We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Thai meal”

Doi Intanon Thai Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 118 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated in the heart of the Lake District, the Doi Intanon is Ambleside's premier Thai Restaurant. Since 2000 we have strived to achieve the finest in Thai Cuisine both locally and further afield. Please book early to avoid disappointment.
Sale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Relaxing Thai meal”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Have had a number of meals here and it never fails to please. We had starters from the specials - duck rolls and Thai fish cakes plus Singha beers and prawn crackers. Very good. I am sure though that there was previously a mixed starter combination for 2. My main was a lamb curry with plain noodles which had lovely heat that built up. The sauce was so good Linda kept pinching it tomgo with her meal. Linda had the special of prawn stir fry plus jasmine rice. We were on the second floor which is very airy and adds to the ambience on a nice spring evening. Chris is a really good host. A really nice place to go back to.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kizzy192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    834
    304
    77
    29
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Very tasty and different from most”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have been to this thai many times but not for a while. It was well worth the most recent visit, with good options and very tasty. The lamb on the special was particularly tasty. It is always popular and rightly so.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank susieQ321_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely food in a lovely place”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We decided to try this as was very busy we tried the drunken duck which was ok but the weeping tiger was beautiful worth a visit if in Ambleside

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kcej670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achill Island, Ireland
Level Contributor
151 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Same restaurant, same brilliant food!”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We visited the Doi Intanon in 2010 and reviewed it as being fantastic. Things haven't changed. From the moment you enter, you leave the Lake District behind and get a real taste of the Far East.

The service is good but the food is simply wonderful. This is my favourite UK Thai restaurant.

We opted for the chicken wrapped in leaves for starter - succulent pieces of chicken thigh, marinated in soy sauce. For mains it was chicken with cashew nuts and the wonderful red Thai chicken curry. Both dishes were fresh and delicious - not too hot, just right.

If you decide to visit this restaurant it really is important to book a table beforehand. During our meal we saw six parties being turned away due to the place being full.

If you are anywhere near Ambleside or the surrounding area this restaurant really is a "must try".

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brendan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester le Street
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

There are some places where we always eat when we stay in Ambleside - and this is one of them. The food is always of the highest quality, the atmosphere is great and the staff are friendly and efficient. The menu is varied - there are always specials which are different every time we visit - and the strength of the spices can be varied according to your taste. Prices are very reasonable and overall it's a great experience in the heart of the Lakes. Keep it up Chris and Busara.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lakeswalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doi Intanon Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Doi Intanon Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing