We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you expect from a farm B&B”
Review of Millbeck Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Millbeck Farm
Ranked #74 of 102 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here last week. It was just what we needed. Easy going, farm friendly, clean and comfortable.

No traffic noise, just a few mooos.

Breakfast was Cumbria style - big and beautiful.

It is also near to a pub for meals

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 38 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

After a long journey we were met by Sue at the door offering us hot drinks and cake, having just been shown to our room. We were in the twin and the shared large bathroom was just next door. The view from our window was just fabulous as is the whole of the Langdale area. Breakfast was a hearty affair and we sat with our fellow guests which added to the occasion, sharing our stories and lives. Sue was the perfect host, warm, funny and a great cook! Thank you so much. I loved hearing the sheep in the morning, such a welcome change. Hope to be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steelysurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I think the last reviewer must have got Langdale Valley confused with a big city. When you stay at a working farm, you hope and expect a warm welcome, hearty breakfast and a decent bath or shower after a day out in the mountains. You won't be disappointed if this is what you expect!

Sue the farmer's wife is really friendly, the shower is great, excellent coffee and cake on arrival too. Right beside the New Dungeon, superd view across the valley and a hearty breakfast which easily kept me going until 5pm albeit I don't eat as mush as most.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrismac6510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed one night on Cumbria Way. Very small room - only 3/4 size bed in room. One shower, two toilets between 3 rooms. Good breakfast but just not what you expect these days. There is no telly or radio in the rooms and no biscuits on the hospitality tray.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank da c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We rented both the farm and cottage for a family holiday and it was just spectacular. Sue and Eric, who own Millbeck are wonderful and could not be more helpful, making sure that the cottage was just right for my disabled mother and meeting all of her needs. This was very much appreciated and enabled both my parents to experience the breathtaking beauty of this stunning location, and for us to share it with them.

The cottages are superbly equipped, warm and comfortable and the location is very hard to beat. Eric the farmer is lovely and happy to stop and chat which helped us to understand more about the area. Nell the dog loves to have an ear scratched after a long day on the fells and we were surrounded by baby lambs chasing each other around the fields, perfect! We did not want to leave and can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoolsBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

As Sue warns you when you walk in, this farmhouse dates to the 1620s and has its quirks -- you may bump your head on one of the low doorways, the floors tilt markedly and the walls between rooms are paper thin. But don't let that stop you from experiencing a night at this wonderful property. The setting is stunning -- at New Dungeon Gyhll and the Langdale Pikes -- and the chance to learn about the sheep and the operation of the farm was one of the highlights of our trip. The shared bathroom was modern -- large, clean and comfortable with lots of lovely, hot water. The communal breakfast was delicious with lots of choices. We enjoyed both the food and the company.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dixie'smom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I can only agree with the recent positive reviews I have just read. The farmhouse has an incredible setting, and things like the uneven floors and latched low height doors just help you to appreciate this as a fully working though very clean and very well-kept farm, complete with Nel one of the farmdogs who masterfully managed to get a good deal of affection out of us. Sue is a wonderful and accomodating host, and the warmth (literally, as Sue had a roaring log fire waiting for us when descended cold and wet from the mountains) and hospitality made our stay very enjoyable. The room was comfortable, warm and very clean, the toilet and bathroom spotless with lashings of hot water. Breakfasts were as tasty as they were enormous, and Eric provided a good insight into the local area as well as his sheep, which we found very interesting. After having met several hundred of his very healthy looking sheep on the fells, and bringing half of one home (a great offer so speak with Sue), this only increased our feeling of coming away enriched as well as happy and relaxed. All this at a very reasonable price, its truely a gem.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
6.8 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
168 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4.9 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ambleside
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
498 reviews
1.6 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,434 reviews
5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millbeck Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millbeck Farm

Address: Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Millbeck Farm Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing