We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short stay shopper”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre
Reviewed December 21, 2012

this was a good budget hotel and was clean and well positioned for shopping in city centre.
breakfast was buffet style but was not very good,i found it a bit cold and limited.
staff were friendly and polite.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from late night revellers can get noisy.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keo9366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

489 - 495 of 670 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012

hi we stayed in the holiday inn express .was a brilliant room .Staff where freindly and the breakfast which was free in the price was great .Rooms where spotless tv was great with Free wifi in the hotel

Room Tip: Room 113 was a good room with views over looking the city centre
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We spent last Saturday night in dinner, bed & breakfast with our group of 103 persons visiting the East Yorkshire region.
The hotel management and staff really looked after us and our group very well.
Reception was very helpful & rooms were nice and clean.
The served dinner was really something special, abundant and tasty even considering having so many persons to be served.
Buffet Breakfast was also very good and food very generous.
One of the 2 lifts was a bit "temperamental" at times (though considering that there were many of us trying to use it) but otherwise a perfect stay.
I can assure that after such experience we will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed as part of a coach group at the weekend. It took a while to check in and really all we wanted to do was to go to the rooms for a hot drink and to use the Loo. The room and bathroom was very clean. A bulb in the toilet area had blown and one of the lamps was flickering. Didnt worry about it overly as we were only there one night and we let reception know on exit. If you like your hot drinks during the evening would advise you to carry some extra tea bags as you are only given two in your room. I did ask for some extra but as there was three of us it only gave us one drink each. My mum asked if she could swap some coffee for tea and was given two tea bags in exchange.
My aunt was put on a different floor and having a problem with her eyes meant everytime she wanted to come down to us I had to go and collect her and take her back would have been easier if she had been on the same floor as originally requested. (we were told that there was only twin rooms on our floor) I spoke to my aunt and she said the bed she had was extremly comfortable and she actually over slept in the morning and would probbly be still there if I had not rang her. Our beds were also very comfortable and we slept really well. There was a big party in and we thought they might be noisey but we were certainly not disturbed.
Breakfast was disapointing, I was looking forward to breakfast as I serve it to other people every day. The sausages were tasty but were cold, my aunt got scrambled egg that was also cold and tasted powdery. None of us eat beans. The fresh scrambled egg took 20 minutes to come out. I gave up on waiting for toast as I stood in a queue and never moved. There wasn't cornflakes left when we got there and we decided not to wait. There isn't enough tables and we sat in the conferance room to eat breakfast.
I will add the rooms are lovely and warm, we would have liked to open the window but it was locked.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandjankers555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHUYUK, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Mandjankers555,

Thank you for your feed back with regards to your stay at the hotel, I am pleased you had a good night sleep and found the hotel clean, however I am very disappointed by the breakfast standard you received, I will be speaking to the breakfast team and raise your concerns with them.

I will also investigate if the information about your Aunt came into the hotel and why we didnt allocate rooms next to each other.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards
Debra Hutchins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed here for a week recently and found it to be absolutely fine. OK it wont win any awards, but you don't expect that with a Holiday Inn Express. It is located right beside the railway station, and is conveniently connected for all local amenities, and indeed road access. The place is clean, the staff are pleasant and the rooms are fine. My room was quite cold, and took a while to warm up. I'm not really into breakfast, but for those of you that are, you could be a little disappointed.

Other than that, fine.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHUYUK, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Hi Bob B,

Thank you for your feed back, I am pleased to hear your comments regarding the pleasant staff and this will be fed back to the team, I was surprised you never came down for breakfast, as a Holiday Inn Express this is always complimentary and you can choose from a selection of Danish pastries, rolls, cheese, fruit and 3 hot items which are scrambled egg, sausages and beans, its a great way to start your day.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon


Kind Regards
Debra Hutchins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Could have/should have been so much better!
We were staying in Hull after watching a game of rugby union. When I booked I had asked for, via the hotels web site, a room in a quiet location and some extra pillows we didn't get either and what made thing much worse, we were next to a family with young children, nothing wrong with that, but do we go to sleep when they do? The noise levels were unbearable and we couldn't sleep, we had to ring down to reception to move rooms, the last thing you need when you're tired and cold. The room we eventually got was very quiet and we got our extra pillows why this didn't happen in the first place is very frustrating. The location of the hotel is perfect, right in the city centre and there is a huge car park adjoining the hotel, there is a bar and the room rate includes a very basic breakfast.
One tip!! be very careful when to pay your bill, we checked ours and found we had been overcharged for a drink we didn't have! somehow a Gin & Tonic had mysteriously appeared on our invoice.
I am a priority member with ICH group but am having second thoughts about my loyalty - shame really!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swissball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHUYUK, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Swissball,

Thank you for your feed back on this web site and I would like to confirm our full conversation on the telephone which I made to you yesterday, I was glad to hear from you that my reception team did in fact dealt with the problem you encounter from noisy guests next door in a professional and swift manner as you had requested a quiet room and was unfortunately disturbed by other guests. I fully understood you to be happy with my response and the offer of Priority points which I awarded to your account as soon as I came off the telephone with you. You did confirm to me your bill was amended to the correct drink you had and I do hope we didn’t upset you in any way.

Hope to welcome you back to Hull soon.

Kind Regards
Debbie Hutchins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel is central and easy to walk to from the railway station. Also close to nearby eating establishments. Room quite well appointed for this high end 'budget' hotel. Bed was ok. Not very comfy but that's mainly my requirements. Was cold in the room and took some time to warm up. Breakfast a big let down. Very limited hot choices. Just scrambled egg and no other egg options. Staff absent at breakfast to offer anything else. For the price it is good value.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Ian07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHUYUK, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dera Ian,

Thank you for your comments, I can confirm that as a Holiday Inn Express we are only allowed to do 3 hot items, and those items are Scrambled Egg, Sausage and Beans, this should be a standard across all Holiday Inn Express Hotels and can be very upsetting if other hotels within our chain are doing more than is Brand Standard. I do appreciate your feed back this helps me to improve the hotels performance and maintain brand standards.

We hope to welcome you back soon

Kind Regards
Debbie Hutchins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#5 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
813 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#4 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
880 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#9 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#2 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hull Central
Travelodge Hull Central
#6 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
488 reviews
3.0 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#3 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre

Address: 80 Ferensway, Kingston-upon-Hull HU2 8LN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range: $70 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre hotel,is ideally located within the city centre, and offers 128 non smoking, air-conditioned bedrooms, each with flat screen colour TV with a variety of channels, FREE WI-FI , hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. The Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre is located next to the Hull train Station and directly linked to the St Stephen's shopping centre. The hotel offers chargeable on-site car parking with direct access to the hotel. All bedrooms, conference rooms and public areas are non smoking. The hotel is in walking distance of the KC Stadium, home of Premiership football club Hull City. The Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre hotel has a full service bar with two 42inch flat screens, a comfortable dining area which our guest can use, air conditioning and FREE WIFI access throughout the entire hotel. Companies such as Smith & Nephew, Kingston Communications and Reckitt Benckiser and the Hull Royal Infirmary are in the direct vacinity of the hotel. Air conditioned conference facilities are available. FREE WIFI is offered throughout the hotel. Four meeting rooms are available accommodating between 2-55 persons and benefit from natural daylight, air conditioning, Our 'Meet Smart package includes mineral water, tea and coffee, OHP & screen, flip chart and stationary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre Hotel Kingston-Upon-Hull
Express Kingston Upon Hull
Holiday Inn Kingston-Upon-Hull
Kingston-Upon-Hull Holiday Inn
Express Hotel Hull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing