We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something Special” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doi Intanon Thai Restaurant

Doi Intanon Thai Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 117 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated in the heart of the Lake District, the Doi Intanon is Ambleside's premier Thai Restaurant. Since 2000 we have strived to achieve the finest in Thai Cuisine both locally and further afield. Please book early to avoid disappointment.
Chester le Street
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Something Special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

We eat at the Doi Intanon every time we visit Ambleside - and that is up to five times a year. We do this because we know the food is always of the highest quality - tasty, varied, interesting and always a choice of specials which really are special. The staff too are friendly, efficient and helpful and there's an authentic feel to the whole evening. Thanks to Chris and Busara for always making us welcome and providing great food in a unique setting.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lakeswalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    790
    293
    72
    28
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“2nd visit and just as I remembered”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

We first visted this restaurant last July and thoroughly enjoyed the food so were a little nervous that it would not live up to the memory- how wrong we were. The food was fabulous and the service just the right side of attentive. The restaurant decor is lovely and it has a really nice feel. Would recommend to anyone I'm sure you won't be dissapointed,

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sunjue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coniston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

We love this Thai restaurant. The staff work exceptionally hard to deliver very high levels of customer service. The food is awesome and the flavours are amazing. It is the sort of experience that can pick you up and make your day. The ambience of the restaurant is great - I just love those hand crafted wooden stairs! We live locally and we'll keep coming back!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YHAConiston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Still the best Thai we have been too !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

Third visit to this restaurant and this time it was on Valentines with my wife. Once again the food was superb, the dishes we chose were as spicy as described. You can taste all the spices and flavours. The service was very good and friendly. Highly recommended, but you must book as it's always very busy.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Thai restaurant in the north.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

Amazing quality of food at a great price. Wine list is fantastic too. The restaurant has been refurbished to a great standard. The owners and staff work exceptionally hard. Don't go to Ambleside without eating here.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doi Intanon Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Doi Intanon Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing