We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceptional”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Bay View House

Bay View - Silverdale
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bay View - Silverdale
BBQ area Driveway
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
60 reviews
Bay View - Silverdale
BBQ area
Driveway
Jacuzzi
View from house
The view from the house
Over an acre of house grounds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
11 Bedrooms, 11 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
joanna310
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Bay View for New Year & can say we were not disappointed. The view from the house is amazing, you couldn't grow tired of looking at it. The house is very spacious and considering there are so many people under one roof, you never feel crowded or cramped. The Sky HD was a hit with the sports lovers in the group and the games room with the children. The large kitchen was also a positive feature to sit & chat even when there was a large group of us in there. All of the bedrooms are lovely & spacious too & the décor is to a high standard as is the whole of the house. The roaring fire also got used by our group. Overall, this property was a hit with everyone in our group from age 2-62! Would definitely stay here again & recommend to anyone looking for a fantastic property which isn't overpriced & ticks all of the boxes!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culchethh...
North West
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place, great location”
Reviewed November 27, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is our second stay at Bay View with a large group of friends and we weren't disappointed. It has everything you could want and more. The owner communicates well and is helpful in arranging times. I would fully recommend this house.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulandme...
Banchory, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great holiday, loads of space, good value but could do with a bit of TLC”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed here for the week of 16th - 23rd August 2013 with our extended family including 11 children under 8. We had visited the property after we booked and discovered to our horror a pond in the garden. Having expressed our concern to the leasing agent he bought fencing material for us to fence off the pond on our arrival.

We were delighted that the property is extremely spacious with 4/5 public rooms, so plenty of space to chill out. Almost all bedrooms have en suites which is great and there are 2 dishwashers, 2 kettles, 2 ovens, a large upright freezer and large upright fridge as well as a small fridge in the kitchen.

There are many nooks and crannies to explore in the garden, however there were numerous nettles which we had to hack down, the trampoline had been removed and the tree house was unusable.

The big jacuzzi in the conservatory wasn't working, one kitchen cupboard door was falling off and the salad drawer in the large fridge was badly cracked. With a little TLC all these could be rectified. A previous reviewer had commented on the lack of table tennis balls, but when we arrived that had been rectified.

However having said all that, it was still good value for money with interesting outings within reach, and an excellent play park in the village. All our families would be enthusiastic about a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: stunning views, loads of space, several public rooms
Liked least: nettles, lack of large serving dishes etc. Non-functioning equipment.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agathaDub...
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great location, massive amounts of space for the money”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We were searching for an affordable holiday rental for three nights for a group of friends including children and babies. Lots of places wouldn't rent for only 3 nights and lots were too expensive for our budget. This was one of the cheapest we found when taking into account the number of rooms.
The amount of space we got for our money was amazing, so many rooms and places for people to relax. If we had filled every room it would have been very cheap per person. The location was fantastic, the views and the nearby villages and surrounding area is gorgeous. We went to Windermere one day, spent another day in the garden and had a walk to the small park/playground in the village that was about a five minute walk away so the children could play. We had a lovely break away and taking into account the price we paid we were very happy with our stay.
A few things that could be improved:
Maintenance: we had a few things that didn't work. The amazing jacuzzi bath that is in the photos ...the jacuzzi function was not working so was just a bath. The showers have an electronic panel that work a number of horizontal jets and an in shower radio etc...on two of the showers were not working making one shower unusable and one only with cold water. The advertised tree house is not available it is tucked away in a corner in a state of disrepair surrounded by bits of wood so children need to be kept away. It would have been a great feature if this could be fixed up. There were no balls for the ping pong table so bring your own as we couldn't use this either. Some of us felt that these should be removed from the advert or mentioned that currently not available if they are not working/ in usable order.
Some of these things could be down to not knowing how to work the baths and showers (although I think they were genuinely broken) however that leads me on to what I think is really missing with this property...communication.
There is very little communication with the owner after booking so I was assuming there would be a folder with instructions and info about the house and the area. There was nothing, there is a pin board in the kitchen with leaflets etc on but very few were useful. If this were provided (with instructions on how to turn on showers and who to contact if not working, how to walk to the local pub/ shop etc) and everything was regularly checked to be in usable order this property would have got a full 5/5 rating.

Will recommend to friends but with the advisory: do not expect perfection and you will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and location
Liked least: Discovering things not working
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilongwe
Reviewed January 29, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Caen
Reviewed December 23, 2012 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and size of house
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
billfish0...
durham
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Weekend”
Reviewed November 30, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We had a fantastic weekend with a group of friends. There were 10 adults and 8 children. We all arrived on the Friday night in really bad weather, but the diresctions were good and we soon got settled. I had a problem with the heating, but I had not seen the instructions taht had been left on the noticeboard. I phoned Jules and got it sorted no problem. We ordered an idian for us all Friday night and it was delivered no problem and good value. The house for the weekend was outstanding for what we wanted, which was a get together. The kids loved all the different rooms and hide and seek was a definate highlight. At no time during the wekend even with 18 people did it feel cramped. We are already looking forward to next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amount of bedrooms and the view
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing