We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent friendly B&B in great Lake District location”
Review of Barnes Fell

Barnes Fell
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barnes Fell
Ranked #52 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We are just back from a few days holiday in the Lake District and had a brilliant time. We are glad we found Barnes Fell with it's quiet but central location and good (free!) parking. Ethna and Nick were very welcoming and helpful and make great breakfasts which can last all day. Our room (Fairfield) was beautifully furnished, clean and stylish with all we needed for a comfortable stay.
Certainly to be recommended for a base for visiting the Lakes.
Highlights for us: Beatrix Potter's home Hill Top in Hawkshead, Boat trip on Windermere, The Lakeland Motor Museum at Newby Bridge (in case you need a rainy day activity!)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ted P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for Barnes Fell
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 147 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed 2 nights in this lovely B&B . Cosy and spotless, well equipped rooms with comfortable beds and free WiFi and a good breakfast. Made to feel most welcome by Ethner and her husband. Very pleasant experience!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fordfocus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My girlfriend and I had picked this place thanks to the excellent reviews it had received. As a result, we also suggested it to four of our friends (and so the six of us had the whole place over the two nights!).

Suffice to say, we were not disappointed in the slightest. Ethna and her husband Nick were lovely and couldn't have been more accommodating if they tried. You didn't feel like you were staying in a bed and breakfast. The room my girlfriend and I stayed in - Wansfell which overlooks the back garden - was just what we needed: a lovely cosy and clean room and bathroom, with a super comfy bed. It was the best night's sleep I've had in a good while!

The breakfast itself was lovely, taken place in a room that is at the front of the property and so has stunning views of the Lake District. Just the start to the day that you could ask for.

Considering the standard of the room, the hosting and the breakfast - not to mention fantastic location - our stay at Barnes Fell was really good value. I'd have absolutely no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theswirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Barnes Fell is a lovely traditional B&B situated within a few minutes walk of the centre of Ambleside. The rooms are light & airy, with high ceilings throughout. This was our 3rd stay at Barnes Fell, and we've had the Loughrigg room for a couple of visits, which has stunning views of Loughrigg Fell. It's about 10 minutes walk Barnes Fell to the start of the climb up Loughrigg, and a walk over the Fell to Grasmere & back again takes about 6 hours.
The breakfasts at Barnes Fell are substantial & excellent quality, and Ethna offers a warm & cheerful welcome every day. All in all it's a great place to base yourself for a trip to the lakes, and Ambleside offers a wide choice of restaurants & pubs for your hard-earned evening relaxation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CreaghA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

This bed and breakfast is lovely. Ethna was really welcoming and very helpful. The room was immaculate and although small, well equipped and comfortable. I thought it was great value for the standard of accommodation and location. The only drawback was that my husband fell ill during our stay(this was nothing to do with the b&b). Hopefully we will return and be able to sample the lovely cooked breakfasts.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molliemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Excellent, pretty b&b in a lovely quiet area of Ambleside. Ethna is a wonderful host who is fantastically accommodating. Top breakfast, top room with a view - will definitely be back soon! Ps if you are looking for some great food try Atelier in the village, it's amazing!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is a SUPERB place. We have all experienced paying money for a service only to be met by unfriendly, rude people. This place is the polar opposite of that as they know how to make you feel special, warmly welcome with politeness, friendliness and professionalism that scores 10 out of 10. Cleanliness throughout and comfortable bed and facilities, what more can you ask. I really strongly recommend that you check out this little heaven.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.3 mi away
Wanslea Guesthouse
Wanslea Guesthouse
#21 of 103 in Ambleside
439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diamond Lodge Boutique Guest House
0.1 mi away
3 Cambridge Villas
3 Cambridge Villas
#62 of 103 in Ambleside
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#9 of 103 in Ambleside
630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
0.1 mi away
Lacet House
Lacet House
#34 of 103 in Ambleside
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnes Fell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnes Fell

Address: Barnes Fell Lower Gale, Ambleside LA22 0BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: $100 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnes Fell 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Barnes Fell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnes Fell Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing