We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed here for a week recently and found it to be absolutely fine. OK it wont win any awards, but you don't expect that with a Holiday Inn Express. It is located right beside the railway station, and is conveniently connected for all local amenities, and indeed road access. The place is clean, the staff are pleasant and the rooms are fine. My room was quite cold, and took a while to warm up. I'm not really into breakfast, but for those of you that are, you could be a little disappointed.

Other than that, fine.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHUYUK, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Hi Bob B,

Thank you for your feed back, I am pleased to hear your comments regarding the pleasant staff and this will be fed back to the team, I was surprised you never came down for breakfast, as a Holiday Inn Express this is always complimentary and you can choose from a selection of Danish pastries, rolls, cheese, fruit and 3 hot items which are scrambled egg, sausages and beans, its a great way to start your day.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon


Kind Regards
Debra Hutchins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (680)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 680 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

Could have/should have been so much better!
We were staying in Hull after watching a game of rugby union. When I booked I had asked for, via the hotels web site, a room in a quiet location and some extra pillows we didn't get either and what made thing much worse, we were next to a family with young children, nothing wrong with that, but do we go to sleep when they do? The noise levels were unbearable and we couldn't sleep, we had to ring down to reception to move rooms, the last thing you need when you're tired and cold. The room we eventually got was very quiet and we got our extra pillows why this didn't happen in the first place is very frustrating. The location of the hotel is perfect, right in the city centre and there is a huge car park adjoining the hotel, there is a bar and the room rate includes a very basic breakfast.
One tip!! be very careful when to pay your bill, we checked ours and found we had been overcharged for a drink we didn't have! somehow a Gin & Tonic had mysteriously appeared on our invoice.
I am a priority member with ICH group but am having second thoughts about my loyalty - shame really!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swissball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHUYUK, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Swissball,

Thank you for your feed back on this web site and I would like to confirm our full conversation on the telephone which I made to you yesterday, I was glad to hear from you that my reception team did in fact dealt with the problem you encounter from noisy guests next door in a professional and swift manner as you had requested a quiet room and was unfortunately disturbed by other guests. I fully understood you to be happy with my response and the offer of Priority points which I awarded to your account as soon as I came off the telephone with you. You did confirm to me your bill was amended to the correct drink you had and I do hope we didn’t upset you in any way.

Hope to welcome you back to Hull soon.

Kind Regards
Debbie Hutchins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel is central and easy to walk to from the railway station. Also close to nearby eating establishments. Room quite well appointed for this high end 'budget' hotel. Bed was ok. Not very comfy but that's mainly my requirements. Was cold in the room and took some time to warm up. Breakfast a big let down. Very limited hot choices. Just scrambled egg and no other egg options. Staff absent at breakfast to offer anything else. For the price it is good value.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Ian07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHUYUK, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dera Ian,

Thank you for your comments, I can confirm that as a Holiday Inn Express we are only allowed to do 3 hot items, and those items are Scrambled Egg, Sausage and Beans, this should be a standard across all Holiday Inn Express Hotels and can be very upsetting if other hotels within our chain are doing more than is Brand Standard. I do appreciate your feed back this helps me to improve the hotels performance and maintain brand standards.

We hope to welcome you back soon

Kind Regards
Debbie Hutchins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here last weekend (2nd/3rd Nov), on arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist and were pleased with the standard of the room, it was nice and clean. Unfortunately our room did not have a hairdryer. On the first night (Fri) we arrived home to some noise coming from the room opposite, but this did not continue very long so wasn't too bad. On the Saturday night however we got the worst nights sleep ever due firstly a group of noisy girls arriving home at around 2 am who were rowdy and then woke to a group of noisy, drunken louts who were staying in the room next door. They arrived home about 3 am and for the next 3 hours they swore, had fights and screaming matches, smoked in their room, doors were slamming etc. We rang reception to report this and were told it would be sorted, it wasn't. Even when they eventually quietened down around 5.30 am I couldn't get to sleep as I had been so on edge and kept expecting the noise to start up again. On checking out we reported the incident to the receptionist who was polite but said she didn't have the power to refund us for the Saturday night and gave us the managers details who wasn't in that day. I have emailed the Manager to complain and ask for a refund but as yet have had no reply..... Will not stay here again and would advise anyone staying on a Saturday night to think again if they actually want to sleep!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHUYUK, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Rachel,

Thank you comments and I after receiving your email on the 07th November we have made contact with each other on the 8th November, I would like you to be assured that this type of drunken behavior is not welcome at this hotel, I have instructed my night team to not tolerate this from any guest and ask the offender to leave if causing upset to any other guests.

We look forward to seeing you back at the hotel for your next stay.

Kind Regards
Debbie Hutchins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here on the 27th October 2012 and would recommend to anyone wanting a city centre base at a very reasonable price. The room was modern and clean and the breakfast suited us though the hot water for tea seemed to cause problems galore - but it was busy at breakfast. I will stay again when in Hull.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lozgaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHUYUK, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dera Lozgaz

Thank you for your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards
Debbie Hutchins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

good clean hotel. booked online, paid there. room was nice an big. Drinks overly priced but were isnt!! downfall was we ordered king bed. its just 2 singles pushed together!!! which is rubbish when wanting to cuddle!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Booked using Late rooms , friendly helpful check- in (Saturday 27th at 5.30) . Room was very clean , bathroom immaculate , appeared to be new .
Located beside a shopping centre , plenty of places to eat nearby
Price included breakfast which was a continental buffet and included sausage scrambled egg and beans.
we had breakfast and checked out early to get to our event , staff were just as friendly and helpful at 7.15 am .
well done Hull !we will use this hotel again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GATEFORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHUYUK, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Gateford,


Thank you for your kind comments, I am glad you found the staff to be friendly, this is always a welcomed comment and is always fed back to the staff.

Kind Regards
Debbie Hutchins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston-upon-Hull hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Hull
Ibis Hull
#5 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
823 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
Holiday Inn Hull Marina
#3 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
895 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel Hull
The Royal Hotel Hull
#9 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#2 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
631 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hull Central
Travelodge Hull Central
#6 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
495 reviews
3.0 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#4 of 20 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre

Address: 80 Ferensway, Kingston-upon-Hull HU2 8LN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Kingston-upon-Hull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kingston-upon-Hull
Price Range: $71 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre hotel,is ideally located within the city centre, and offers 128 non smoking, air-conditioned bedrooms, each with flat screen colour TV with a variety of channels, FREE WI-FI , hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. The Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre is located next to the Hull train Station and directly linked to the St Stephen's shopping centre. The hotel offers chargeable on-site car parking with direct access to the hotel. All bedrooms, conference rooms and public areas are non smoking. The hotel is in walking distance of the KC Stadium, home of Premiership football club Hull City. The Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre hotel has a full service bar with two 42inch flat screens, a comfortable dining area which our guest can use, air conditioning and FREE WIFI access throughout the entire hotel. Companies such as Smith & Nephew, Kingston Communications and Reckitt Benckiser and the Hull Royal Infirmary are in the direct vacinity of the hotel. Air conditioned conference facilities are available. FREE WIFI is offered throughout the hotel. Four meeting rooms are available accommodating between 2-55 persons and benefit from natural daylight, air conditioning, Our 'Meet Smart package includes mineral water, tea and coffee, OHP & screen, flip chart and stationary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hull City Centre Hotel Kingston-Upon-Hull
Express Kingston Upon Hull
Holiday Inn Kingston-Upon-Hull
Kingston-Upon-Hull Holiday Inn
Express Hotel Hull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing