We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
Review of Millbeck Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Millbeck Farm
Ranked #76 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I can only agree with the recent positive reviews I have just read. The farmhouse has an incredible setting, and things like the uneven floors and latched low height doors just help you to appreciate this as a fully working though very clean and very well-kept farm, complete with Nel one of the farmdogs who masterfully managed to get a good deal of affection out of us. Sue is a wonderful and accomodating host, and the warmth (literally, as Sue had a roaring log fire waiting for us when descended cold and wet from the mountains) and hospitality made our stay very enjoyable. The room was comfortable, warm and very clean, the toilet and bathroom spotless with lashings of hot water. Breakfasts were as tasty as they were enormous, and Eric provided a good insight into the local area as well as his sheep, which we found very interesting. After having met several hundred of his very healthy looking sheep on the fells, and bringing half of one home (a great offer so speak with Sue), this only increased our feeling of coming away enriched as well as happy and relaxed. All this at a very reasonable price, its truely a gem.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    10
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

My son and I have stayed here every year for the last 7 years and we continue to come back because of the warm welcome, fantastic breakfast, spotlessly clean facilities and brilliant location for a walking holiday. Situated 100 yards from New Dungeon Gyhll under the Langdale Pikes it is an ideal base to explore the Lakes.

Sue is a superb host and is a mine of useful information. Her breakfasts are legendary, they are held in the lounge around a communal table where tales of previous days walks are traded. This is a working sheep farm with all the toings and froings you would expect. It all adds to the atmosphere of the place.

Book well in advance as there are only three rooms and many guests are repeat visitors. We look forward to our annual trip knowing we are going to be so well looked after

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelinman122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

I can see there have been poor reviews of the 'out-house' Cottage rental for Mill Beck Farm, however my review relates to the Bed and Breakfast within the farmhouse itself.

Placement within the Langdale Valley is absolutely spectacular, and the farmhouse itself suits its surroundings very well. We found Susan, the keeper obliging, helpful, abrupt and a real-life storybook farmer's wife who makes spectacular porridge and puts together humungous sandwiches that appear to have been sliced with an axe. A no nonsense, don't-ask-don't-get attitude proper character. Her rugged, sociable set-up sees all the B&B guests from the main house itself sit together for breakfast; something we'd never tried before but which works beautifully.

Comfy beds, warm room, creaky floorboards, shared bathroom (massive bath / shower combi) and toilet, outstanding views and one can walk straight out of the door and up the hill to the tarn above.

There is nothing pretentious about this place. Everyone gets on with their normal lives; the farm carries on, the housework gets done and the guests seem to be secondary to the cause, transient family members for whom breakfast is cooked, beds are made, it all gets paid for and off we go. I like it, though; it's unique and we've never stayed anywhere like that before. I'd recommend it to a friend, yes; but I'd recommend it to *my* friends. People I know would like this sort of thing.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueLeaf04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

This has to rate as one of the greatest B&B's in the country. We have stayed there many times and have always received a warm welcome and enjoyed the friendly atmosphere. It offers exactly what the web site says - good quality facilities in a family house. If you are walking and want to swap stories, or compare routes around a cozy fire - its just great. The breakfasts are quite fantastic - expect to be given more than you can eat (or is good for you!). Evening meals across the way at the Stickle Barn have become a family favourite, and just add to the atmophere of hearty living and excellent camaradarie. Expect all that goes with a working sheep farm, and enjoy the experience! An excelent base for walking the Landales.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheviotbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

We used Side House Farm and Cottage as a big group had a brilliant time. The accommodation was lovely and cosy with spot on facilities. As ever in the Lakes there's loads to go and do but from this cottage it is 30 secs walk to a stream which our young kids loved playing in.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldblackburnian40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2010

Stayed at the self-catering cottage (Side House Cottage) managed by Millbeck Farm. The garden to the rear of the cottage was used by the occupants of the adjoining Side House Farm building (which can occupy up to 6 people). The garden overlooks the kitchen/dining area of the cottage, resulting in a complete lack of privacy. This is definitely a deal-breaker if you value privacy and seclusion. The kitchen extractor hood was dirty and there was mould in the bathroom and main bedroom.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkyMark47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2009

...unless you're prepared keep quiet if you're not happy with any part of the accommodation or service. Be warned. We stayed in the cottage run by Mrs Taylforth and the facilities are NOT as advertised on the - mis-spelt - website. This meant that we had to put up with guests in the adjoining cottage hanging washing in front of our cottage door and sitting so close to our kitchen window that we we forced to eat in another room. The cottage is full of damp - there is mould in many places - and the cooker extractor looks like a health hazard. I have seen the kitchen at Millbeck on the morning when I have handed back the key and I certainly would not want to eat anything coming out of it. After the appalling service we received at the hands of Mrs Taylforth, she though it appropriate to 'waive' the £10.40 charge for electricity as a gesture, of what I am not quite sure. Don't be fooled by the lovely location, the reality is very different.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thisisajoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
1.1 mi away
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.6 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#1 of 2 in Elterwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.8 mi away
Elterwater Hostel
Elterwater Hostel
#1 of 1 in Elterwater
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
2.0 mi away
Three Shires Inn
Three Shires Inn
#1 of 1 in Little Langdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millbeck Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millbeck Farm

Property: Millbeck Farm
Address: Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Millbeck Farm Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing