We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking Holiday”
Review of Red Bank

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Bank
Ranked #36 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Llantwit Major, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Walking Holiday”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had the Blue room at Red bank very comfortable and a lovely bathroom,Val & George are great hosts, superb breakfast,we will be staying at Red bank on our next trip. Thank you both very much. Gary and Christine

Room Tip: Very handy laundrette up the road :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryTip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeG49, Owner at Red Bank, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thanks for your kind comments and both Val and I look forward to meeting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
152
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flitwick
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We arrived at Red bank on Sunday 8th September for 3 nights. We stayed in room 1 which was very clean spacious and nice and quiet. Val & George are great hosts and looked after us. Breakfast was superb and weather was sunny. Would certainly recommend staying at Red Bank Mark & Jan.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flitwickfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeG49, Owner at Red Bank, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thanks for your comments and good that you finally made your stay with us following your postponement late last year. Please you enjoyed your breakfast as all the ingredients are locally sourced and cooked fresh to order, no precooking!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Looking at other reviews there is not much more to add. We agree with all the other comments. The place is unbeatable in every respect. We can't wait to visit again. Just like being at home except everything is done for you in a very friendly and professional way. At last, hosts who really know how to run a B and B. Thankyou both so much.
Pauline and Dave

Room Tip: Stayed in room 1. Very large with large bed and shower room. Beautifully apointed and very quiet, lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paintedlady54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeG49, Owner at Red Bank, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and both Val and I look forward to meeting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cramlington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Having experienced numerous B&B break in Red Bank was by far the best. The rooms are large, well furnished and immaculate. En-suite included bath and large shower complete with luxurious towels.

Val and George great hosts and very welcoming. We left the car the car in the car park , used public transport to get about and walked to local restaurants. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms but all reach the same standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeG49, Owner at Red Bank, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Good to hear you used public transport because it can be the cheapest way to travel between Bowness and Grasmere-ideal for seeing the main tourist areas. Additionally, easy access to the Langdale Valley and Elterwater for additional walking routes. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have stayed a Red Bank many times and always look forward to returning. Goerge and Val are great hosts, very welcoming, helpful and knowledgable on the area. The rooms are clean and warm. The breakfast is good and plenty of choice. This is a handy location as the Langdales are a left turn without going into the one way system. It is excellent value for money in a great village.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susieQ321_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeG49, Owner at Red Bank, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Good to hear you had a good time at Red Bank and both Val and I look forward to meeting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had a lovely 2 night stay at Red Bank and will definitely stay here again next time we come to Ambleside.

We had room 1 (the Gold Room). A nice sizeable room, very tastefully decorated with a huuuge bed and very nice ensuite. Plenty of storage space in the large wardrobe and chests of drawers. A full length mirror too!

Everywhere in the building was spotless and beautifully decorated. Every detail was thought of to make our stay comfortable and special, including chocolate covered Kendal mint cake in the room, a fresh bathrobe in the ensuite, sherry on the landing for a pre dinner aperitif and a fridge on the landing with fresh milk and plenty of space in it for our own bottles of water, coke etc.

Nice big fluffy towels and a nice range of complimentary toiletries were a bonus as was the nice powerful hairdryer. Good shower too, which stayed at a constant temperature.

There is ample parking space on site.

The location is excellent, only a short walk to the town centre with its lovely selection of shops and some excellent pubs and restaurants.

The breakfast is one of the best we've had anywhere. Good selection of fruit, yoghurt and cereals to start with, I particularly liked the fresh fruit salad. We had the full cooked breakfast which was perfectly cooked and fuelled us up nicely for a days walking.

We didnt get to meet George but Val was lovely and very helpful with her local knowledge and looking in her walks books for details of the walk we were planning.

Cant find any fault at all with Red Bank - highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_J_S-1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeG49, Owner at Red Bank, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thanks for your very kind comments. Unfortunately, I was away looking after grand children but it was good to see that Val coped very well in my absence. Look forward to meeting you when you next visit Red Bank.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is our second visit to Red Bank, greeted by George and Val as friends. The location is ideally situated between the lake,the town and the hills. We had an excellent two night stay.
The room was large, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was freshly made to order and was excellently cooked. In addition George and Val were very helpful with suggestions of places to go , walks etc and eating out in the evening. We will definitely be returning. A little gem.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeG49, Owner at Red Bank, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Viv and Ian,
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Red Bank and we look forward to meeting you again, hopefully, in the coming months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
1.9 mi away
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
#8 of 12 in Ambleside
373 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amboseli Lodge
Amboseli Lodge
#5 of 103 in Ambleside
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lacet House
Lacet House
#39 of 103 in Ambleside
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#42 of 103 in Ambleside
210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melrose Guesthouse
Melrose Guesthouse
#15 of 103 in Ambleside
510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wanslea Guesthouse
Wanslea Guesthouse
#21 of 103 in Ambleside
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Bank

Property: Red Bank
Address: Red Bank Wansfell Road, Ambleside LA22 0EG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Red Bank 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Bank is an elegant, traditionally built Lakeland house located in the residential fringes of Ambleside. The centre of the village along with its many restaurants, bars and local amenities is only a 5 minute walk. The Lake Windermere launch and steamer trips are available at Waterhead which is only half a mile away. Our central location makes Red Bank Guest House an ideal base for discovering the Lake District - From here all the grandeur of the Lake District National Park are within easy reach - as are outdoor activities and water sports of every kind. We have 3 tastefully furnished en-suite rooms offering spacious deluxe Bed & Breakfast accommodation with many little extras. Our 5 Star Visit Britain award together with our Michelin Guide recommendation reflect the comfort, quality and service enjoyed by our guests. Feel assured that we will do our very best to make your stay with us as relaxing and comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Bank Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing