We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home in the lakes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Summer Hill Country House
Ranked #7 of 102 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Just returned from our first stay at Summer Hill where we had a lovely long weekend stay for my birthday. Patsy and Mike are wonderful hosts, making our weekend stay truly fantastic. From the moment you arrive at Summer Hill Patsy and Mike give you such a warm welcome. Summer Hill instantly feels like home, is very comfortable and the roaring fire in the dining room and log burner in the lounge were a delight. The location of the b&b was perfect, situated in a beautiful part of the Lake District with lovely views and Patsy and Mike can easily direct you to local places to walk and eat. A great stay and we hope to return one day soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laser2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

299 - 305 of 573 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

Absolutely perfect. Fantastic hosts in Patsy and Mike. They make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive with complimentary tea and homemade cake. Brilliant location, quiet, but with lots of places to visit within a short drive, although we simply followed Patsy's directions to walk to Tarn Hows. Superb room, with great facilities and even better views. Breakfast was great, fresh produce and cooked to order. We only stayed the one night, more's the pity, but we cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Degsy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was our 4th stay at Summer Hill and it just gets better every time, even the weather was kind compared to floods experienced in other parts of the country. The weekend was fantastic from start to finish with marvellous food lovingly prepared by Patsy ( with Mikes little touches I am sure), you are made to feel very welcome, nothing is too much trouble. It was lovely to be able to have a good day taking in the scenery etc and then return to a glass of mulled wine by the log fire , home made cakes, cheese and biscuits.The bedrooms are furnished to a very high standard, very cosy and warm,most welcome at this time of the year. We would not consider staying anywhere else now for a visit to the South Lakes and look forward to returning for the next ' winter warmer weekend', although I am sure that we will return before then.

Thank you Patsy & Mike for a lovely weekend, hope that you get chance to put your feet up for a few days ( maybe do a little knitting). All the best to you and your family for Xmas/New Year.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derbyramDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was our 2nd trip to Summer Hill. Our first trip was in Aug 2012 and we booked our 2nd visit before we had even left!. This time Patsy and Mike had organised a "winter warmer weekend" We had a lovely time. A warm welcome with tea and home made cake followed by a delicious home cooked dinner next to the roaring open fire.
The decor is clean, contempory and modern,but still in keeping with this lovely building with its 2ft thick slate walls. I can't speak for the other rooms, but our room (Number three) was decorated beautifully with Patsy's artwork fitting in perfectly. The room was spotless and serviced daily ( a homemade truffle waiting for each of us on our return).
I don't think this will be our last visit to summer hill. Thanks Patsy and Mike X

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovedupSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was the first place we stayed in England and it turned out to be a great place to start and for 6 nights. If you want a quiet, peaceful location close to excellent hiking and the very pretty countryside, this is it. The breakfasts were very good, using local products, and cooked any way you chose. There were several choices on the menu and all were very well prepared. Patsy and Mike were very accomodating and helpful in selecting hikes and recommending local restaurants, including the Queens Head in Hawkes Head, which was very good, even the salads. And they have a great sense of humor so the stay is very, very pleasant. Highly recommend and would return without question.

Room Tip: We requested and received a "superior" room that was upstairs and provided the best view i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toughtopleaseMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Previous reviews of Summer Hill led us there, and we were certainly not disappointed; Patsy and Mike are superb hosts, with that extra touch of charm and twinkle that move a good visit to a great one. They gave us good advice about local walks, local restaurants, and made our two-day stay there the highlight of our trip. I hope that we can return!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melvyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights to take photos of the Lakes in autumn. Coincidentally Patsy is also a keen photographer and painter, with examples of her work adding to the tasteful decor. She and Mike are wonderful hosts and made us feel very welcome. The food was excellent, including the home-made cakes and bread, using many locally sourced items. The house is well situated in beautiful, peaceful surroundings, fairly central and within reach of Coniston, Langdale, Ambleside etc, although I think a car is essential as it is a little off the main routes. The room was on the small side, especially with the king-size bed, although very comfortable and warm and with a good size wardrobe / storage. Facilities are good, with a small safe for valuables, TV, computer, radio alarm clock and plentiful supply of tea and coffee. There were even two wine glasses and a corkscrew; examples of the nice touches that made us feel at home. The shower room is also a bit small, but not really a problem, and the water was hot and the shower worked well. There is also a good sized (shared) bathroom with jacuzzi-type bath, although we did not use it. We liked the comfortable lounge and the breakfast room with log fire and pleasant ambience, and the fact we had a front door key so we could go and come as we pleased. Facilities are also good for less mobile guests: there are ramps to the entrance and one room with a wheelchair lift and large ensuite wet-room. Apart from a couple of minor details in our room the house was very clean. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
4.3 mi away
Haven Cottage
Haven Cottage
#6 of 102 in Ambleside
577 reviews
3.8 mi away
Riverside B&B
Riverside B&B
#3 of 102 in Ambleside
1,186 reviews
4.1 mi away
Amboseli Lodge
Amboseli Lodge
#1 of 102 in Ambleside
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#5 of 102 in Ambleside
1,222 reviews
3.9 mi away
Diamond Lodge Boutique Guest House
3.9 mi away
Ambleside Manor
Ambleside Manor
#18 of 102 in Ambleside
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Hill Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Hill Country House

Address: Hawkshead Hill, Ambleside LA22 0PP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: $137 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer Hill Country House is situated between the popular and picturesque villages of Hawkshead and Coniston.The house dating back to the 1700's has been refurbished to a very high standard bringing together the traditional features of a large Lakeland residence with contemporary guest accommodation.The house overlooks the tiny hamlet of Hawkshead Hill and the south facing rooms look out on the surrounding fells. The renowned beauty spot of Tarn Hows is within easy walking distance.Summer Hill is an excellent base from which to explore the outstanding natural beauty of the Lake District. You can leave your car in our car park if you wish, and after breakfast, served in in our dining room with its feature fireplace, set off to enjoy the area on foot.Return and relax in the guest lounge or enjoy a well-deserved soak in the four-poster spa bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Summer Hill Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Hill Country House Hotel Ambleside
Summer Hill Country House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing