We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely birthday”
Review of The Priest Hole

The Priest Hole
Ranked #19 of 118 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Priest Hole Restaurant and Tea Rooms are part of Kelsick Old Hall, one of the oldest buildings in the beautiful village of Ambleside in the centre of the English Lake District. With many original features the atmosphere may not be edible, but it does play a huge part in your dining enjoyment, and our friendly young team work hard in a refreshingly casual, but attentive way, to provide a relaxed and enjoyable experience.We are happy to accept single diners and large groups. We have a delightful outside terrace for alfresco meals on those warmer days, or just to sit and have a coffee and watch the world go by. (Dogs welcome on the terrace.) Seperate dining area for special occassion group dining.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely birthday”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We ate here on my husbands birthday while staying in Ambleside and had a lovely meal.The staff were very nice and friendly When they knew it was my husbands birthday his desert came with a candle in which was a nice touch as we were away from home.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    460
    314
    107
    50
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place To Eat”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

This place is a must if your in ambleside its open airy and clean with a lovely warm fire to get you warmed up. the menu has a great choice of food which delivers on style taste and presentation, they also have a good wine list and nothing was too much trouble very friendly staff who deliver on service. we ate here on two nights at it was first class can recommend the sea bass and the crispy duck. its not cheap but if you want the best then this is the place to eat.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ttracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
325 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This was recommended to us by the owners of the B&B we were staying at and we were not disappointed. We opted for the three course early bird menue at £17.95 per person - this is NOT a specail menu (although Sunday night specials available) you choose from the selection on the main menu. I had the smoked chicken, blue cheese,pear and walnut salad to start with which was absolutely amazing, In fact I had to ask what the cheese was as it was so smooth and creamy (Garstang Blue obtained from Booth's supermarket) as a cheese lover I had died and gone to heaven. My partner had a cannoloni casolete which was equally as scumptous. For mains we hadl amb with fried black pudding, roast potatoes and seaonal veg which my partner said was delicious. I opted for the roast beef and actually asked for it to be lean as I cannot stand fat and it was first class and so tender and tasty. Only one of us had dessert and that was me as I had seen a knickerbocker glory - opted for this and it was certaily glorious! Together with a lovely bottle of sparkling rose' (Juliet) we had a lovely lovely meal and credit to the chef for the quality of food and the choices on the menu. Well done to all especially the front of house guy who was very knowlegable and nothing was too much trouble. At just over £51 some may say it was expensive but certainly it was not - the quality and service were second to none - will certainly return when next in the area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Was just OK”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We had quite a nice meal here but the main courses didn't set the world on fire. Also the Apple Crumble was poor - the apples we just al dente and pretty bland and the topping was tasteless and burnt - for £5.50 it was disappointing.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adisgruntledcustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“TOP food, hats off to the chef”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

The chef on the 29/1/14. I applaud you the food was amazing perfect beef so tasty pâté starter fantastic. Great setting great staff and very well priced.

Helpful?
Thank Chater86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Priest Hole also viewed

 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to The Priest Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing