We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfection in every way.”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Autumn Sunset
Take a walk in the field
Some beautiful visitors stop by
sunset in the snow
Spring visitors next door!
I can see a rainbow!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Boat house -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah B
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection in every way.”
Reviewed August 4, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The most perfect location in the most beautiful spot in the Lake District. Neither words not pictures can do the Far Boathouse justice. We spent the most amazing break there, and whilst the weather wasn't great, the location was breathtaking, the boathouse was warm and amazingly well equipped, and the welcome extended by Jayne was second to none. Every detail had been considered, and Jayne answered any queries i had before we set off. We had our food delivered by Sainsburys to the boathouse and even the driver remarked that we had "the very best spot on the lake". I have travelled extensively with work and for pleasure, and if I had to go back to one place only it would be this. Thank you Jayne, for making our trip to the Lake District one which I will cherish for ever xx

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2017
Dear Sarah
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review following your stay at the Ullswater Far Boathouse. I am delighted you had a fantastic time and enjoyed the peace and tranquility at this special place. I am sorry about the weather, but I am sure there were still some spectacular views and time to have some fun too!
I am so happy that you took away some special memories and welcome you again soon and I am sure there will be new special memories to be found at The Far Boathouse!
Best Wishes
Jayne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review. I am so delighted that you had a peaceful and relaxing time; I think the Boathouse is a great place to loose track of time after many hectic weeks. The surrounding beauty and sound of the water is such a tonic. I hope you have taken away some very special memories and maybe you will return to celebrate anniversary.
Best Wishes
Jayne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 30, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review following your stay at the Ullswater Far Boathouse. I am delighted you had a fantastic time and managed to keep Jonathan's birthday a surprise! I am so pleased the celebrations went well and you both enjoyed the peace and tranquillity at this special place. I hope you took away some special memories and welcome you again soon.
Best Wishes
Jayne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
athletein...
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Out Third time here and every bit as special as the previous visits”
Reviewed July 17, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

First summertime visit for us. To spend the whole day with the patio doors opened back, enjoying the weather, the view and 'Lake life' was an unforgettable experience.
Our thanks to Jayne for making this wonderful place seem so special each time

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review and have found the Ullswater Far Boathouse just as relaxing and peaceful on your return visit. Each season has it’s own beauty and mood, but always peaceful and relaxing and the perfect place to be revitalised.
We hope to see you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 7, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2017
Dear Jan thank you for taking the time to write a great review and I am so pleased you had a wonderful stay. It was lovely to speak with you personally before your stay and I think I managed to get things just right for your birthday. I was so disappointed in the weather but am delighted that you still had a fantastic time and took away some wonderful memories. I hope that you do return and maybe get some sunshine too
Best Wishes

Jayne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michele R
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
Reviewed June 28, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

A fabulous place to revitalise and chill. Wonderful amenities, luxurious with lots of first class touches. You are made to feel very welcome, and when you walk through the front door and can see straight through to Ullswater Lake, your day is complete.
We walked for miles each day, great walks clearly described in the Boathouse Handbook, then came back, cooked together and chilled.
Can't wait to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2017
Dear Michele
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review, I am so pleased you had the relaxing stay that you wished for. Lots of fresh air and the relaxing sound of water and peaceful surroundings refresh the soul. Thank you for being such a perfect guest too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerBill
Somerset
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Jayne pushes the boat out for you”
Reviewed June 24, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

On arrival we had champers, roses chocs and cake waiting for us with scattered rose petals on the bed. What a welcome.
This is s unique place with a very well appointed accommodation set in an iconic location, secluded but providing a panoramic window of a magnificent lakeside view.
Relaxing and very comfortable, the boathouse offers a great escape but is well situated to access local services.
We had great weather and sun loungers would have added comfort to our relaxation whist watching the activity on the lake.
The Far Boathouse will never be too far our next visit.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review following your stay at the Ullswater Far Boathouse. I am delighted you had a fantastic time and enjoyed the peace and tranquillity at this special place. How lucky to have such beautiful weather an added bonus!I will look into sun loungers and hope that there are many more sunny days! The Boathouse is however a peaceful retreat in all weathers and I hope you took away some special memories and welcome you again soon.
Best Wishes

Jayne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing