We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of High Dale house

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
High Dale house
Ranked #73 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our room was hot and stuffy and very noisy. The guest house is right on the main road and noise from traffic and from the pubs was constant. There was no top sheet on the bed just a warm cover and a synthetic coverlet which made sleeping very uncomfortable. Our request for a top sheet for the second night wasn't fulfilled.

We emailed the guest house twice after the booking was made on our behalf for information about an extra night - these emails were never answered.

Breakfast was okay although the haddock was much, much too salty.






The hosts have a six year old child who constantly interrupted breakfast. While she is very bright and clever, this can be wearing after while.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winifred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    51
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
64
153
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
falmouth, maine
Level Contributor
680 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

we stayed as part of Contours Walking tours; our bags were transfered ahead while we walked there. Downside: We hit unseasonably hot July weather - in high 80's and 90's - and no B & Bs or guesthouses have a/c. Not a deficiency but something to definitely be aware of if you go in the summer.
Otherwise, 4-5 stars all the way except for some reason breakfast was a little oddly done - there was a group of 6 and us - just a couple - and we'd hoped to get an early start. Owner served the 6 first, which was proper, as they'd already been there, but he came out to get their order piecemeal - tea or coffee - went back, prepared it - eggs? went back, prepared it...brought out parts of the order in several trips - while ignoring us - we could have at least told him what we wanted - continued to bring out their stuff a couple plates at a time until he'd brought everything for them, then took our order. Not the end of the world, but it added up to at least a half hour just sitting there.
ON the other hand, he was a pleasant guy, house was gorgeous, spotless and beautifully situated. We were within noise distance of a nearby pub and there was yelling and carrying on in the street as late as 4AM, so if that's a common occurrence i'd debit a point for that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chimayred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights here with our 2 young children. Very comfortable rooms and delicious breakfast. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful, providing us with tips on places to visit and local restaurants. My parents (who also stayed in Ambleside with us) loved this place so much they went back and stayed a few days later. Ambleside is a beautiful place to visit and the guesthouse is ideally located to explore the area. I definitely recommend this beautiful guesthouse!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just returned back home to Australia and following through on places we stayed. This was a real Gem...Well situated in the town close to shops and pubs....Weather was typically wet while we were there...Nice hot shower was great....comfy bed clean sheets and..... voted by my family THE BEST BREAKFAST on our holiday including the black pudding and fried bread that they had never tasted before!
Only stayed one night but would recommend highly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife and I spent our first weekend away here some 15 years ago so decided that it would be nice to spend half of our two day anniversary break back at Kent House. We are so pleased that we did! The original owners have moved on but the current owners have continued the tradition of great hospitality in a lovely little B&B.
Our en-suite room was of a high standard and the service and breakfast were excellent. The current owners can't do enough for you and can offer you some insightful advice on the good hostelries in the village - we can certainly endorse his recommendation of the Golden Rule for a relaxing pint (or three) in it's 'off the beaten track' beer garden.
Well worth a visit to a charming B&B!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

What a great place to stay we only wanted a night and were recommended it by tourist information
We were greeted and shown round and even given choices and where to eat in the evening which was a nice touch

And to to it off the bed was soooooooo comfortable and my wife is bed fussy but could not complain

And the choice and quality of breakfast was outstanding

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian-and-mel-phoebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Had a lovely stay at this B+B, fantastic service was given throughout my stay, loved the breakfast worth getting up for. Very helpful couple I would definitely stay here again and Will highly recommend to family and friends.
Susan from Scotland :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susann1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.2 mi away
Lacet House
Lacet House
#41 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wordsworths Guest House
Wordsworths Guest House
#42 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.2 mi away
3 Cambridge Villas
3 Cambridge Villas
#58 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#44 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elder Grove
Elder Grove
#24 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brantholme Bed & Breakfast
Brantholme Bed & Breakfast
#35 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Dale house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Dale house

Property: High Dale house
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside La22 0ad, England (Formerly Kent House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — High Dale house 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your High Dale house reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Dale House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing