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryer plus some complementary luxury toiletries which were a nice added touch. There were also bathrobes in the bathroom. The bed was very comfy and the room included a TV/DVD player and access to a DVD library. Breakfast in the morning was delicious with a choice of cereals and grapefruit to start and then a choice from a selection of cooked breakfasts. We opted for the Full English which was very yummy!
Ethna - our host - was very friendly and made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacqui83Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

My friend and I stayed for 2 very comfortable nights at Barnes Fell. The location is perfect for exploring Ambleside and the room was lovely and had a huge bathroom. Lovely touches like the bathrobes meant we got more luxury than you'd usually expect from a B&B. I'd highly recommend this for couples and friends planning a break in the Lake District.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emhash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2scoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2009

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceppm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kasanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
4.9 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
168 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
500 reviews
3.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,436 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnes Fell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnes Fell

Address: Barnes Fell Lower Gale, Ambleside LA22 0BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: $103 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnes Fell 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Barnes Fell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnes Fell Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing