We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Accomodation of the highest order”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Riverain

The beautiful garden of Riverain - a fantastic late afternoon sun trap, equipped with a Weber BBQ.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The beautiful garden of Riverain - a fantastic late afternoon sun trap, equipped with a Weber BBQ.
Riverain is a Grade II listed sandstone barn conversion set within the grounds of Blencowe Hall Riverain was the original carriage house barn and its reception room has the original carriage doors
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The beautiful garden of Riverain - a fantastic late afternoon sun trap, equipped with a Weber BBQ.
Riverain is a Grade II listed sandstone barn conversion set within the grounds of Blencowe Hall
Riverain was the original carriage house barn and its reception room has the original carriage doors
The expansive gardens of neighbouring Blencowe Hall.
Riverain has a private  gated garden and private parking surrounded by a sandstone ha-ha wall
The welcoming Carriage room reception is equipped with broadband wifi, leather sofas and a log fire.
The  kitchen has a Bosch gas hob, electric oven and Dishwasher
The breakfasting kitchen at Riverain.
A view from the Breakfasting Kitchen into the living room through the original sandstone archway.
The Living Room with a cast iron log burner - complimentary logs and kindling provided for the fire.
A view from the breakfasting kitchen towards the main reception room.
A view from the Carriage Reception room at Riverain towards the kitchen and Derwent Room hallway
The ensuite ground floor Derwent Room with beds that can be arranged as a 6 foot double or two twins
The ensuite shower room of the ground floor Derwent Room
The first floor Haweswater Room which is ensuite with a shower room.
The Haweswater ensuite shower room with limestone tiling chrome heated towel rail.
The first floor Ullswater Room which is ensuite with a bathroom
The original sandstone walls have been preserved in use where possible.
Fresh flowers are placed in guest bedrooms during the season.
A view of Blencowe hall, showing Riverain in the background.
Riverain is set within the grounds of Grade I listed Blencowe Hall
A view of Riverain's garden in the early springtime
An aerial view of Riverain and Blencowe hall displaying Riverain's amazing location.
The village green of the nearby town of Blencowe, complete with a pub and shop.
The Petteril River, just 2 miles from Riverain, a perfect family day out.
Boats can be rented for sailing on Lake Ullswater
Local Herdwick sheep crossing a footbridge
Cumbria in Spring
Hutton in the Forest, a historic house in Cumbria.
The beautiful gardens in Hutton
Levens Hall, a fine Elizabethan Mansion.
A view of Patterdale, near Glenridding
There are prehistoric monuments in the surrounding areas, such as this Castlerigg stone circle
Long Meg and her daughters stone circle in Little Salkeld
Cumbrian Fields in the early morning
Blea Tarn, a Site of Special Scientific Interest in the Lake District
A beautiful view of Cumbria
Sailboats on Lake Ullswater
The Ullswater steamer, a fun ride and day out
A view from the top of Honster Fell, one of the many walks in Cumbria.
Riverrain Floorplan - Access Statements available on our website The Rowley Estates
Discover the market town of Penrith
Aira Force at the side of Ullswater owned by The National Trust and great for walking
Lady of The Lake - Ullswater steamer
Rheged _ Lake District attraction with family activities, shopping, cafes, cinema & exhibitions
Sunset over Ullswater
Sailing on Ullswater
Steamer leaving Howtown
Summit of Hallin Fell overlooking Ullswater
Derwent Water
Derwent Water
Fishing on the River Eden
Golfing in the local area
Keswick a Lake District Town
The Lady of the Lake
The Lost Castle - Adventure Playground at Lowther Castle
The Lost Castle - Adventure Playground at Lowther Castle
Lowther Castle & Gardens
Penrith at Christmas
Lady Wakefield
Quad Biking at Rookin House
Theatre by the Lake - Keswick presents award winning productions
Ullswater in the spring
Ullswater in the winter
Upfront Art Gallery, Coffee Shop and Puppet Theatre
The Winter Droving Penrith
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Densad92
Forster, Australia
2 reviews
“Accomodation of the highest order”
Reviewed July 18, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at Riverain with another couple for three nights in June. We found the cottage a fantastic place as a base for exploring the Lake District. The attention to detail was superb and the welcoming hamper was very much appreciated. The cottage is set among rolling hills beside Blencowe Hall and the peace and quiet simply adds to the ambience of the whole experience. Our hosts could not have been more accommodating and prior correspondence with them made for a smooth introduction to the cottage. There are a number of quaint country pubs nearby should you not wish to eat in every night. We cannot speak too highly of the quality of the experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxing atmosphere in an idyllic setting
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 19, 2016
Hi, Thank you for taking your time to write this review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your peaceful stay at Riverain. Thank you for all your kind comments they are very much appreciated by us and our team and they are very useful for future guests thinking of staying with us. Please get in touch if you are planning any further trips to Cumbria & The Lake District as we would be thrilled to welcome you back. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful spacious cottage in a stunning location”
Reviewed May 30, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Having arrived home from our 4 night stay at the Riverain Cottage. I wanted to say a huge "thank you"

The layout of the cottage was perfect for spending some quality time with my husband, my parents and our dog "Molly". The cottage was beautiful and very spacious.. The gardens were immaculate with the most amazing views and looking out onto Blencowe Hall from the living room, was just stunning.

Everyone we dealt with at The Rowley Estates was very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. Your gardener even took our Sainsbury's delivery in and put the cold items in the fridge.

We can't wait to return sometime soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open living room with huge arched windows, looking over Blencoe Hall
Liked least: There wasn't anything to not like
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2016
Hi, Thank you for taking your time to review Riverain. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your time at Riverain including 'Molly' and we can only agree with you about the amazing views! Thank you for your very kind comments they are not only appreciated by all of our team but are also very useful for future guests who are looking to stay at Riverain. We would be thrilled to welcome you back to Riverain or any of our other properties at The Rowley Estates please get back in touch next time you are planning a trip to Cumbria & The Lake District. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil W
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Accommodation”
Reviewed April 20, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Had a long weekend staying at Riverain, have stayed her before. Really top class acommodation with Penrith and Ullswater 20 mins away, a great base for the northern lake district. We had to take our small dog and they even provide a 'pet sitting' service so we were able to leave her for several hours whilst we went to Centerparcs spa 20 mins away.
Great place to stay with stunning unhindered views, highly recommend therowleyestates.com who own and run several properties all of this high standard.

How easy was it to book the property?
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2016
Hi,
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Riverain. It's great to receive your positive feedback and we were so glad that Gail could help look after Cookie so that you could go to Centreparcs.
I hope that we will be able to welcome you back for your third visit again soon !!!
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philiph25...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic family weekend”
Reviewed April 19, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We booked Riverain for a special family weekend. It was fantastic - great accommodation, very clean and in a lovely quiet location. We would definitely recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2016
Hi, Thank you for leaving this review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your special family weekend at Riverain. Thank you also for your recommendations. We would be thrilled to welcome you back again please get in touch next time you are planning a trip to Cumbria & The Lake District. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen1749...
Kilmacolm, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed January 25, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We have just returned from celebrating my husband's 60th Birthday - we had rented all 3 cottages together - Cazenovia Hall, Riverain and Wythburn. We were 14 adults, 5 children and a baby all together. The accommodation in all the rentals is absolutely superb - definitely 5 star - the bedrooms were lovely with very comfortable bed and all had beautiful en-suites too. The kitchens have absolutely everything you need for cooking & celebration drinks & nibbles. Lovely big squishy sofas, rugs and roaring fires with plenty of wood & candles too! We all loved our stay. It is in the country, so plenty of peace & quiet, but a friendly pub with good food probably about a mile & a half away. We all just wished we had had more time to enjoy it all!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly luxury
Liked least: Unfortunately not interconnecting
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 26, 2016
Hi, Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your stay at Riverain and cottages for your husband's 60th Birthday celebrations. Thank you also for your kind comments about the cottage they are very much appreciated by all the team. We really do try to think of everything you may need to make your stay with us as comfortable as possible, including the roaring fire which are very welcome in Cumbria. It's great that you were able to get out and about and visit our local pub and sample it's delights!! Thanks again and kind regards, Christine, Charles & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
887janice
Larkhall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place To Stay”
Reviewed October 18, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Stayed for 4 nights at Riverain and all I can say is it was totally wonderful! A beautiful setting and first class accommodation. The cottage was very well equipped and everything you could hope for was there. We were lucky with the weather and the short walk into Greystoke along the quiet road took only about 25 minutes. The log fire was a real treat in the evenings and we hope to visit again.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2015
Hi, Thank you for taking your time to write this wonderful review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Riverain and the walk to Greystoke, your comments are much appreciated. Please get in touch next time you are planning a trip to Cumbria and The Lake District. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ritesh P
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wow - simply amazing!”
Reviewed September 3, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We were immediately impressed with the external and internal décor. It was clear a lot of thought (and hard work!) had gone into the design and it was wonderful to see the old and new merge together. All of the team at Rowley Estates have been extremely professional and supportive in the booking process including providing detailed information on each step. On entering the cottage we found the place to be immaculate. We were in awe of the grand fireplace and the abundant wood supply meant we were never short. The kitchen was of good size and catered for a family of 6. The utensils were of the highest quality as were the pots and pans. We used the webber bbq provided and sat outside on the garden patio until late into the evening.
The other cottages are nearby so you don't feel lonely and there is sufficient space between them to give you your privacy. The bedrooms are all of good size and beds were very comfortable. Overall its a fantastic place to be and we would highly recommend. It's a short drive to Ulswater and the village of Blencow and Greystoke are a short distance away. We found Very easy to find and close to Penrith for major shopping else the smaller surrounding villages cover basic requirements. We found Pooley Bridge to be great fun.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2015
Hi thank you for taking the time to provide a review following your visit to Riverain last month. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to relax on the lovely Lake District facing terrace at the end of a fun day exploring around Ullswater & Pooley Bridge. Best regards Christine, Charlie, Jilly and the team :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing