We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“can't complain at this price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre
London
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“can't complain at this price”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

wanted to stay in somewhere interesting but was put off by the other reviews. This was basic but clean and comfortable and very accessible from the station. Felt safe for single woman traveler. Staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonHelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feed back and I am pleased you find the hotel to be safe for women lone travellers, I do hope we an welcome you back soon
Regards
Debbie H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    281
    135
    38
    25
See reviews for
122
197
49
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Clean, comfortable room. Great location, Very helpful staff. Car park is a reasonable price for city centre and very convenient. We did not miss the bacon as Im a "vegi" and my hubby was pre warned. We still had a very good breakfast with loads of choice. We would use again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolNight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feed back and we hope we can welcome you back soon

Regards
Debbie H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for an extended weekend. The hotel was clean and tidy, the staff were extremely considerate and friendly, and made the hotel one I would definitely return to. It is situated the centre of Hull next to st Stephens shopping centre with the hotel car park being shared with the centre. The rooms were fine although did feel a little run down, but overall very good. Plus you get a free breakfast.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bosse10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and I am sorry you feel let down by our rooms, I would like to assure you I will take these comments on board and do a full audit of rooms.

Thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Just spent five nights here. Room as expected, nice, clean, comfortable. Location is great. What stood out was the awesome service from the staff. I arrived overtired & grumpy, hungry & didn't want to go out. They arranged for me to have an indian takeaway in my room & directed me to a 24 hour tesco nearby to get nice wine (I'm v fussy about wine & didn't fancy the hotel's selection)

On request I was given fresh milk, plates to use, glasses, extra tbags, all with a friendly smile. The free wifi worked for the whole week (just need to tick a box to re register every 24 hours, no big deal)

Room was cleaned nicely for us every day. The cost was good value too. Highly recommend this place if you are staying in Hull.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind comments, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay as well as your Indian food and wine, we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Yes, prices in this place are not bad, but it is also a classic example of you 'get what you pay for'. I was booked in for two days, and chose this place over the Holiday Inn on Hull Marina, because it is convenient to the food court in the St Stephens Shopping Centre.

However:
1. Had problems with the free internet. The system only allowed me to connect for 24 hours, which when you are on a 48 hour business trip, and need to send business e-mails, is a bit of a problem.
2. The mattress really needs replacing. Thin, and very uncomfortable.
3. I had to ask for the room heating to be turned up, as this is another hotel with centrally controlled heating, which I maintain is done so that they can control costs.
4. The towels are near to threadbare and tiny. Barely qualifies as a bath towel size.
5. Cheap shower gel which barely cleans.
6. Duvet is a 'summer weight' thickness, which, when combined with the lower room temperature, does not make for a comfortable night's sleep.
Breakfast is OK, but I do wish they would stop claiming it is 'free'. It is NOT FREE, but included in the price. Big difference. Usual Holiday Inn Express fare, although this is one of the few places that don't put dried out croissants out.

I am spending the rest of this week at the Staybridge Suites in Newcastle upon Tyne, and that has really brought home to me the differences in quality and comfort. Definitely at case of 'getting what you pay for'.

Room Tip: If you need a warmer room, or prefer a thicker duvet, tell them on check-in, or face an uncomfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoPilsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, I am sorry to hear you didn't have a comfortable night due to the heat in the room, I can confirm this can be turned up to 30 degrees in the rooms and reception can also bypass this to 32 upon request, which I do hope we did if this was brought to our attention.
I will definitely mention the towel size to our linen company as we do offer bath towels as our standard size.

I am a little confused regarding the internet as we offer an open net work for as long as any guest stays in the hotel, all you need to do is accept our terms and conditions and this will allow any guest to use the internet throughout they duration free of charge.

I am also pleased to confirm that every Holiday Inn Express offers free breakfast and no money is taken from any room rates to compensate this, I am sure you will agree it is a great start to the day and is a great new standard along with the free internet.

I do hope we can welcome you back shortly
Regards
Debbie H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed for one night. Great central location but with easy parking (discounted rate of £7 for 24 hours). Room clean and comfortable, quiet location at the back overlooking the upper floor of the car park). Staff pleasant and welcoming. Took advantage of the free breakfast which was very good. All in all, I would heartily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marion1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, i am delighted you found the hotel good value for money and hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards
Debbie H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford, england
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

The good things about this hotel are the location, the views from the higher floors and the functional, very clean rooms. It's a basically very good budget hotel.
Also I found the staff very pleasant and helpful.
But breakfast is grim. It's advertised as free but I'd rather pay and have something better. The cooked selection is bland over cooked scrambled egg and outstandingly poor sausages. The croissant was disgusting, uncooked bottom, cold - yuk! But well dealt with by the waiter. The coffee was ok though
Enjoy the stay but pay for a breakfast elsewhere.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mtbhll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, I am glad to hear about the staff and the waiter who dealt with your breakfast issue are polite, I can confirm that I am looking into the breakfast and have changed our ordering of items today, I have asked for some new samples of Sausages, Smaller Croissants, Scrambled Egg along other items, I have informed our supplier that these items are receiving various comments and I want this addressing,

I do hope to welcome you back soon and I would welcome more feedback
Kind Regards
Debbie H
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
855 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#6 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
784 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#9 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#2 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
591 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hull Central
Travelodge Hull Central
#5 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
457 reviews
3.0 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#3 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre
Address: 80 Ferensway, Kingston-upon-Hull HU2 8LN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre hotel,is ideally located within the city centre, and offers 128 non smoking, air-conditioned bedrooms, each with flat screen colour TV with a variety of channels, FREE WI-FI , hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. The Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre is located next to the Hull train Station and directly linked to the St Stephen's shopping centre. The hotel offers chargeable on-site car parking with direct access to the hotel. All bedrooms, conference rooms and public areas are non smoking. The hotel is in walking distance of the KC Stadium, home of Premiership football club Hull City. The Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre hotel has a full service bar with two 42inch flat screens, a comfortable dining area which our guest can use, air conditioning and FREE WIFI access throughout the entire hotel. Companies such as Smith & Nephew, Kingston Communications and Reckitt Benckiser and the Hull Royal Infirmary are in the direct vacinity of the hotel. Air conditioned conference facilities are available. FREE WIFI is offered throughout the hotel. Four meeting rooms are available accommodating between 2-55 persons and benefit from natural daylight, air conditioning, Our 'Meet Smart package includes mineral water, tea and coffee, OHP & screen, flip chart and stationary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre Hotel Kingston-Upon-Hull
Express Kingston Upon Hull
Holiday Inn Kingston-Upon-Hull
Kingston-Upon-Hull Holiday Inn
Express Hotel Hull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing