We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place called paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tarnfoot Farm Campsite
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A place called paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Me and my 3 children visited this weekend.very basic campsite with a very helpful farmers wife.The children loved seeing the chickens,sheep and cows.just two mins walk down to the tarn for a swim in the warm weather was very refreshing.once again the children loved paddling around.The views all around are breath taking.i would highly recommend a visit.we will definitely be visiting again in the not to distant future.if I could sum up in one word Awesome!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a lovelly basic old fashioned type campsite, with friendly owners. The views from all corners of this site are stunning and myself and my son have spent many happy weekends here. Lovelly walks all around and a beautiful nearby tarn if you fancy a swim. The children will love the open spaces and easy going pace that attracts regular visitors to Tarnfoot Farm. The farmer will be happy to sell you a lovelly variety of eggs from the many types of chickens that roam the farm yard....my son Finn says they are the best egg's he has ever tasted.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

It's a great place but you need to look after yourself by taking torches, food, a bucket to carry water and a tactful approach to a few noisy people who spoil it at busy times. The entrance is too narrow for caravans or big camper vans, so luckily they go somewhere else and pay a fortune. There's a postbox near the entrance, mobile phone reception is OK and a walk to Ambleside takes under an hour.

Room Tip: No rooms - take a tent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beer_Tricks_Potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Settle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stopped here on Saturday night, got to site late, very friendly owners, found a nice spot and pitched tent, very nice site, would love to go again.

Lovely walk in the morning to the tarn so children could have a early morning swim

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelG72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

Great camp site we have been going there for a lot of years , our grandchildren loved seeing chickens and other farm animals close up. If you like fishing. for a small fee you can fish the tarn great variety of fish the tarn is also home to many birds.To wake up in the morning to the sound of buzzards over the camp site is out of this world especially when the young are learning to fly.For walkers a good site plenty of save paths over the tops.Children can play safely as the camp site is circled with open fence rails and two gates to tarn, the best thing about this site is the only traffic you see are the post van dust cart and couple of cars belonging to owners of three cottages.No matter what time of the year to go its a great friendly camp site.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank georgina009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2008

If you are looking for an old fashioned, somewhat primitive campsite in a little corner of paradise, this is the place!
Hard to find, near Skelwith Bridge, but worth the search.
Priced at £3 per person (2008) and with just a couple of toilets in old outhouses and a big old sink in the farm yard for water/washing, don't expect luxury or electric hook-ups.
But, if you want to camp in a lovely field with a few other like minded campers wanting peace and tranquility, you won't find a better place.
The views are terrific across Loughrigg terrace to Loughrigg and the Langdale Valley and just 2 minutes walk to Loughrigg Tarn where you can swim on a nice day.
Can't recommend it enough - just watch the kids near the tarn if they are young.

Helpful?
8 Thank WainwrightBagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
0.0 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#2 of 3 in Hawkshead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queen's Head Hotel
Queen's Head Hotel
#5 of 23 in Hawkshead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarnfoot Farm Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarnfoot Farm Campsite

Property: Tarnfoot Farm Campsite
Address: Ambleside, Cumbria LA22 9HF, Reino Unido, Ambleside LA22 9HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Ambleside
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Tarnfoot Farm Campsite Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing