We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lucy4wine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lucy4 Wine Bar & Bistro

Lucy4 Wine Bar & Bistro
Ranked #66 of 117 Restaurants in Ambleside
Price range: $5 - $32
Cuisines: International, Mediterranean, Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Lucy4 Wine Bar & Bistro is tucked away in the backstreets of Ambleside and is a combination of cockt4ils, wines, continental and local bottled beers, soft drinks, together with a wide range of mix and match style food ... it's not exactly tapas in that the portions are bigger than tapas and a little more interesting in variety. It's a fun and fiendish place 4 everyone ... Ideal 4 Individuals, Perfect 4 Parties, Cosy 4 Couples and Fun 4 Families. Live Acoustic guitar most Sundays from 9pm. Open daily from 5pm and last food orders at 10.30pm. Set on two levels, with entrances at both - outside decking area as well as small, compact bar area. Friendly staff, all in all an interestingly, different dining experience - if you do anything ... do a chocolate fondue - be a Devil and try Lucy4!
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lucy4wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Had a really nice meal here and liked the"mix and match" approach to choosing your food. The menu is extensive and you choose a selection of small dishes to eat. They provide you with a pen and list of the food and you place a tick by what you wish to order. The staff are very helpful in explaining how it all works as it can be a bit confusing. The food is "different" and would not recommend for people who like traditional fayre but would highly recommend to anyone who likes good food. This is not a cheap place to eat but is not like anywhere else we have experienced. Highly recommend.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 352SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    81
    38
    34
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cocktails”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stopped in for a few drinks. The staff were all good humored and provided good service. Would def go again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tapas!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We visited here on a recommendation from a friend who had been years before, and we were not disappointed! The food was beautiful and portions were not small! The staff were very friendly and quick with the orders and food. They have a lovely drink area upstairs where we were able to sit in the evening sun. Highly recommend this to anybody visiting the area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Graeme1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a small tapas-style bistro. We found the food to be of very good quality, and really enjoyed it. The service is good too - the staff were warm, welcoming and friendly.

Any criticisms are minor indeed: We felt the subdued lighting was a bit too subdued, and we felt the tick-box menu slips weren't really in keeping with the rest of the feel of the place. Otherwise, this was a lovely restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DRS186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Expensive and Poor Quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We go up to the Lakes every year and have a night out to celebrate my Cousin's birthday.

About 10 years ago we went to the original Lucy's restaurant and had a fantastic night the food and service were incredible.

Fast forward to 2013 and it is quite the opposite I'm afraid. Lucy's 4 is a nice looking place but is certainly nowhere to have a party. It was very expensive per head and it was a set menu of lots of pretty low-quality greasy food. There was no choice for the kids so in the end a lot of money was spent and no one in the party left feeling they'd had a good night (except for our own company of course)

I'd recommend people getting fish and chips and sitting in the lovely park instead. Very disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucy4 Wine Bar & Bistro also viewed

 
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Lucy4 Wine Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing