We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't believe the negative comments! This place is gorgeous!”
Review of Nab Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nab Cottage
Ranked #75 of 102 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 22, 2010

If you are after something luxurious, and expect to be waited on hand and foot this is not the place for you. On the other hand, if you like charm, kind, warm and exceptionally friendly hosts, great character, beautiful views and the feeling that you are home from home, this is the place for you.
Tim, the host, is an incredibly friendly guy, all heart. We stayed over the Valentines weekend, and the weather wasn't perfect, but that didn't phase us one bit. Coal fires, charming rooms and delicious food (order a day in advance if you want an evening meal - well worth it by the way!). Nab Cottage is far enough outside of the nearby and extremely bus Ambleside, that you feel like you are in the heart of the Lakes (the one slight downer is the close proximity to the road, but once indoors, you'd never know it as there).
I for one (and my girlfriend) will try most earnestly to go back at another time of year. Nab Cottage is best described, as I already said, as a home from home, not a luxury, boutique B & B, but then it never sets out to be this. Have a look at the website. Having read that, and got a sense of the earthy, spiritual nature of the place, we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiggthepig2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 64 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2009

We have just returned from a weekend at the Nab Cottage which we were so looking forward to and in need of a break. The cottage could be absolutely lovely and is in gorgeous spot but from our arrival were not made to feel particularly welcome. The quilt cover was covered in stains and so were the cushions, this really didn't inspire us. We were sorely disappointed when we thought the breakfast would make up for it., It was barely warm and my husband says the worst he had ever had. The cottage has a distinct smell about it. It could all do with a damn good clean and a revamp. Definitely wont be going back.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roxymalvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

We stayed here in May and although the cottage was built in the 1500s it hasn't really retained any of that old charm. The rooms look as though they were renovated in the 1970s and nothing has really been done since. The carpet is old and dusty and the bed linen and towels are old and worn. Nothing matched and just basically not nice.
The rooms either need a complete overhaul to be modernised or need to be stripped back to their old character. The place certainly has some potential but the owners just need to know what to do with it - new fittings, new bathrooms, new linen and a general clean.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy77London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

What a find, a quaint bed and breakfast with a fantastic view of Rydall Water. Very idyllic and steeped in history. A wonderful friendly and welcoming couple make your stay special and personal. Being a historic cottage the rooms are not vast in size but are very comfortable. Breakfast was superb (homemade bread) and it was easy to access Ambleside and Grasmere for evening meals and daytime walks and the lake for a canoe! A great place for those who love the outdoors and for the eco-concious with most produce being organic or locally sourced. Well worth a visit and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ramblingaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2009

Nab Cottage was a real find. Steeped in history, we had a vert comfortable stay.
We were welcomed with complimentary tea/coffee and cake. The room was basic with only a wash basin but had lovely quaint touches and an amazing view.
We booked it as we needed a base for walking and that they accepted dogs at a very reasonable rate.
Breakfast was fabulous, homemade bread and marmalade, vegetarian options and a really varied choice. The service was excellent and the staff were friendly.
Nab Cottage offered advice on walks, drying facilities, waterproofs to use, packed lunches and a canoe to use on Rydal Water if you wished.
All round this was excellent value money and yes we would stay there again

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SalMicStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

We spent a couple of nights here in late February 2009. The guest house is wonderfully situated on the shores of Rydal Water (although a fairly busy road is between the lake and the accommodation). It is easy to walk straight from Nab Cottage to Grasmere, Ambleside and into the glorious hills which is fabulous. We did not have an evening meal (as there are lots of great restaurants in Ambleside, but the breakfasts (vegetarian for us) were pretty good. The room was decidedly 1970's and the en suite was tiny. The shower on the other hand was superb. This is a great spot but the cottage needs some money spending on it to bring it up to standard.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wrexhamfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2008

We are aware that a lot of people love this. Undoubtedly quaint and atmospheric, but the bedroom was small, oppressive and poorly equipped. The ensuite was tiny and archaic. A dog in the room next to us and children to the other side. If you like your privacy and luxury do not stay here! If you don't mind roughing it, the view of the lake is lovely, how could it not be, and it has historic interest. However the hosts were conspicuous in their absence, and we were told on arrival that our room had been mistakenly given to someone else. It is right next to a main road, so not very tranquil. If you were attending one of the workshops, you may find it adequate.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank erastes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
1.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.9 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Sun Inn Hotel
Sun Inn Hotel
#11 of 23 in Hawkshead
348 reviews
2.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,446 reviews
5.8 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nab Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nab Cottage

Address: Rydal, Ambleside LA22 9SD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Nab Cottage Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing