We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking Group evening meal.”
Review of The Priest Hole

The Priest Hole
Ranked #19 of 120 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $23
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Priest Hole Restaurant and Tea Rooms are part of Kelsick Old Hall, one of the oldest buildings in the beautiful village of Ambleside in the centre of the English Lake District. With many original features the atmosphere may not be edible, but it does play a huge part in your dining enjoyment, and our friendly young team work hard in a refreshingly casual, but attentive way, to provide a relaxed and enjoyable experience.We are happy to accept single diners and large groups. We have a delightful outside terrace for alfresco meals on those warmer days, or just to sit and have a coffee and watch the world go by. (Dogs welcome on the terrace.) Seperate dining area for special occassion group dining.
Deeside, United Kingdom
1 review
“Walking Group evening meal.”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

26 of us sat down,and were made very welcome.Service was 1st class,food was 1st class, the evening was made thoroughly enjoyable by the lovely setting/room which has a quaint and intimate atmosphere,.Thanks again to Kate,Nicola,table staff & of course not forgetting kitchen staff..ps will certainly be returning. Gerry,Chester.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    484
    327
    110
    52
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We had a lovely meal here,food good,reasonable choice,friendly staff,nice atmosphere and would return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynn rodney c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“New Year in Ambleside”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Booked for New Years eve having been on two previous occasions, same result, quality food served by friendly staff. Highly recommend the Priesthole.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stuart E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Gorgeous lunch and amazing gluten free selection”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Situated in the heart of amble side this is a lovely old restaurant and very friendly staff and fantastic food. Gluten free Eggs Benedict were amazing!

Helpful?
1 Thank Holzfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Real dining experience.”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Having visited Ambleside many times and not trying the Priest Hole we decided to give it a whirl. It was one of the best dining experiences we've ever had, certainly the best in Ambleside,(though we've not tried them all !). The food was fantastic, the interior unique! the staff attentive, and the wine superb. We had four courses and port to finish and could not fault anything.
I am only wrirting this review now as having read some of the bad recent reviews I felt I should show some support for the Priest Hole.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sally b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Priest Hole also viewed

 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to The Priest Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing