We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab B and B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wordsworths Guest House
Ranked #42 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab B and B”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We stay here earlier this month very nice b@b very central to Ambleside to all the shops cafe bars pubs art galleries etc in walking distance to Hayes garden centre the place was very nice staff very good we would definitely stay in this bed and breakfast hotel again well recommended

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
46
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Banbury
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Just spent 3 nights at this lovely B&B. Located minutes from the centre of Ambleside and with off street parking, it is a gem. Our double ensuite room was at the top of the house and had a seperate bedroom (family suite) or small sitting room attached. Our first time here but it looked fairly recently refurbished, bright and modern. The shower room had a heated floor! Lovely breakfast room, friendly staff and good breakfast choice. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Middletonlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Having just returned from a 2 night stay at the Wordsworth I would like to say what kind and considerate people run this guest house. Unfortunately I was ill on arrival and they went out of their way to make me feel comfortable. My single room was spotlessly clean and cosy, the breakfast delicious and the location central. I would not hesitate to recommend The Wordsworth to anyone wishing to stay in a lovely B&B in Ambleside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceriba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Very comfortable and extremely clean room for 3 nights in June. Superb breakfast each day, served by very friendly staff. Easy access to free parking. Wifi a real bonus. Happy to recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Just returned from the lakes stayed here 2 night it is faultless lovely clean room great shower room(heated floor too!)drying room which was a must!

Great breakfast adn very hospitable owners
We will be back and happy to recommend

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieramsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

After our hotel letting us down we were offered to stay here. Our room was very spacious and quiet despite overlooking the main road. It was spotless and comfortable. There is an area to park which is rare in ambleside. Breakfast was also tasty. I can't really fault it. Perhaps having our towels changed for the second day would have been nice but it didn't really bother us. Great location too.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hillbillypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We spent a pleasant weekend in the Wordsworth Guest House, Ambleside in September 2011. The premises was very clean and tidy and we received a warm welcome from the proprietors on arrival. The twin room in which we stayed was spacious, well decorated and quiet. The en-suite facility was newly fitted and clean with a decent warm shower. Breakfast was very enjoyable with excellent service and a good choice of cereals, fruit, yogurt and cooked breakfast. If I visited the Wordsworth Guest House again, I would like see more tea, coffee, milk made available in the room, also the WiFi, although it worked, was a bit hit and miss. Overall I would certainly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waxan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
Melrose Guesthouse
Melrose Guesthouse
#14 of 103 in Ambleside
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barnes Fell
Barnes Fell
#51 of 103 in Ambleside
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wanslea Guesthouse
Wanslea Guesthouse
#21 of 103 in Ambleside
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#11 of 103 in Ambleside
611 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haven Cottage
Haven Cottage
#7 of 103 in Ambleside
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wordsworths Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wordsworths Guest House

Property: Wordsworths Guest House
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wordsworths Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, LateRooms, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wordsworths Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworths Guest House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing