We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking Lake District B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Summer Hill Country House
Ranked #5 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cracking Lake District B&B”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed for five nights whilst walking in the Lakes. Summer Hill is a lovely B&B with excellent hosts. Patsy and Mike are extremely welcoming and do everything they can to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Breakfasts are generous and full of lovely things to set you up for a day on the fells. Summer Hill is well located with easy access to evening eating in Hawkshead, Ambleside and Coniston.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
77
356
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Walkern, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and i stayed here after reading other reviews on this website and you can believe the hype. From the warm welcome when we arrived to the fantastic locally sourced breakfasts cooked by Patsy this was truly a wonderful holiday. If you are after a relaxing holiday in a beautiful location you must try this place. The room was very clean and the view from the room was stunning. Patsy's home made chocolates were delicious (so good we had to take some home). Mike & Patsy are wonderful hosts and I really cannot add much more to the many, many great reviews that they have already had. Thank you for a great place to stay Mike & Patsy, we hope to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garyb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife and I flew to England (from Switzerland) for a 5 day walk holiday in the Lake District and could not have hoped for a more pleasant stay in an iconic, quintessential, english B&B. We were warmly greeted by Patsy and Mike. Patsy sat and chatted with us in the guest lounge and served up absolutely delicious home made cakes and a pot of tea. My wife who rarely eats a whole slice of cake had 3 pieces !!! They really were that good. The home has been tastefully and sympathetically renovated and the bedrooms have good quality, comfortable bedding and linen. Beside each pillow, was a treat of a homemade chocolate. It was obvious that the breakfast had been sourced from fresh, local suppliers because everything tasted fantastic. Apparently, the sausage (may have been the best I have ever eaten) and bacon come from a butcher in Coniston. Even the mushroom had a delicious, delicate flavour but, all Patsy would say was that it was cooked in the same Aga oven as the sausage. The cost of the double room was more than we had paid when walking the SWCP in Devon/Cornwall the previous year but, we thought that it was par for the Lake District and, nonetheless, very good value for money. We would definitely stay here again. One other thing, if you travel to Hawkshead by car, you should seriously consider visiting the delicatessan in Hawkshead.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gr8Br10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2012

John, Nick and I spent four nights at this great Bed & Breakfast in a beautiful part of our beloved Lake District. It was all we had hoped for, a great welcome with tea & cakes, and Mike and Patsy really are wonderful hosts making us feel very much at home from the very beginning. The bedrooms were beautifully appointed, (lovely chocolates!) with great views and we really loved coming down each morning for the wonderful breakfasts cooked by Patsy. It was just what we all needed, we could not have wished for a better place to stay and hope to return at some time in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winifred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond north yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My sister and I were booked onto a 'navigation and mountains skills course' so knew that we wanted to return to somewhere relaxing, comfortable, clean and welcoming.
Booking Summer Hill hit the spot!
In a fantastic location, welcoming, clean and cheerful.
Mike and Patsy very kindly filled our flasks each morning and ensured we had a splendid breakfast to set us on our way.
Highly recommended.
Thank you - we will be back but to just relax this time and sit and read in your cosy lounge!
Janet & Sara

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We spent a great 3 nights at this excellent Bed and Breakfast.Our experience supports all the other reviews we have read.From the welcome with tea and home made cakes,to a clean well appointed and comfortable room with home made chocolates each day we had a great time.All topped off with a first class breakfast.In short good room,good food and great hosts.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Right from the moment we walked up to the house from the car park, Mike was on the doorstep to welcome us, closely followed by Patsy bearing cake. We were made to feel at home right away.
Little touches like the personalised welcome note, the friendly first name terms, the chocolates at the side of the bed and the little biscuits all helped to make our stay special. We would have no hesitation in recommending Patsy and Mike's beautiful lakeland country house to our friends.
Definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auntieanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
4.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.1 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#6 of 103 in Ambleside
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 23 in Hawkshead
239 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grizedale Lodge
Grizedale Lodge
#1 of 1 in Grizedale
368 reviews
3.2 mi away
Nanny Brow
Nanny Brow
#12 of 103 in Ambleside
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Hill Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Hill Country House

Property: Summer Hill Country House
Address: Hawkshead Hill, Ambleside LA22 0PP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer Hill Country House is situated between the popular and picturesque villages of Hawkshead and Coniston.The house dating back to the 1700's has been refurbished to a very high standard bringing together the traditional features of a large Lakeland residence with contemporary guest accommodation.The house overlooks the tiny hamlet of Hawkshead Hill and the south facing rooms look out on the surrounding fells. The renowned beauty spot of Tarn Hows is within easy walking distance.Summer Hill is an excellent base from which to explore the outstanding natural beauty of the Lake District. You can leave your car in our car park if you wish, and after breakfast, served in in our dining room with its feature fireplace, set off to enjoy the area on foot.Return and relax in the guest lounge or enjoy a well-deserved soak in the four-poster spa bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Summer Hill Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Hill Country House Hotel Ambleside
Summer Hill Country House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing