We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Summer Hill Country House
Ranked #2 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“AMAZING!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

It was totally BRILLIANT the hosts were soo kind. in the last comment the clues in the name BED AND BREAKFAST (nowhere including afternoon tea or lunch!!!) THANKYOU mike and patsy for a brilliant stay and we hope to come again next year ;-)

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Max J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
70
333
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed here for two nights to celebrate our anniversary, and while it was genuinely a nice place to stay with lovely hosts, at £100 per night for a small ( but well thought out) room, it seems expensive.

Nice house in nice grounds with good views to front, quiet location, but as they don't offer evening meals you'll need to drive into Hawkshead ( where there are good pubs ). Nice touches in the room and a cosy friendly feel, but it was small, as was the en-suite.

Breakfast was nice, well-cooked with a good choice, hosts were very friendly and very helpful with local walks etc, although we weren't greeted with tea and cake!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordonrgs37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cloudyvalley, Owner at Summer Hill Country House, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. We always aim to give as much information about our rooms as possible so that guests can make an informed choice as to where they stay. The room you mention is very popular in spite of being standard in size (as is indicated on our web -site). All our rooms are different in size and styling.
Afternoon tea is offered to guests who arrive at the requested check-in time between 4.00pm and 6.00pm, we don't serve it later in the evening.
Our prices (£48 per person) are completely in line with similar establishments in this area, bearing in mind we offer the highest quality locally sourced food products, free internet access,(wi-fi and mac minis in each room), home baked bread, home-made biscuits and hand-made chocolate truffles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Just returned from another 4 night stay here..Fantastic as usual..Greeted with coffee and cake and as the weather was beautiful we were able to sit outside to enjoy these.Patsy and Mike are so welcoming and greet you as friends/family.They are a very warm and sincere couple and will keep you entertained with stories and jokes.Room 3 was as clean and comfy as the first time we stayed here in 2009,and we felt that this stay was better than ever.Each time seems to improve.Two nights we went out for an evening meal but the other two we bought ready made baguettes and a bottle of wine and sat outside of the little summer house where there are tables and chairs to enjoy the evening sun after a long day out.We would recommend anyone who loves the lakes and looking for a base to stay with excellent hosts and a delicious breakfast to stay here.You wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

The welcome was full of open hospitality (juice and cake) and the rest of the stay matched the welcome. Patsy's photography and art work were evident but not overwhelming. The house was beautiful, comfortable and all the amenities one could hope for were available. Breakfast was excellent with ample choice. Advice on where to go and what to see and do were readily forthcoming and showed an understanding of the guests' wishes and requirements. Mike's sense of humour was appreciated; laughter was part of the experience. Parking was available and free on site; you do need a car here. I have been travelling in Europe for almost three months and I rate this accommodation as the best I have experienced on this trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had a two night break at Summer Hill. Patsy met us as we arrived and took an interest in our planned activities while making us a welcome cup of tea. She had good advice for our hiking routes and even had laminated maps with suggested routes. Breakfast was great and well done each morning and Mike was cheery, attentive and gently amusing whilst serving. When we left I forgot a couple of items of clothes in the wardrobe. Patsy spotted this and let us know. We had a flight out of the country planned a few days later and she mailed the clothes immediately to the address we were staying at where they arrived in good time. Patsy and Mike are a lovely couple and Summer Hill a great B&B base for visiting the Lakes. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 51391225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Enjoyed 7 wonderful nights in Summer Hill.
We had the disabled access room and room 3. Both exceedingly well appointed and well serviced.
Mike and Patsy are ahead of the field when it comes to kindness and helpfulness in the hospitality world.
They think of the tiniest little details that help to make your stay more enjoyable.

I just loved the breakfasts!!

They both have a wealth of local knowledge that they will share with you to extend the benefits that you will gain from visiting the Lakes. A tip would be to let either of them know your plans for the day and they can tell you many of the opportunities available in that area - from amazing things to see and do to the best place for parking.

Summer Hill comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomcb_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudon, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

If you want a B&B where you can feel what it is like to actually live in the Lake District, Summer Hill is for you. My friend and I were on our second visit to Cumbria, and remembered driving past Summer Hill on our way to Tarn Hows. We were delighted with the hospitality of Mike and Patsy. One of my bags was missing for 3 days, and they were kind enough to let me use their telephones until I was able to charge my own phone. There were homemade chocolates by the bed and scrumptious breakfasts. And what a de-stressor to wake up and look at a field of sheep one way and a field of cows the other. The house is lovely, and the breakfast room alone makes you want to stay awhile. A five minute drive through beautiful, quiet roads leads you to either Ambleside or Hawkshead. Summer Hill enables you to be close to tourist activities without waking up to the noisy bustle that large numbers of tourists bring. And the afternoon tea and homemade cakes is enough to bring you back early. Patsy suggested a few places and gardens to visit, and her advice was spot on.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gnomefriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
3.7 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
3.8 mi away
Riverside B&B
Riverside B&B
#1 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grizedale Lodge
Grizedale Lodge
#1 of 1 in Grizedale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Lakes B and B
The Lakes B and B
#9 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
4.1 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#3 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
4.4 mi away
Crow How Country Guest House
Crow How Country Guest House
#8 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Hill Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Hill Country House

Property: Summer Hill Country House
Address: Hawkshead Hill, Ambleside LA22 0PP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer Hill Country House is situated between the popular and picturesque villages of Hawkshead and Coniston.The house dating back to the 1700's has been refurbished to a very high standard bringing together the traditional features of a large Lakeland residence with contemporary guest accommodation.The house overlooks the tiny hamlet of Hawkshead Hill and the south facing rooms look out on the surrounding fells. The renowned beauty spot of Tarn Hows is within easy walking distance.Summer Hill is an excellent base from which to explore the outstanding natural beauty of the Lake District. You can leave your car in our car park if you wish, and after breakfast, served in in our dining room with its feature fireplace, set off to enjoy the area on foot.Return and relax in the guest lounge or enjoy a well-deserved soak in the four-poster spa bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Summer Hill Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Hill Country House Hotel Ambleside
Summer Hill Country House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing